Power Adapter for NOOK GlowLight and NOOK Simple Touch

3.6 40
     
 
  • Alternative view 1 of Power Adapter for NOOK GlowLight and NOOK Simple Touch
  • Alternative view 2 of Power Adapter for NOOK GlowLight and NOOK Simple Touch
  • Alternative view 3 of Power Adapter for NOOK GlowLight and NOOK Simple Touch
  • Alternative view 4 of Power Adapter for NOOK GlowLight and NOOK Simple Touch
<Previous >Next
Power Adapter for NOOK GlowLight and NOOK Simple Touch

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

(not included) 3.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 40 reviews.
BekkiDoll More than 1 year ago
This is a very simple AC to USB 5V converter: It simply plugs into your AC outlet or power strip and proves a 5V USB power-only port. Needless to say, if you have a collection of these power adapters adapters used with charging e-cigarettes or digital video-recording microcams then buying this is unnecessary. The USB cable provided with the Nook (Micro-B plug that connects to the Nook Simple Touch, for example) works well even without a Nook-branded AC-to-5V USB converter. And you can do the reverse: Use it to charge your e-cigs, microcams, etc. that charge via USB. If you don't have such a power converter then buy this. If you already have a converter then you don't need this.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As one of the reviewer's commented below, you may already have an adapter on hand that will work. My LG phone charge adapter with USB port worked just fine. Before I tried the LG adapter, I checked the output voltage listed on the adapter, and it said 5.1 volts. 5 volts is typical for these USB charge adapters. This type adapter gives you a little more flexibility and convenience as far as charging locations. Plus, using a computer USB port to charge your Nook can be problematic since many computers do not provide a charge to the USB ports when in "sleep" or a low power mode. This adapter does not come standard with the Simple Touch. All you get with the Nook is the chord with the USB plug on one end (to connect to computer), and micro USB plug on the other end (to connect to the Nook). So if you don't already have an adapter that will work, I recommend buying the Nook adapter for the above stated reasons.
MarltonReader More than 1 year ago
My Simple Touch only came with the USB cable. When you need to charge your Touch via this cable, it is in USB Mode and you cannot Use your Touch. The screen is locked up. If you use the Adapter, official Nook or another 5V wall adapter, you can then charge and still read. If you don't already have a 5V adapter, then it is worth the purchase. But I can't for the life of me understand why it is not included in the first place.
camarossrs More than 1 year ago
This adapter DOES NOT come with the Nook Simple Touch. If you have one from your Ipod or Iphone, or any device that uses a USB plug, they will work. For less than 10 bucks, it's not only cheap, but essential if you want to charge your Nook from a wall outlet instead of your computer.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
No, it did not come with the Nook Simple Touch. Just bought one (Dec 2012) and DID NOT get the adapter in the box - only the cable.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Well, in case anyone is wondering, there is a few people who have written an older review here for this adapter plug saying that it didn't come with it when they bought the simple touch which it may not have when they first came out. I just wanted to post this here letting people know that this plug does indeed come with the simple touch as of the date i'm posting this. I just bought one today 8/04/12, brand new in the box, and it is packaged neatly in the bottom portion of the box, right next to the USB cable. So, just to clear up maybe a little confusion for anyone that's about to buy a simple touch and was wondering if this comes with them, then yes they do. Also, like others have suggested, you can use other plugs as well if you happen to have one, it is not absolutely necessary to use this specific plug. Thanks :)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This works great with my Nook Simple Touch!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
After reading the reviews I noticed a couple of people said their adapter was included when they purchased their NOOK'S. I checked the packaging thoroughly, nothing was there. Makes me wonder. . . is there a mistake during packaging or something.
Nook-Lover1 More than 1 year ago
I'm confused. My NOOK came with a wall plug in the accessories compartment at the bottom of the box. Is B&amp;N just selling this for nonsense. It should come with one.
jegg More than 1 year ago
My mother just bought the Nook Simple Touch today and it did NOT include an adapter, but I have several 5v power adapters that I tested with it and work just fine, so no need to buy this.
UncleMikey More than 1 year ago
