Customer Reviews for

Postcards from No Man's Land

Average Rating 4
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2005

    Freshman High Schooler

    I have read many books in my life time. This book was ok for my taste, which is war books. Although it was mainly to my opinion a love story, I still thought it was ok. It kept me interested enough to finish it and think about it. But, I do think if I read It again, I would like it a lot better. I definitely recommend this book who likes books with romance.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2012

    Great start, but gets pretty bad pretty fast

    This book independently tracks two people's story, one of a 19 year old Dutch girl named Geertrui during the German occupation of Holland in WWII. The other story is about a 17 year old British kid named Jacob who visits Holland to see the dying Geertrui when she is old several decades later. The beginning of his stay there is terrible but he soon starts to develop some character.The major theme in this book is "nothing ventured, nothing gained," or in other words, if you don't try something and expose yourself to danger, then you will not gain or get anything. Another theme in the book is exploring your true personality and what really matters to you, which is really shown in Jacob's story more than Geertrui's story. I liked the plot for the first 120 pages or so of the book. It interestingly alternates around a Dutch girl trying to stay alive during the German occupation and a young British boy having trouble in a foreign country. I also liked on the very idea of trading off between two seperate stories in one book. It kept me interested and I wasn't forced to have to read one story for a long period of time. However, I disliked practically the rest of the book. This is because I disliked the author's attempt to try to add romance into the book. What started out as an interesting survival book turned into a love story. Some people may have enjoyed this, but I had to force myself to finish the rest of the book. Authors love to add unneccessary romance into books, and it completly ruined a good novel for me. Someone who likes romance books should read this book, I guess they will enjoy it. However, people who are looking for an action or adventure book will be dissapointed here, because although it starts good, it gets dissapointing really fast. So, overall, I would give it a 3/5 because of the good start, but terrible ending.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2011

    Strange...But Still Okay

    I own and have read an abundance of books, but this one stands out. It is not a great book by any means, but it was not that bad either. Maybe it is because I am not one who enjoys two era perspective books, but their stories were so different that it was hard to keep track of everything. The WW2 parts were excellent, but the modern day story line lacked a...entertaining quality. So, yes it was okay and strange, but I would not recommend to many people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2009

    Great book, BUT...

    This is a wonderful book - the author does a great job of intertwining the two stories. I would just like to put forth the following caution to fellow parents looking for books for their kids: There is a discrepancy between the recommended age - on the B&N entry, it says ages 12 and up, but Publisher's Weekly and Kirkus Reviews recommend it for 14 and up or for older teenagers and adults. I bought this on line for my daughter's 13th birthday, based on the 12 and up recommendation, but when I got it and looked at it I decided against giving it. I ended up reading it myself (and thoroughly enjoyed it), but certainly felt glad that I hadn't given it to my daughter at this point in time, as I do feel the book is too explicit for young teens.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2009

    What i think of it

    I think that this is a very excillent book. Normally i would go for a fairy tale type of book but this one actually caught my eye and my mind told me to read it and it was amazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2008

    When in Amsterdam...

    I picked up this book not really knowing what to expect. A book about an Englishman in Amsterdam, simultaneously playing out the story of a WWII romance. But in the end, I found myself to love this book. I was impressed by the author's ability to switch from one writing style to another, one point of view to another, and never lose the story in the process. I additionally enjoyed the characters very very much. I was able to relate to both the main character (Jacob) and the other point of view (Geertrui.) Overall, an excellent read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2007

    A reviewer

    'Postcards From No Man's Land' is simply one of those books you can't put down even if you tried. It just seems to captivate you with Chambers' words and story line. A heartfelt story that tugs at your heart strings. Beautiful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2006

    Reading is great

    I can't even explain how great this book is... Magnificant!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2005

    Amazing

    This book was amazing!The book's characters asked questions that every person should ask themselves one day. There were so many twist in turns in this book that i read very slowly at the end so i wouldn't have to finish it. It is just one of those books that you wish was long as a J.K. Rowling book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2005

    Best Ever

    I have read over 300 books and I'm fifteen and i absolutely love it. Has so much within it's unbelievable. Mystery, double story line wrapping into one plot, major debates, and romance. Recommend to anyone who will listen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2005

    chance's thoughts

    I think the book Postcards from no man's land was a good book. One of the reasons it is a good book is because of the wierd things that happens in it. Anouther reason is it makes you think by switching from people to people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2004

    Arianna G-College Comp

    I thought this book was an excellent read.I found it my looking at the cover. The author kept me interested by the way he put the story together.I would defiently recommend this book to any nad every one. Wonderful, writting structure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2004

    Best book ever

    I read a book a day and this book is by far the best book I've ever read. It includes everything you could ever want self discovery, suspense, romance, conterversy, and all in the same book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2003

    An Outstanding Novel

    This book was quite unique, but very excellent. The stories, which seem at first parallel keep things interesting. The key to the excellence of the book is that we uncover the truth with Jacob instead of knowing the connections of the two stories all along. The characters are pretty straightforward, but still interesting. The author has a brilliant writing style, and often slips in great words of wisdom, which could stand by themselves as great quotes. The constant use of Dutch is at first a bit exasperating, but with a dutch-english dictionary, I'm sure it's not that bad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2003

    Postcards From No Man's Land

    In the old city, Amsterdam, a story is told that intertwines the past and the present. The present story is of a young English teenager, Jacob Todd, visiting Holland to honor the battle of Amsterdam. Behind this is a story of the past of the Second World War and British soldiers fighting in a Dutch area. This story was of a loving relationship between a young Dutch girl and a wounded British soldier. Throughout the story, Aidan Chambers gives the reader a full taste of the Amsterdam life. He uses the cultures and customs to define the national characters of the English and the Dutch. The story was thoughtfully written with the events of the past growing an importance to Jacob in the future, showing the creativity of the story. It takes the reader on a memorable voyage of family secrets and discovery a man¿s self-identity to connect the past with the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1