Customer Reviews for

The Postcard Killers

Average Rating 3.5
( 1714 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(559)

4 Star

(437)

3 Star

(349)

2 Star

(164)

1 Star

(205)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

39 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

Stark Brutality Meets Boundless Tenacity

The Postcard Killers by James Patterson and Liza Marklund

A emotionally drained, despair ridden NY Homicide detective teams up with a small time newspaper reporter to combat a pair of insidious serial killers.

I don't care one whit about the criticism leveled at ...
The Postcard Killers by James Patterson and Liza Marklund

A emotionally drained, despair ridden NY Homicide detective teams up with a small time newspaper reporter to combat a pair of insidious serial killers.

I don't care one whit about the criticism leveled at Patterson and his formula written books. I enjoyed this book. It was an astoundingly quick read and held my attention. The characters were understandable and the protagonists were likeable. Jacob's tenacity was to be expected from a grieving father. Dessie was a delightful combination of newly formed goody two shoes and a genetically predisposed small time hoodlum.

The story was beyond fast paced. It was impossible to put down. The killers were despicable and their fate was kept unpredictable.

I highly recommend the book.

posted by theoriginalpurpledragon on July 14, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

25 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

Good preview

Only 87 pages, so you get an appetizer, not the full meal.

posted by 8751113 on June 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 559 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 28
  • Posted July 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Stark Brutality Meets Boundless Tenacity

    The Postcard Killers by James Patterson and Liza Marklund

    A emotionally drained, despair ridden NY Homicide detective teams up with a small time newspaper reporter to combat a pair of insidious serial killers.

    I don't care one whit about the criticism leveled at Patterson and his formula written books. I enjoyed this book. It was an astoundingly quick read and held my attention. The characters were understandable and the protagonists were likeable. Jacob's tenacity was to be expected from a grieving father. Dessie was a delightful combination of newly formed goody two shoes and a genetically predisposed small time hoodlum.

    The story was beyond fast paced. It was impossible to put down. The killers were despicable and their fate was kept unpredictable.

    I highly recommend the book.

    39 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2011

    Explosive, Gripping, definite page turner!!

    I got this free preview and then decided after reading 5 pages that I would just get the book. OMG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I could not put the book down and in 3 days I was finished with it. I was totally drawn into the story and it was a grippinging page turner and the plot was diabolical if I can use that word in this fashion. I thought for sure that they had nailed the ones responsible, then at a critical point BAM it is more mind shattering. it is a great read and I would definately recommend it to others for sure. This was my 2nd James Patterson book that I've read. I am totally hooked on his books.

    24 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2011

    LOVED IT

    This was the first James Patterson book I read and it was AMAZING!!!!! I LOVED IT!!!

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2011

    Fantastic Read!!

    Another great book by James Patterson. Couldn't put it down.

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2010

    page turner

    purchased it as an ereader. Raining day in new york today. Read the whole book. It was just another one of James Patterson amazing book. Found myself talking to the pages and my husband asking me what? lol If you never read any of his book. You will not be disappointed at all.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2012

    Good but has a badd mine

    This book has u at the end of ur seat bitin on ur nails cant tell all aboout it get ur own book :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2011

    Yes!

    Loved it!! This book was great from start to finish! Another homerun for James Patterson!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    Is it for kids

    I am almost twelve and i was just wandering is it good 4 me

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Wow

    3 days to finsh a 87page book just wow

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly recommended!!!

    James Patterson has out done himself with this one! Once you start you can't put it down.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2011

    PATTERSON IS ALWAYS A GREAT READ!!

    I always leave myself open to a new adventure when I open a new book. I do not lock any author into a particular style or pattern. When I do that I miss out on all the new ways a story can be presented. Don't listen to all the "negative nellies" out there! Patterson is always a good investment.

    By the way, to the individual who was having trouble incorporating the postcards into the theme of the story...read more murder stories and you will see it is a signature. They never really do play a significant role in the stories. Check out Tami Hoag,,,she uses signatures in some of her stories.

    Again, Mr. Patterson is and has been one of my favorite authors. He is worth the investment of your time and money. -- Favorite Pageturner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2010

    loved it !!!

    this is the first book i ever read by james patterson, and i loved it!! i seriously couldn't put it down. it felt to real and all the details... its like watching a movie. i would definetly recommend it to anyone who wants to read and try something new!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2010

    Gelati's Scoop

    I finally got to look at Sunday's newspaper and this novel is sitting atop the New York Times Bestseller List, number one. James Patterson teaming up with Liza Marklund is a stroke of genius and this novel flat out rocks from beginning to end. The story line goes as follows: "NYPD detective Jacob Kanon is on a tour of Europe's most gorgeous cities. But the sights aren't what draw him- he sees each museum, each cathedral, and each café through the eyes of his daughter's killer. Kanon's daughter,Kimmy, and her boyfriend were murdered while on vacation in Rome. Since then, young couples in Paris, Copenhagen, Frankfurt, and Stockholm have been found dead. Little connect the murders, other than a postcard to the local newspaper that precedes each new victim."
    I enjoyed this novel for many reasons. Am I a reader that always enjoys James Patterson? No. There are a few that rankled me a bit, but of late I have to say that he has knocked my socks off. Private blew me away and I enjoyed the read, this was even better. The action was intense, the dialogue crisp and engaging and the characters were well developed. The Postcard Killers is the real deal and has it all. I had a hard time putting this novel down it was such a good read. The teaming of Patterson & Marklund is excellent and hopefully they continue to create more work like this.
    James Patterson is one of the most purchased novelists in history. It is no mistake he knows how to put together an engaging, fun read, with enough elements to keep us happy and continue to be repeat customers. The thing I enjoy the most about him and his work is that he doesn't sit on his laurels and mail it in. Case in point is his last few novels, Daniel X, Private and now The Postcard Killers. It makes me optimistic to see how his work is the remainder of the year; he has a number of novels to come.
    The Postcard Killers is a novel that is a fast, smooth ride put together by two incredible authors. To pass this up would be a mistake. Action, scenery, romance, nice tight plotline, and all the pieces neatly wrapped up at novel end makes this one of the best reads in a while. James Patterson tops himself again. Indulge yourself and click on the icon here at the blog and order the novel if you haven't read it or ordered it already, it is money and time well spent.
    What are you reading today? Check us out and become our friend on Facebook & Linkedin. Go to Goodreads and become our friend there and suggest books for us to read and post on. You can also follow us on Twitter, and the Gelati's Scoop Facebook Fan Page. Did you know you can shop directly on Amazon by clicking the Gelati's Store Tab on our blog? Thanks for stopping by today; We will see you tomorrow. Have a great day.
    http://www.gelatisscoop.blogspot.com

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2010

    OMG

    Could not put this book down. Thrilling great book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2010

    The Postcard Killers

    Typical James Patterson book. Very fast read and could not put it down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2014

    excellent

    another good read bypatterson

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    thrilling

    Page turner that took you through different countries until the vilians were caught

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2013

    Very good!

    What more

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Cool

    This is one of the best books ive read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2013

    loved

    loved

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 559 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 28