Customer Reviews for

The Postman Always Rings Twice

Average Rating 4.5
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Postman Always Rings Twice

    Along with Raymond chandler and Dashiell Hammett, James M. Cain is often considered the pioneers of hard-boiled crime fiction, and while I do prefer Chandler and Hammett, my first novel by Cain was a thrilling ride. Unlike his peers, Cain focuses less on P.I's and more on the criminals and Frank, the narrator, is one bad dude. Postman is filled with greed, lust, sex, and violence that all formed a great novel. Needless to say, I will continue to be entertained by the works of James M. Cain.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2014

    I think this is a delightful novel that helps us realize at leas

    I think this is a delightful novel that helps us realize at least one thing, (learning about something through investigation).
    Aren’t all of us in pursuit of love and happiness? Of course, most of us don’t plot a way out of marriage to walk into another’s arms ...
    and in most all relationships -three is a crowd. The grass usually looks greener until we get close up and realize the mistake we made,
    which can sometimes turn into a dangerous situation.Will the jaded, flawed characters in this novel find what they are looking for? Or will they find more than they bargained for?I hope you read this passionate novel.Jeannie Walker (Award-Winning Author) 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Highly Recommend - worth the read!

    The novel has love, lust, greed, triangulated relationships and the moral consequences of these sins. It still fun to read/watch others fall from grace and have little, if no, regrets.

    I've seen both movies, the older version with John Garfield and Lana Turner my favorite, but the book was still a great read. I enjoyed seeing how the author pictured his story. A great film noir classic in book & film!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    Hi

    Wanna go out

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2012

    The Book That Launched a Genre

    This book is a quick read. The plot moved swiftly and there are enough twists and turns to keep anyone interested. The two main characters actually seem believable. Believable enough that some parts of the book actually made me uncomfortable. The ending was a surprise to top it all off.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2012

    An Interesting Mystery Read

    An interesting plot with interesting twists and turns. If its your first mystery book, be sure to give it a try.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2012

    Indispensable

    If it sounds like a likely candidate based on its classification as crime/noir, you simply must read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended-you must check it out!

    I had read Mildred Pierce by this author first. I thought it was a very good book so I decided to see what else head written. I came across this book and ready the synopsis on this. when I read that this was controversial....I thought hmm.. let me see why this is so controversial. I read the book on my NOOK in two days ( since I work outside the home and inside the home.) It has a good story line and the ending kind of left you wondering what was going to happen to the main character. Mr. Cain is a very good writer and wold recommend this book to anybody who likes twists and turns in their story. A real page turner!~ Sundropgirl

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2010

    Great novel!

    I now know why this novel is considered among the greatest novels of the 20th century. A must read for the mystery fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    The Postman Always Rings Twice is SUpER!

    This is a very small but passionate book. IT has to be one of the best books i have ever read! This has to be put on ever book list for books that you have to read before your eye sight goes bad.... The characters are real and just alive... please please please read this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2007

    Pulp Noir Classic

    James M. Cain's pulp noir classic helped popularize the 'hardboiled' style of the Mystery genre. The plot is simple yet intriguing: Drifter Frank Chambers commences an affair with Cora Papadakis, and conspires with her to murder her husband Nick. These goings-on were saucy enough to earn the book a banning in Boston upon its initial publication in 1934, and the story holds up well enough today, with plenty of twists and double-crosses. As with most books in the hardboiled genre, a good story isn't enough -- Cain sets the bar high with a palpably sordid setting populated with devious characters, and unapologetically gritty yet stark prose. Don't get distracted by the non-sequitur in the title -- there is no postman in the story. Although there are many theories about the title 'and author Cain gave more than one explanation for it', most readers accept it metaphorically, with Chambers awaiting the consequences of his actions. It's an entertaining read, and better yet, one that stays with you after you finish it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2002

    Excellent Crime/Detective Story

    I enjoyed this short novel very much and finished it in a few hours. No wonder it was adapted into a film. As you read it you can actually picture it. The way those 2 get out of their own 'troubles' is amazingly well explained. But then again, what goes around comes around so you will be surprised by the ending (if you haven't seen the movie yet).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2