Customer Reviews for

The Power

Average Rating 3.5
( 313 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(129)

4 Star

(51)

3 Star

(64)

2 Star

(43)

1 Star

(26)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

22 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

In One Word--Amazing!

I am trying to figure out how anyone can give a poor review to a book that hasn't even been released. If this book is anything like The Secret, I know I will be pleased. In the mean time, I recommend "When God Stopped Keeping Score." Check it out here on BN.com.

posted by The_Book_Mom on July 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

20 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

Good for you

Hello all,

Let me start out by saying that if this books helps you, and makes your life better in some way I simply say: good for you! You go out, and get this "power" and integrate it into your life. Awesome. --> no sarcasm, completely serious, no judgement on my...
Hello all,

Let me start out by saying that if this books helps you, and makes your life better in some way I simply say: good for you! You go out, and get this "power" and integrate it into your life. Awesome. --> no sarcasm, completely serious, no judgement on my part about your philosophical leanings, and how you go about finding what you need.

NOW-on to my opinion about this title, and about the author in general. I think that "the secret" and "the power" really boil down to the same dogmatic beliefs that religions across the world have been preaching for hundreds of years now. All this woman did is repackage the karma ideology for the secret ala be a good person, and good things will happen to you... and the idea of believing in yourself, and praying for what you wish to have for yourself in your life.

Rhonda Byrne has not said a single thing I did not already know... and I personally find the more traditional outlet (of a church setting) more inviting than reading from her books, and wishing something to happen.

I have a very full and blessed life, and will certainly continue on as a self proclaimed solider of God by volunteering when I can, and using my work as a way to help as many people as possible (I work for several nonprofits).

All in all, I think that these books are just a gimmicky marketing scheme, and I personally dislike them. HOWEVER-as previously stated-if you find something useful from them, more POWER to you.

posted by Literary_AMP on August 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 315 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 16
  • Posted July 4, 2011

    Priceless

    Heart and Soul resounds to truth. I continue to read and reread the information in this book. Enjoy

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2011

    I'm telling everyone that I know to read this book!

    This has got to be one of the best books that I've ever read! The things that she writes are profound, deep and true. I know that this book will change my life for the better. Thank you, Rhonda! :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    Inspiring. Read it and put it to test. It really works.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    LOVED IT!!!!!!

    I think that this book is vary good. There are parts of the book that are the from the secret but it helps to be able to read then do some of the things in there. For those that have a hard time visulizing this book helps a ton. Thanks Rhonda Byrne for both books!!!!! Happy Thoughts Create A Happy Life!!!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2014

    Doesn't download?

    It says technical difficulties?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2014

    Great book!

    This was my intro to the law of attraction. Great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2013

    Awesome

    I think .. we should copy the reviews of the secret to here ! I loved it like the secret though

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2013

    I've had my copy of The Power since 2008. So far, it's the only

    I've had my copy of The Power since 2008. So far, it's the only book that I made sure I read at least once a year. And every time I do so, I learn something new. I guess an additional year of experiences allowed me to pinpoint the applicability and the truth in what this book is espousing. Power of attracting what is good is really possible when you apply love and gratitude. The more gratitude and love you pour into something, the more it comes back to you.
    I really love this book. I feel everyone who wants a positive change in their lives should read this.
    Apart from the great content, this book also has great illustrations, layout and flow.
    Thank you Rhonda Byrne for sharing your knowledge and for writing this book. Thank you! Thank you! Thank you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2012

    A daily must read

    Inspirational daily read, im reading it for the third time now

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    Best of the three

    I've read the Secret and the Magic, and this book is, by far, the best of the three. Don't really need to read the other two; all the concepts are presented in this one - clearly and with enough detail to be very helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Amazing

    This book makes you rethink and re evaluate you will look at everything differently one of the most important reads I have ever had the pleasure of encountering

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2011

    All you need is love!

    This is a wonderfull ,wonderfull book....open your heart and just be....feel it , be it, its all here! Peace and love.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2011

    We have a problem

    Power outage. You fool

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2011

    You do not nee this book.

    The only true force in the universe is 'God' the maker of Heaven and Earth. There is no force and no secret that gives us what we want. Everything is given by our Father in Heaven. Not because I tell him to give me what I want or by some law of attraction. Please stop selling this garbage and taking advantage of people who are troubled or weary an are looking for quick answers!

    0 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2011

    love

    This book opened my eyes. I feel more intuned eith myself and god.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2011

    no credibility

    The Secret takes influences from Christianity and Hinduism painfully out of context, the authors were either dishonest or just ignorant. No credibility. Its shameful that the cult of oprah is pushing this midlife crises nonsense.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2010

    Use the force!!

    This is an old idea that was originally conceived by the Jedi in Star Wars. I cant believe anyone can make money creating a book like this.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2010

    Isn't This Just Like The Secret Part II?

    While on the surface this book seems to extend everything that we learned in "The Secret." Yet, in reality, this book is about so much more. The Secret was just the beginning. This shows us how to unleash that power. Buy it! I'd also recommend that you buy "When God Stopped Keeping Score." an intimate look at the power of God and forgiveness. Given the chance, it too could change your life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2010

    This book changed my life!

    How could you not love this book? I read and listen to books like this constantly and this is my favorite. Keep it up Rhonda.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2010

    Good theory, practice found elsewhere.

    I really like the general theory of this book (as "The Secret"), what I was missing however were practical exercises to shift my thoughts to more positive thoughts. But finaly I found great mental exercises in "Read Me - I Am Magical". If you get one you have to get the other!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 315 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 16