Well to me it doesn't matter if any USB charger will work. I want the Barnes and Noble charger that matches my Nook, not to mention I love B&amp;N and will support them whenever I can!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I found one on Ebay for under $2 bucks brand new with free shipping.  Problem solved.  I refuse to pay B&amp;N $10 bucks for something that should have been included in the first place. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Well I guess those that received an adapter with their Nook were the lucky ones. I just purchased mine today, 2/18/2013 and did NOT receive an adapter. There is a place in the packaging for one, but instructions claim it is an optional part. I'm hoping my cell phone charger will do the trick as others have stated.
darlene1221 More than 1 year ago
my nook came with the adaptor already, must be the new packagings do not include them, I god my color nook as a x-mas gift last year and it came with the usb and adaptor.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I just bought a GlowLight and now am expected to go out and buy one of these for AC charging! One came already packaged with my Nook HD+, why not with the GlowLight? CHEAP Barnes &amp; Noble! Why do you expect people to have to buy the AC Adapter as an &quot;accessory&quot;? It SHOULD be included with the GlowLight! It's only $9.95, for crying out loud. Would it break your bank to include it? (I only bought the GlowLight because my HD+ has something wrong with it and I may have to return it - which takes 2 weeks to get it tested, fixed or a new one sent.) I read ALL day, so I wanted to be prepared if I have to send the HD+ back. This is really irritating, and so out of character for a classy company like Barnes &amp; Noble!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Just noticed that my cell phone charger and my iPod charger are both 5V chargers and have USB connections......just may want to consider not buying yet one more 5V charger. Be sure to check your charger closely before using one not made for Nook. (I feel I way-over-paid for my iPod charger).
Mary-L-Santee More than 1 year ago
we bought 3 Nook Simple Touch in one year as Christmas gifts for kids in our family. 2 of them came with the adaptor and one did not so ......depends on when you purchase and when it was packaged. Not that one was missing it because the owners manuals even said included or sold separately.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This little adapter did NOT come with my Nook, but it's cheap enough to pick up, and it works just exactly as it should.
mtairynat More than 1 year ago
Great screen, easy to use. But 8/5/12 anonymous post must be the only one who got a charger along with the NOOK. I bought it last month and it had only the USB cable. However, that worked fine with an old 5V cell phone wall charger, just as others have noted.
JBUMP More than 1 year ago
My Nook came with the adapter and it works fine. It is a really simple thing to use. If your Mommy didn't tell you right get back in school.
LW52 More than 1 year ago
I bought a Nook Glow Light and was really disappointed to only find the cable and told that I had 2 options, either charge it while connected to my computer or Buy a Charger. No way! My Nook tablet came with a charger and I read that I should not use it or any other non-Nook Glow Light charger with my Nook Glow Light. After some research online, I discovered that all USB chargers are 5 volts and that all are interchangeable. Turns out my Nook Tablet charger has the same specifications as the Glow Light charging kit, so Barnes& Noble just wants to make a few extra bucks off your $100 plus purchase. I can also plug either of my nooks or my phone into my surge protector that has 2 USB charging ports (5 volts, 2.1 amp).
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
First I feel B&amp;N are cheap for not providing one when you purchase a nook, even Apple gives you a charger.  While I realize I can charge it via a computer, you do indeed need the B&amp;N nook charger - if you plan to charge via wall.  I tried using another charger and it fried my nook.  I also know several others who did that as well.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Just got the Simple Touch for Christmas. NO ADAPTER! But then it said it was optional in the guide. So, no complaints here. Got to figure out how to use it. Seems great!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Do not return this adapter if you have to return the Nook. I was told to and one month and 5phone calls later I still do not have the adapters returned. Two nooks went bad, the we're returned and are working fine. Now if I just had the adapters so I can charge them at Hospital waiting room!!!!!!
Brandyjan249 More than 1 year ago
I love my Nook but there was only the USB charger with mine.  My cellphone charger and e-cigs, etc.do not fit.  I simply cannot use my computer while the Nook is charging because it screws up the Nook, the computer  and probably even the t.v.  LOL.  I, too had an empty compartment in the original packaging.  We registered the darn thing, why not get in touch and give us a free one.  $10 plus shipping?  Crazy.