Customer Reviews for

Postmortem (Kay Scarpetta Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 371 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(174)

4 Star

(115)

3 Star

(45)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(22)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Patricia Cornwell: The Kay Scarpetta series

I have thoroughly enjoyed reading this series. I started reading in the fall of 2008 and am now re-reading #15 while I wait for #16 to arrive. I recommend it. Start with #1.

posted by SusanMA on March 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

THE REAL DISAPPOINTMENT IS THAT I BOUGHT TWO OF THESE SERIES BOOKS

I DONT EVEN KNOW HOW I FINISH THIS BOOK IT WAS SO BORING ! IM NOT EVEN GOING TO BOTHER AND TRY TO READ THE OTHER ONE ITS GOING STRIAGHT TO THE BOOK EXCHANGE

posted by MISS_READ_IT on July 17, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 373 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 19
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    Patricia Cornwell: The Kay Scarpetta series

    I have thoroughly enjoyed reading this series. I started reading in the fall of 2008 and am now re-reading #15 while I wait for #16 to arrive. I recommend it. Start with #1.

    16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2010

    Terrifying!

    This book was so scary that I kept getting up to check the locks on the doors and windows as I was reading it. I love all the novels in the Kay Scarpetta series but this one just sticks with you. The psychological aspect of the plot; the fact that the killer is attacking women not within the same ethnic race; was very fascinating. I could not figure out who the culprit might be and was shocked and disturbed when it was finally revealed. I read this book twelve years ago and the sense of fear still stays with me. If you like this book, you may also enjoy: the novels of Tess Gerittsen, Tami Hoag (A Thin Dark Line, Ashes to Ashes, Dust to Dust), James Patterson's Kiss the Girls, and the true-crime books of Ann Rule.

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    Very good read

    Full of insiders info and a suspenseful ending. I've found a new series to read.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    Still my favorite!

    I read this book for the first time many years ago, but it is still the best murder mystery I have ever read. I pull it out at least once a year to read it over and over again. It is so captivating that I read it straight through everytime.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2009

    Can't put it down

    I have read many P. Cornwell books and love the Kay Scarpetta series. I know when I start reading, I need to allow a few days because I won't be able to put the book down. It's always a challenge trying to figure out who the killer is, but I'm never able to figure it out until the end.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    THE REAL DISAPPOINTMENT IS THAT I BOUGHT TWO OF THESE SERIES BOOKS

    I DONT EVEN KNOW HOW I FINISH THIS BOOK IT WAS SO BORING ! IM NOT EVEN GOING TO BOTHER AND TRY TO READ THE OTHER ONE ITS GOING STRIAGHT TO THE BOOK EXCHANGE

    4 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    HELP

    I cannot get this to open, all I get is a blank screen, Help please

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    Have read it twice!

    Love the Scarpetta series.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    It was ook

    This book wasn't my absolute favortie or anything, but it had a decent plot and really picked up in the last 200 or so pages. I recommend this book to forensic mystery lovers. It is a series so there is much more to read after this one. The only down this book has is that its very descriptive and can kind of drag a bit. Its not the high action I usually like so much, but all in all a decent book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    The book that hooked me on Kay Scarpetta.

    The book that hooked me on Kay Scarpetta.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    I just started the Scarpetta series book #1and love it . Love re

    I just started the Scarpetta series book #1and love it . Love reading her books and will def reccomend her books to others. Many thanks Patricia for being such an excellent writer. Keep up the good work.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    Very interesting !

    Read to read the rest of the series

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    Lotsa characters. Bring your memory!

    Post Mortem, the first of the Scarpetta series, is a good story, but I found it to be complicated by too many characters that really didn't need to be there and too many side-tracks, some of which didn't really contribute to the main story. Nonetheless, it is a good read that will keep your mind working to keep track of it all, and that's not necessarily a bad thing, just a long read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2011

    Why+%2410+for+a+book+published+in+1990%3F%3F

    I+like+this+series+and+Patricia+Cornwell+but+give+me+a+break+barnes+and+noble%2C+huh%3F+Ten+bucks+for+a+book+originally+published++TWENTY-ONE+years+ago%3F%3F%3F+This+blatent%2C+greedy+price+gouging+is+disgusting.+Shame+on++you.+%0A

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2008

    If you like the series Bones... Try this!

    I have seen Patricia's books in the store for many years. I have never had the urge to pick one up. I started watching the series Bones on TV and loved it so I tried reading Kathy Reichs books. While they were good, they were a bit too much like a technical manual for my taste. (very dry) I decided I would try Postmortem to see what I thought. I loved it. It was very well writen, had a good strong plot, and was very enjoyable. I will absolutely continue to read this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2014

    good crime novel, started out a little slow and was a little har

    good crime novel, started out a little slow and was a little hard getting into it but about half way through couldn't put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2014

    Flightpath

    Leaps up.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2014

    Wavebreak

    She runs in and sees flightpath then makes a sound thats halfroar half screech then in rage gos off t look fr hee.(i never liked mistpaw, and now she is putting coal n the furnace of my tempe. >:O) i am horrible at fixing mistakes...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2014

    Rosepetal ooc

    Mistpaw, book! I can't post where we are until more start looking and see it. I already had to type it twice. Also, rp'r to rp'r Mist loves Rose so Rosie won't die by the end except if where she ends up peeps are mean to her. ~Rose &hearts~

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 373 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 19