BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Potent Pleasures (Pleasures Trilogy Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 107 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(36)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Loved this book

Potent Pleasures is a great read!!!!! A page turner, romance, sensual, funny, characters are great!!!!!!!!

posted by c21joanneb on February 20, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Her other books are much better

I could get past the historical inaccuracies if the hero hadn't been so emotionally and verbally abusive. That isn't love and I don't care what kind of past a man has that gives him an excuse in his mind for that kind of behavior. He obviously didn't like or respect w...
I could get past the historical inaccuracies if the hero hadn't been so emotionally and verbally abusive. That isn't love and I don't care what kind of past a man has that gives him an excuse in his mind for that kind of behavior. He obviously didn't like or respect women in general. Then he leaves his very young daughter, who has such extreme separation anxiety that he won't leave her for one waking moment, and heads to Scotland without even telling her goodbye. What a great dad. But all of this behavior is okay because he feels really bad about it afterward. Typical abuser mentality which is only reinforced by his doormat of a wife who keeps instantly forgiving him for his abuse. This is not a romance, it is a sad cautionary tale on dysfunctional relationships. Ms. James has written many books that I do like but this is not one of them.

posted by KristinTX on March 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 109 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2011

    Her other books are much better

    I could get past the historical inaccuracies if the hero hadn't been so emotionally and verbally abusive. That isn't love and I don't care what kind of past a man has that gives him an excuse in his mind for that kind of behavior. He obviously didn't like or respect women in general. Then he leaves his very young daughter, who has such extreme separation anxiety that he won't leave her for one waking moment, and heads to Scotland without even telling her goodbye. What a great dad. But all of this behavior is okay because he feels really bad about it afterward. Typical abuser mentality which is only reinforced by his doormat of a wife who keeps instantly forgiving him for his abuse. This is not a romance, it is a sad cautionary tale on dysfunctional relationships. Ms. James has written many books that I do like but this is not one of them.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    While this was an enjoyable read, there was far too much in the

    While this was an enjoyable read, there was far too much in the way of easily-avoidable misunderstandings and contrivances to warrant anything about two stars, in my opinion.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    Not Her Best - Unlikable Hero/Heroine

    I really like some of Eloisa James' other works, but I couldn't get into this one. It started out strong, but I found myself unable to like or care about Charlotte or Alex. Their relationship was too contrived, too unbelievable. Disappointing.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2004

    Not my kinda guy

    I gave this two stars, not one, because I thought the writing was excellent. I couldn't give it any more than that because the hero was repellant--vile outbursts of verbal abuse, always willing, even eager, to believe the worst of the heroine--and she just kept coming back for more.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2011

    i like it

    i liked the books endjng but the guy is a total jerk he calls his wife notty things on their weddng what a jerk if i were charlotte i wudnt of forgivin bim but either than tnat it was a cute storie:)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Loved this book

    Potent Pleasures is a great read!!!!! A page turner, romance, sensual, funny, characters are great!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2006

    A bit too long

    I thought the book was too long. I'm actually a very big fan of longer books, especially Diana Gabaldon's Outlander series. But the problem with this book is that too much time is spent on periphery characters who don't matter. The first few pages are spent describing Charlotte's friend Julia, which would be fine if she were more integral to the story. But she's just the catalyst that allows Charlotte and Alex to meet. Also, the beginning is just a bit hard to get into. Charlotte was so restless and all she cared about was painting her fruit. It was only when she knew her life needed a change that the book started to really pick up. The sparks between Alex and Charlotte were so amazing. It was such an intensely dramatic story. It wasn't as romantic as I would have liked because Alex had such a terrible distrust of women. Some of the things he said to Charlotte were awful. But he was a really tormented soul. Charlotte may have forgiven him a bit too easily but that's the nature of love. And he does feel intensely guilty once he knows he was wrong about her.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2005

    Potent Pleasures

    This was a definite page-turner, but the hero, Alexander Foakes, whom I tried to like,was just so mean. Charlotte was clearly terrified of him, as any woman would have been. Charlotte, however, was lovely.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    Loved it!

    Wonderful story! Only downfall was that Charlotte's quick forgiveness, not once but twice, is a bit unbelievable. I still loved the book! Eloisa James is an incredible author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2013

    Beware of Masked Balls in old buildings...

    A masked ball,a young woman,alcohol,and a masked gentleman. Perfect ingredients for love. Just takes a while... All 3 books in the series are FABULOUS!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    Very Good Plot

    Just when you think things are going well -- things get complicated again! I'm looking forward to reading the next two books in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2013

    Read it years ago

    Its still ok

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    Nor the usual for Eloisa

    There was too much sub writing of the other characters thoughts. It made the writing seem scattered.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    Jtu

    Kti
    Hu

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    Terrible

    Bleeh

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    Well written

    Could not relate either to characters or the situations they got themselves into.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    I have to admit I was pleasantly surprised to have enjoyed this

    I have to admit I was pleasantly surprised to have enjoyed this book...especially after the many negative comments I read about the 
    main characters.  The majority of the book was about the "chase".  Alex trying to get Charlotte to marry him.
    I can't completely agree with all the reviews about Alex and Charlotte.   Alex does overreact and says things (he later
    regrets) in anger.  Getting angry and overreacting is a very HUMAN flaw.  Do I think he could use some anger management skills?  Yes.
    Do I think he's mentally abusive?  No.   Did I think Charlotte forgave him a little to easily?  Yes.  But did I think he doesn't deserve to be
    forgiven?  NO!  I just think she should have made him grovel a little more.  I thought Charlotte was sweet and STRONG. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    Read the series

    Love Eloisa James' books. Loved Alex even when he was being such an idiot!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    Great story

    Alex and Charlotte's story is both highly rewarding to read and frustrating (in a good way). You know they will work out their misunderstandings with each other (obviously since it is a romance novel), but sometimes it feels like they never will. Their relationship is one of my favorites from Eloisa James. You get to follow them through the rest of the trilogy as well. Great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2011

    Fantastic read!

    One of my very favorite authors. The rest of the series is quite good as well.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 109 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6