BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Postcard Killers

Average Rating 3.5
( 1710 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(558)

4 Star

(436)

3 Star

(350)

2 Star

(164)

1 Star

(202)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

39 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

Stark Brutality Meets Boundless Tenacity

The Postcard Killers by James Patterson and Liza Marklund

A emotionally drained, despair ridden NY Homicide detective teams up with a small time newspaper reporter to combat a pair of insidious serial killers.

I don't care one whit about the criticism leveled at ...
The Postcard Killers by James Patterson and Liza Marklund

A emotionally drained, despair ridden NY Homicide detective teams up with a small time newspaper reporter to combat a pair of insidious serial killers.

I don't care one whit about the criticism leveled at Patterson and his formula written books. I enjoyed this book. It was an astoundingly quick read and held my attention. The characters were understandable and the protagonists were likeable. Jacob's tenacity was to be expected from a grieving father. Dessie was a delightful combination of newly formed goody two shoes and a genetically predisposed small time hoodlum.

The story was beyond fast paced. It was impossible to put down. The killers were despicable and their fate was kept unpredictable.

I highly recommend the book.

posted by ibpurpledragon on July 14, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

25 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

Good preview

Only 87 pages, so you get an appetizer, not the full meal.

posted by 8751113 on June 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 350 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 18
  • Posted June 26, 2011

    Good preview

    Only 87 pages, so you get an appetizer, not the full meal.

    25 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2010

    Just OK For what I am use to From James

    the Book was preety good a lil hard to to keep up with but it was OK not the Norm for James but i was just OK for Me because after the Privite I expected it to go up a notch - but if you have not read many of Pattersons book this one will get you started ....
    love you Work..

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    highly recommended

    This book is for an adult reader. It has mature subject matter but is very well written. I want to read the rest of the book. I have read many books by James Patterson.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Another predictable Patterson novel.

    I've only read a few James Patterson novels. I've always heard great things about his writing and I really wanted to start reading some of his stuff. My only problem thus far is that everything of his I've read has been so predictable. I've had such high expectations for each of his books and I've been let down with each one.

    Having said that I don't hate his books. I think that the sheer number of books that he has released, with co-authors, has lead to a bit of overkill. I like the story lines, I like the characters, but it's so easy to predict the end of the book.

    This one was no different. While it did have a bit more of an emotional connection than I've felt with the other Patterson novels it was still predictable. I liked the characters. Dessi was a great character. She was very well rounded, she had such a great back story, and as her past starts popping up she becomes even more likable. For her to come from where she came from and be able to do what she's done it was very touching. Jack wasn't an unlikable character, but I didn't really connect with him. I did feel sympathy for him, but that was about the extent of my connection.

    The story was pretty fast-paced. Things happened pretty quickly in this one. It didn't take long for the killers to get going, actually that's how the book opens. As the reasoning behind the killings come out, it is pretty shallow. But I guess a killer doesn't really have to have a good reason to kill (killers are crazy after all).

    Since this was an audiobook I have to talk about the narrators. There were actually three of them in this story. I liked the differences in the narrators. It helped me to keep track of when the story changed. When I'm listening to an audiobook I find it easy to get lost as far as what's going on, and who's doing what but the three different narrators would at least keep me on track as to who the story was following. I have to say that I wish more audiobooks were read like this, I really liked it.

    A review copy of this title was provided by Hachette Book Group.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2011

    Ok.

    I'd buy it if it were free.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Written in an odd style.

    The book was written oddly. The chapters are only a page and a half long. It did not take long to get through. The end of the book was predictable. However, I found the book enjoyable to read. You can't help but like the characters. I recommend people read this book just for the fun of it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2012

    Great book, BUT.........

    Ending was a huge letdown

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2012

    Highly, Highly Recommended - don't know how I lived without it.

    I have had my Nook Tablet since Christmas and I just love it. If I can't sleep at night I just open it up and read I don't need any special light, it just so easy to use. I love the Wireless feature I can check my email anytime. One thing I must confess to is I haven't had to spent one dime on any books BN has so many free books to read it has certainly broaden my subject reading and that's what I'm having such fun with. I can even read on the beach just have to play with the brightness feature, it works great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    Entertaining

    Good read...keeps you turning the pages!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    Good

    It was good... i wished it was longer and with a littlemore excitement.hh

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    Cool

    Cool

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    It was just okay

    Nothing to write home about. Not one of his better books in my opinion.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2012

    Hard to put down!

    I throughly enjoyed this book. It seemed well researched and the characters were fairly well developed. I actually forced myself to put the book down (at 3:30 a.m.) Very entertaining!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    Amazing

    This book reminded me of the movie Taken.... it had great action and suspence :)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2012

    Really interesting

    Typical James Patterson's work - makes you want the rest of the story bad.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Interesting

    This is a pretty good book it is alot like the womens murder club why r all of james pattersons books about homocide?!?! ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    keeps you wanting more

    Loved the book, not a fan of the ending though. I feel like it was rushed into.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Okay

    It is confusing at the beginning but gets better as you go along...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Anonomus

    Very breath taking.....ish

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2011

    Interesting but won't keep you on the edge of your seat.

    I'd like to read more of it but it's not a must at the top of my list.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 350 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 18