Customer Reviews for

The Potato Chip Puzzles: The Puzzling World of Winston Breen

Average Rating 4
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

The puzzles of potato chips

It is great especially since it is a nutmeg

posted by 10444521 on February 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

O.k.

A good book but kind of confusing. But i liked the puzzles in the back and the riddles where fun to figure out and ask people.

posted by Anonymous on November 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 5, 2012

    The Best Book EVER!!!!

    This book was the best I finished it in 2 days and on the first night I didn't go to bed till 11:00pm. I ordered the 1st book I'am going to see how that is :)

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2011

    Shaylynn gruenberg loved this book

    This book is filled with suspense creativity and of course........puzzles. Not kidding theres actual puzzles throughout the book and extra ones in the back. Theres also answers so you can solve them yourself them yourself but the important answers are answer a tad later. Ok on to the actual story. So winsteen breen finds himself in a big puzzle contest and picks his friends to be his teamates.However his not so fav teacher is picked to be the " chaperone" and every thing seems to go wrong.To add to all the craziness the a cheater in the competition and he is determined to win. This book will have you frazzeled dismaed and terrificly happy.I completly recommend this book to anyone and everyone aldults and kids.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2012

    Love

    I love this book i have read it many times to my students off my nook they enjoyed it

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2011

    Mysteries and Suspense!

    I am in fourth grade and I love this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2010

    If your a puzzle lover than read this book along with the first.

    The novel "the puzzling world of Winston Breen: the potato chip puzzles" by Eric Berlin is about a boy named Winston who loves doing Puzzles. The story takes place during Winston's summer vacation One-day Winston's school was invited to a puzzle contest. The school principal gave Winston a card. He needed solve a puzzle to figure out what the card said. On the day of the puzzle contest [which was the first day of summer vacation] Winston's puzzle team went to Simons snack food, [the host of the puzzle contest] for the rules and the location of the first puzzle. The information was on the computer that Simon gave them. When Winston's team was trying to leave the Simons snack food parking lot their car got a flat tire, which puts them behind. When they got to the first of six puzzles they partnered up with the greater oaks team to solve the puzzle but for the second puzzle they partnered up with the demilla academy team. When they came out of the corn maze, [the second puzzle] only Winston's team got the answer right and Demilla academy had to do the corn maze all over again. When Winston's team finished the third puzzle they figured out that there was a cheater and told every other team about it and 2 teams quit because of this cheater. Winston called ray [a retired policeman] with Mr. Garvey's cell phone to ask him to track a mysterious phone call earlier in the Week. The mysterious phone call asked if Winston was going to the puzzle contest. A few hours later ray called back saying it was Brendon root [a player on the west meadow team] that called him. Winston's team broke their computer by accident but when they got their answer they had to submit it on the greater oaks computer and promised to give them half of the money if they won but it was to late. The winner of the contest was the west meadow team but the cheater was the teacher of the west meadow team. The west meadow team did not get the money because their teacher cheated. Winston's team won the contest but got half since they promised to give the other half to the greater oaks team. Every team but the 2 teams that quit went to MR. Simon's barbeque The book had many positives and negatives. The first thing that I liked in the book is that it had a great theme to it. The next thing that I liked was that it had lots of interesting characters. The final thing I liked was how it gave puzzles for the reader to solve. I did have things in the book that I didn't like too. The first thing I didn't like was that there was a cheater that gave flat tires, and other bad things. Another reason is Mr. Garvey wanted to put 2 of his math experts in the puzzle contest instead of Winston's friends to complete the puzzles faster so they could win. The last thing I didn't like was that the author did not give more information about Winston jake and mal like age, grade, etc. those were some of the many positives and negatives in this book. I would recommend this book to any puzzle lover. One reason is because the 3 friends are very interesting. Another reason is you will not want to stop reading the novel because the ending will surprise you. The final reason is the theme of the story is very interesting because it is set at varies locations. Some of the many similar novels I would recommend are the golly whopper games by Jody Feldman, the puzzling world of Winston Breen by Eric Berlin, the green magician puzzle by Susan Pearson and Gioia Fiammenghi, and finally the westing games.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    Great book

    This book totally deserves 5 stars, amazing with redherrings and puzzles that make u go out of your mind to solve them, i think that u, especally if u r a puzzle lover will enjoy this book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    ?

    Most people said that this book stinks. Why?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2012

    Great!!!!!

    The only problem is the the answers might say page 230 but there only about 160 pages

    utherwise is an amazing book

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    Awsome Book

    This was an awsome book. # 1

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    Yeah

    This book is freakin awesome as heck

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    ?........

    ?.........

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Yet another fantastic mystery for puzzle lovers!

    This follow up to "The Puzzling World of Winston Breen" is fantastic! There are puzzles throughout the story that are fun to solve. The story contains great action, characters, mystery, and fun. A must read!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2013

    This book

    Ate me out

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1