Customer Reviews for

Postcards from the Dead (Scrapbooking Series #10)

Average Rating 4.5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 27, 2012

    Excellent as always

    Laura Childs never disappoints. This is another good book in a good series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    Suspenseful

    This is my 10th book from Laura Childs Tea Shop Series and I love them all. I like the fact that I never know who did it. I guess but have only gotten it once. I love her other series as well. I just wish all of her books were available on nook.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    New Orleans, Murder and Mayhem, Oh My

    New Orleans and Mardi Gras have long since been the setting for murder mysteries, but author Laura Childs puts a different spin on the concept with amateur sleuth Carmela Bertrand and POSTCARDS FROM THE DEAD. Carmela, owner of Memory Mine Scrapbooking, is awaiting her turn in the camera spotlight when something goes terrible wrong. KBEZ-TV reporter Kimber Breeze is conducting interviews on the fourth floor balcony of a hotel in the French Quarter overlooking the Mardi Gras parade below. Just as she’s about to be interviewed, Carmela sees Kimber’s terrified face in the waiting room’s live feed monitor. When she rushes out onto the tiny balcony, Carmela finds Kimber’s lifeless body dangling by a cord over the floats below. Although her boyfriend, Homicide Detective Edgar Babcock, tells her not to get involved, Carmela can’t help herself. When she begins receiving unnerving postcards apparently from the dead reporter, Carmela enlists the help of her best friend Ava Gruiex to uncover the truth. As Carmela and Ava search for the killer, they take the reader on a journey through New Orleans, its culture and its landscape. There is a nice blend of mystery, murder, mayhem, humor, a dabble of romance and even a second crime to solve. In addition, Childs incorporates friendship, loyalty and a bit of gossip involving the Scrapbooking gang. With each new installment in this series, Childs continues to develop and enrich her characters. Following along with their progress enhances the reading experience making the characters more realistic. Childs slowly pulls you in with each line. As she paints a picture with her words, she places the reader in the heart of the action with her characters. Before the reader realizes it, they’re spellbound unable to put the book down not wanting to leave the scene for fear of what will happen next. POSTCARDS FROM THE DEAD is the 10th installment in the Scrapbook Mystery series, but can be read alone. There are subtle references to prior events, but they are done in such a way as not to confuse or lose new readers. The book also offers delicious New Orleans recipes, Scrapbooking tips and a preview of the next installment in Childs’ Cackleberry Club Mystery series, STAKE & EGGS, slated for release in December. Scrapbooking doesn’t have to be in your blood to enjoy this story, only the love of a good mystery. FTC Full Disclosure - This book was sent to me by the author and publisher in hopes I would review it. However, receiving the complimentary copies did not influence my review.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2013

    I am thoroughly disgusted with all of her series because not all

    I am thoroughly disgusted with all of her series because not all of them are published as e-books. Either do or don't but don't leave us hanging.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    highley recommended

    I loved it-I just love Laura Childs

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    A real page turner

    I have enjoyed reading all of the Laura Childs scrapbooking mysteries thus far. She makes it an easy read and keeps you wondering throughout the book...who did it. Plus the srapbooking tips and recipes are wonderful. Highly recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1