Customer Reviews for

The Potluck Club (The Potluck Club Book #1): A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 65 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    The PotLuck Club

    Good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2011

    Loved it!!!!

    Loved this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2011

    Fun Read

    I was sucked into reading this book through a book club. I wasn't much into it at first but was pleasantly surprised very quickly into the read. The characters are very "Steel Magnolia's" meets the church lady's in your own community. I recommend a cozy sofa, some tea and several hours of free time...you'll want to keep reading this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2009

    The Potluck Club, very enjoyable.

    The book is an easy, fun read. There are some ideas in the book that are very thought provoking and comforting. Some of the characters you click with right away and all of them have been someone you have known personally in your life. I haven't tried any of the recipes yet but am planning to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Books about food are always good

    I've always been the type of person that enjoys a good book when eating. Somehow reading a book about food always makes the meal tastier even if what I'm reading isn't what I'm eating. 'The Potluck Club' is another one of those great eating/reading books. It even comes complete with recipes from the dishes mentioned in the story in case you get a hankering for beef brisket, cinnamon rolls or broccoli casserole. I really enjoyed this book. It gave the story from many different angles, with the characters all have different personalities. The premise of the story deals with a group of women meeting together for prayer and potluck. The women are real, experiencing funny and heartbreaking events together. Each character has a background story that they try to keep secret from the others. I am very glad that the book did not fault Goldie for her decision in her situation with her husband. Other books would have let the matter slide by or have Goldie give in. My favorite scene in the book dealt with a certain bear and a chocolate cake. I had to put the book down because I was laughing so hard. (Of course if I had been in that situation I wouldn't be.) My only complaint was the character of Clay. I'm not sure why his viewpoint is in the story. I understand he's a newspaper journalisty trying to get a story for the paper, but he just came across as annoying, nosy, and stalkerish. I also hope the conflict with Lisa Leann and Evangeline is either resovled or more fleshed out. This is a good book for women, perfect for a book club to read and discuss over a potluck! and yes! the library just got book 2 in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I really enjoyed this one!

    It's my understanding that a sequel is coming out this summer. I can't wait! So I'm a bit behind schedule, but this story was so unique and so interesting that it kept me reading and smiling all the way. The characters were so real I hated to see the story end. I have a special place in my heart for Vonnie in particular because she was so hurt by what her mother had done to her. Her poor husband is stunned. I feel for him, too. Oh, and that Lisa Leann chick, boy is she something. LOL! I pray the Lord does a mighty work in her heart. I hope that the sequel shows some resolution in Goldie's life as well as Donna's. From the blurb on the back of this book it sounds like trouble is brewing again and this time Donna's secret will come out. Mercy, this stuff is good. I am a fan of the potluck club forevermore. What a great concept to get some church gossips together and have God reach down and touch them all...one heart at a time. :) Highly recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2006

    A heart-warming look at coping with real life

    The Potluck Club began as a twosome, just kitchen-phobic old maid Evangeline Benson and her lifelong friend, Ruth Ann McDonald. They met once a month, in their small town of Summit View, Colorado, for gossip, goulash, and a dash of prayer. Then Evangeline¿s biggest prayer wasn¿t answered, and Ruth Ann died of cancer. Now Evangeline has taken on the presidency of the group, and the Potluck Club has expanded to six women who share prayer, recipes, and social time, not necessarily in that order. Unfortunately, the stews this club creates don¿t always include meat and vegetables. What begins as a light-hearted jaunt through small-town U.S.A.¿s daily happenings turns serious as the six members of the Potluck Club each face real-life issues, including grief, marital problems, serious illness, and family troubles. One member¿s past confronts her, and she must decide what to do about a secret she¿s harbored for years. Another member is determined to take over leadership of the club, by force if necessary. And Evangeline has to figure out what to do when her childhood sweetheart wants another chance. Along the way, Clay Whitefield, the local journalist, and a man determined to expose the secrets of the Potluck Club, stirs the mix by giving his insights into each of the women¿s personalities. Authors Linda Evans Shepherd and Eva Marie Everson weave in a subtle spiritual thread as the Potluckers realize they have put God on the back burner of their cooking club. Through their friendships and the crises they face, each realizes what has interfered with her relationship with the Lord and overcomes her personal stumbling block to draw closer to Him. At first, I was tempted to dismiss this book as being too frivolous, because I¿m not a big fan of warm and fuzzy women¿s gatherings. Then I found the six women¿s first-person points of view, plus excerpts from Clay Whitefield¿s journal, confusing. However, after a few chapters, I realized each one started with the point of view character¿s name. Once I knew whose thoughts I was reading and whose perspective I was seeing, the conversational tone of the book pulled me right in, and I had a hard time putting it down. In fact, I stayed up way too late one night because I wanted to finish the book. At the end of the book, Shepherd and Everson provide a feast of fantastic recipes for everything from Chai tea to Cheese Enchiladas. They also give a sneak peek of their next book in the series, due out next year. And in a last entry at the back, journalist Clay Whitefield hints that the deepest secret of all has not yet been revealed. I look forward to another heaping helping of the Potluck Club¿s adventures in the summer of 2006!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2005

    Excellent Repast

    The Potluck Club is a delightful book filled with real life sorrows and joys, down-to-earth wisdom, and some really scrumptious recipes. It kept me guessing about the outcome, so of course I had to keep turning pages. Linda Evans Shepherd and Eva Marie Everson do not disappoint the reader with this excellent story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2005

    Delicious!

    Everyone has a story. And the six women of postcard perfect Summit View certainly share theirs in The Potluck Club. Funny, honest and heartwarming, this club takes on every prayable need thrown at them, even if it isn¿t the most selfless way to go about it¿from marriages (or lack there of), to visions of grandeur, to long held secrets, to life and death¿they cover every delectable course. The first-person point of view per chapter allows the reader to get to know each member of the club and genuinely care, often to the point of wanting to laugh, cry, and hold one and all in a sisterly embrace. Women (and even men, but don¿t tell) of all ages will relate to these gals. Not all books order a sequel, but The Potluck Club is ready for its second helping. Highly recommended, The Potluck Club makes a wonderful read on its own but, like any great smorgasbord, when shared with friends, the joy is multiplied.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2005

    Bob Appetit!

    Six women¿six lives with problems and secrets. When the women of the Potluck Club meet monthly in Summit View, Colorado they¿re tested by more than just what to prepare for the meeting. As their friendships develop, they¿re tested to accept, with Grace, the things about each other that are hard to swallow. The authors have cooked up a wonderful casserole of characters sure to please even readers with the most discriminating taste. Each chapter is written from the point of view of a different member of the club. Sure to be a delight with a strong Spiritual thread baked in. Highly recommend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2005

    Delightfully Delectable!

    Delicious characters build a wonderfully entertaining, ¿grab you and pull you in¿ story from minute one in THE POTLUCK CLUB. I was captivated by the mysteries and milestones, victories and frustrations, lives and friendships and all their magnificent complexities¿all folded together in some interesting and beautifully quirky characters (I immediately fell in love with them). The Potluck Club was a delight to read! I can¿t wait for the next course!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2