BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Postmortal

Average Rating 4
( 55 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    One of my favorite reads of the year.

    Im extremely happy that i stumbled upon this gem of a novel. I couldn't put it down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    I very much like Drew Magary as a comedic blogger on Deadspin, b

    I very much like Drew Magary as a comedic blogger on Deadspin, but I think he stumbles in his first attempt to translate that writing style into the novel format. The story itself has a compelling hook (post-mortality), but the novel lacks significant character development and jumps from one superficial plot event to the next without pausing to introspectively contemplate or explain developments in the main character or the world he inhabits. The book is a quick read and the premise of the story is provoking enough to get you through to the finish, but it's just not deep enough to make you really care about the characters or their fates.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    Quick Vacation Read

    Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed The Postmortal. The only thing I found somewhat lacking was a greater in-depth look to the world Drew Magary was building. As the title mentions, I did think this book was great for a time-killer while I was vacationing at the beach and for the plane ride.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    Always recommend now

    I came upon this book and the idea grabbed me instantly. Such a great book and really makes you think. Towards the end it did seem to drag, and did not like the ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    Truly Excellent.

    Truly Excellent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    It's an okay read, but only sporadically clever. The idea for t

    It's an okay read, but only sporadically clever. The idea for the story is a good one, and got me intrigued enough to buy the book. The first third or so of the book is probably the best because it deals with postmortalism becoming a new reality. Unfortunately, the story starts skipping long periods of the main character's life after that, and too often glosses over just why indefinite lifespans create the conditions that they do, and how people got together to bring about the dystopian future described. For me, this book lacked an engaging flow with the time gaps and the blog/news story chapters. The main character becomes increasingly unlikable throughout the book. You can decide for yourself whether that matters. Magary is also very very fond of similes. Many are strange and somewhat inspired, but too often the abundance of similes served to make the reading tedious and repetitive feeling. It's a thought provoking book, but in the end it fails to capitalize on its own potential.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2012

    Great

    I was really glad I picked this up. Made me think.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    GREAT READ

    Very compelling, couldn't stop reading it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Do You Wnat to Be Forever Young? Really?

    So, the story is, John lives in a world (in the not-so-distant future) where with just a few shots, one can defy the aging process for-ev-er! You could still die from accidents or even disease, but not from growing old. Sounds great, right? The world has always actively tried to stop aging, no more so than right now.

    Well, think again, my friend. With fewer people dying, the world's population (already at a tipping point) becomes a burden on our dwindling resources. Also, the moral and logistical implications of living forever (as long as you are accident and disease free) start to set in. In The Postmortal, anti-cure sects pop up (religious and secular) and it's obvious that not everyone thinks stopping the natural aging process is the best plan ever.

    I think I love futuristic/dystopian/post-apocalyptic novels because I am intrigued by other people's predictions of how our lives might play out in the future under certain circumstances. In The Postmortal, we are given that vision in spades. One of my favorite aspects of this novel was the theoretical consequences of never aging. Such as: Do you really want to be married forever now that it really means eternity with the same person? No retirement plan? No problem, buddy, because you will be working for the next 400 years or so just to sustain your young lifestyle. Think you're bored now, just imagine hundreds of years spread out before you while you live your little life forever and ever and ever...

    The Postmortal is not all gloom and doom (at times it's snarky and hilarious), but it does cleverly present concrete arguments against the quest for eternal life. The plot is well-conceived and the pace is frenzied. I found myself caring about John and wanting to know where this world was going to take him. At the end of the book, I still wanted more! The Postmortal also has has the elements of romance, mystery and thriller that kept me glued to the pages. Great book that I would recommend to anyone curious about the consequences if we all stayed forever young.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    Great read

    I enjoyed this book very much. It does become very violent as it progresses. The ending wasn't my favorite, but I don't know that it could have ended any other way. Im glad I happened upon this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2011

    Interesting read and great fun too.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2011

    Makes you think...but in a good way

    I picked up this book because I enjoy reading futuristic books that take on an issue that could be a reality some day. The book is written as if by a blogger and I thought the way Magery included news clippings was really creative and entertaining.
    As some have said, the ending could have been better. The whole book up to that point was darkly funny and it took a little too much of a turn to serious and predictable for me.
    Overall I loved this book. I could't put it down.
    I highly recommend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Darkly Humorous and Terrifyingly realistic!

