Customer Reviews for

Power Adapter for NOOK GlowLight and NOOK Simple Touch

Average Rating 3.5
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

23 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

Good, but you may already have an adapter that will work.

As one of the reviewer's commented below, you may already have an adapter on hand that will work. My LG phone charge adapter with USB port worked just fine. Before I tried the LG adapter, I checked the output voltage listed on the adapter, and it said 5.1 volts. 5 volts...
As one of the reviewer's commented below, you may already have an adapter on hand that will work. My LG phone charge adapter with USB port worked just fine. Before I tried the LG adapter, I checked the output voltage listed on the adapter, and it said 5.1 volts. 5 volts is typical for these USB charge adapters. This type adapter gives you a little more flexibility and convenience as far as charging locations. Plus, using a computer USB port to charge your Nook can be problematic since many computers do not provide a charge to the USB ports when in "sleep" or a low power mode. This adapter does not come standard with the Simple Touch. All you get with the Nook is the chord with the USB plug on one end (to connect to computer), and micro USB plug on the other end (to connect to the Nook). So if you don't already have an adapter that will work, I recommend buying the Nook adapter for the above stated reasons.

posted by 10457647 on January 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

52 out of 52 people found this review helpful.

A very simple AC to USB 5V converter.

This is a very simple AC to USB 5V converter: It simply plugs into your AC outlet or power strip and proves a 5V USB power-only port.

Needless to say, if you have a collection of these power adapters adapters used with charging e-cigarettes or digital video-recording...
This is a very simple AC to USB 5V converter: It simply plugs into your AC outlet or power strip and proves a 5V USB power-only port.

Needless to say, if you have a collection of these power adapters adapters used with charging e-cigarettes or digital video-recording microcams then buying this is unnecessary. The USB cable provided with the Nook (Micro-B plug that connects to the Nook Simple Touch, for example) works well even without a Nook-branded AC-to-5V USB converter. And you can do the reverse: Use it to charge your e-cigs, microcams, etc. that charge via USB.

If you don't have such a power converter then buy this. If you already have a converter then you don't need this.

posted by BekkiDoll on December 16, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 39 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 2
  • Posted May 10, 2013

    we bought 3 Nook Simple Touch in one year as Christmas gifts for

    we bought 3 Nook Simple Touch in one year as Christmas gifts for kids in our family. 2 of them came with the adaptor and one did not so ......depends on when you purchase and when it was packaged. Not that one was missing it because the owners manuals even said included or sold separately.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    This little adapter did NOT come with my Nook, but it's cheap en

    This little adapter did NOT come with my Nook, but it's cheap enough to pick up, and it works just exactly as it should.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2012

    Great screen, easy to use. But 8/5/12 anonymous post must be the

    Great screen, easy to use. But 8/5/12 anonymous post must be the only one who got a charger along with the NOOK. I bought it last month and it had only the USB cable. However, that worked fine with an old 5V cell phone wall charger, just as others have noted.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2014

    First I feel B&N are cheap for not providing one when you pu

    First I feel B&N are cheap for not providing one when you purchase a nook, even Apple gives you a charger.  While I realize I can charge it via a computer, you do indeed need the B&N nook charger - if you plan to charge via wall.  I tried using another charger and it fried my nook.  I also know several others who did that as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2014

    I found one on Ebay for under $2 bucks brand new with free shipp

    I found one on Ebay for under $2 bucks brand new with free shipping.  Problem solved.  I refuse to pay B&N $10 bucks for something that should have been included in the first place. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    Just got the Simple Touch for Christmas. NO ADAPTER! But then it

    Just got the Simple Touch for Christmas. NO ADAPTER! But then it said it was optional in the guide. So, no complaints here. Got to figure out how to use it. Seems great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2013

    I just bought a GlowLight and now am expected to go out and buy

    I just bought a GlowLight and now am expected to go out and buy one of these for AC charging! One came already packaged with my Nook HD+, why not with the GlowLight? CHEAP Barnes & Noble! Why do you expect people to have to buy the AC Adapter as an "accessory"? It SHOULD be included with the GlowLight! It's only $9.95, for crying out loud. Would it break your bank to include it? (I only bought the GlowLight because my HD+ has something wrong with it and I may have to return it - which takes 2 weeks to get it tested, fixed or a new one sent.) I read ALL day, so I wanted to be prepared if I have to send the HD+ back.
    This is really irritating, and so out of character for a classy company like Barnes & Noble!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    Do not return this adapter if you have to return the Nook. I was

    Do not return this adapter if you have to return the Nook. I was told to and one month and 5phone calls later I still do not have the adapters returned. Two nooks went bad, the we're returned and are working fine. Now if I just had the adapters so I can charge them at Hospital waiting room!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2013

    I love my Nook but there was only the USB charger with mine.  My

    I love my Nook but there was only the USB charger with mine.  My cellphone charger and e-cigs, etc.do not
    fit.  I simply cannot use my computer while the Nook is charging because it screws up the Nook, the computer 
    and probably even the t.v.  LOL.  I, too had an empty compartment in the original packaging.  We registered the
    darn thing, why not get in touch and give us a free one.  $10 plus shipping?  Crazy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    It's the greatest thing ever.

    It's the greatest thing ever.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2012

    It is worth the money now that I have a NOOK and can get them on

    It is worth the money now that I have a NOOK and can get them on my computer or on mu NOOK.
    I can shop without having to go to the store.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2012

    I am no longer a "spring chick" and do not understand

    I am no longer a "spring chick" and do not understand all of the "add-ons". It would be extremely helpful if each nook came with everything that was needed to charge the nook from any method. I would like to order the new nook but I am not sure what I need to order in addition to what is enclosed with the nook when it is purchased. I have some items from my current nook and need to know if all of the "add-ons" I previously purchased are interchangeable with the new nook.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 39 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 2