    What if a group of scientists found a cure for aging? Would you want it? This cure doesn't encompass any diseases like cancer, AIDS, or even the common flu. So, while anyone receiving the "cure" would not age, they would still be susceptible to illness or injury. As the book explains, you would only be assured that when you do die, it would not be peacefully in your bed of old age, you pretty much are guaranteed that it will be nothing so easy. There are plenty of other ways to die, and plenty of other people who want to make sure you do. Drew Magary explores these issues and many of the possible results of this so-called "cure" such as overwhelming population growth, the horrific ways people abuse the "cure", and all of the extreme religious and socio economic repercussions and then presents it in an extremely entertaining and entirely readable narrative.

    To say I was blown away by The Postmortal would be an understatement. The cartoon-like cover image and back cover blurb did not prepare me for how crazy-good this book actually was. I wasn't expecting it. This was so cleverly written. I was drawn in by the rich dark humor and the blunt, candid way the story is told. I would describe this as the "much cooler big brother" to all of the other dystopian novels I've read. I can literally picture some of these events happening within my own lifetime. And that is frightening.

    The Postmortal chronicles one man, John Farrell's journey into postmortal life, after receiving the "cure". The story is told via John's personal journal and from some of the news articles and blurbs from various news feeds he included in that journal. John is almost an anti-hero, flawed in so many ways but his story is still so compelling. The news articles keep the reader updated on what is going on throughout the world and then John's journal shows how these things are affecting people on a more personal level, how they are living through and with these changes. I thought it was a very original and effective way to present a story.

    This world was a terrifyingly realistic place that is all too familiar. The most frightening thing about The Postmortal is that it was so believable. From the strange religious cult to the shady government dealings, and even the mysteriously malevolent "greenies" all of it followed a very conceivable logical sequence. I was both extremely entertained and terrified at the possibility that any of this could actually happen.

    The Postmortal was easily one of my favorite reads of 2011. I would recommend this to anyone who enjoys a thrilling dystopian adventure as well as anyone who simply wants to be thoroughly entertained.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2011

    Really makes you think about technological advances!

    This book was amazing. I couldn't put it down! It really makes you think about the future and the ups and downs of technological advancements that will no doubt happen to our world eventually. I highly recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good Book that could have been better

    I bought this book because the story seemed fascinating and worth exploring. The reviews were good and seemed like I would make a good purchase. Although told in a unique manner, narrative in a blogging style with "internet news feeds", I enjoyed the first part of the book. After I started in on the last half, in particular the last third, the book seems to become quite predictable. Frankly the latter part of the book, because it is so predictable, drove me crazy. I give it three stars for being well written and easy to read. A good book that could have been great if the author had put in something more original in the later part of the book. I will say this; the book brings up a number of ideas that make you think.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2011

    Great Read

    Love the Eugene, OR references. The book takes a unique approach in a 3rd person documentary read-over. It would have been great to have some of the loose ends tied off, this isnt the type of book you would expect a sequel to. Great dynamic references of the now that are woven into 'the nows' future. Overall a definite recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2011

    Entertaining, yet makes you think

    The Postmortal is a powerful book. Magary takes an honest look at society's reaction to not aging - constant partying, marriages fall apart, the earth's resources are dwindling. We see John Farrell, a wise-cracking lawyer, who's life changes markedly throughout the book as he gets older without aging. His optimism turns to skepticism, even on to hopelessness. The storyline is very dark in this book, but Magary manages to add humor and lighten the mood in just the right places.

    It's an interesting novel, showing how society slowly disintegrates just as it is granted one of its biggest wishes. The government begins to take total control of everyone's life...and death. This story really makes you think, even as you're being entertained.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    fans who enjoy a leisurely something different science fiction tale will want to read The Postmortal

    The postmortals voluntarily have taken the Fountain of Youth Cure gene therapy that allows the recipient to remain eternally young. Though aging has been defeated that does not mean the individual cannot die as accidents, homicides, suicide and illness can still kill a person.

    John Farrell who is about to take the Cure soon learns that perpetual life causes a new set of problems as the population explodes since few people are exiting. Resources have failed to keep up since the Cure was found six decades ago and ennui remains a problem for those with nothing to pass the years with like John the blogger. Thus Now in 2090 John explains life has issues that are not that different from those who lived in the pre Cure era.

    This is superb clever futuristic science fiction that makes the case of eternity does not necessarily denote happiness. The story line focuses on the definitive account by John the blogger that is accepted as an accurate and valid look at the first decades after the Cure because it is written down. The story line is passive, which enhances the belief that eternity is another word for enervating ennui, but also lacks passion and action. With insight on individual and global consequences, fans who enjoy a leisurely something different science fiction tale will want to read The Postmortal.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3