BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Power Down (Dewey Andreas Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 168 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(86)

4 Star

(50)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Awesome!!!

This book was so fast paced and action packed with lot's of suspense and thrills that I couldn't put the book down. It is definitely a book the reader will be talking about for quite a while afterwards. I am very happy to have won such a great book on Goodreads book giv...
This book was so fast paced and action packed with lot's of suspense and thrills that I couldn't put the book down. It is definitely a book the reader will be talking about for quite a while afterwards. I am very happy to have won such a great book on Goodreads book give-away. Big thumbs up to Ben Coes and I look forward to his next title.

posted by T-Bones on October 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Just OK.

You'll need a spreadsheet to keep track of all the characters. Apparently the author couldn't decide which of the many characters he wanted to be the hero so he devoted equal time to several of them. In sevetal spots you'll wonder where the main character (Dewey Andreas...
You'll need a spreadsheet to keep track of all the characters. Apparently the author couldn't decide which of the many characters he wanted to be the hero so he devoted equal time to several of them. In sevetal spots you'll wonder where the main character (Dewey Andreas) is and what he's doing. I won't be back for more from this author.

posted by ne14abeer on April 3, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 168 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted October 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome!!!

    This book was so fast paced and action packed with lot's of suspense and thrills that I couldn't put the book down. It is definitely a book the reader will be talking about for quite a while afterwards. I am very happy to have won such a great book on Goodreads book give-away. Big thumbs up to Ben Coes and I look forward to his next title.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    non-stop action of terrorists attacking energy sources

    "WOW" is the first word I can think of for Power Down. Ben Coes keeps the action going so fast and furious that the reader has to look behind to be sure no one is following him or her. The story is very plausible with the energy problems of our world and with so many searching for an alternative to oil, coal, and nuclear sources. When one of the largest oil fields in the world, Capitana, in the Pacific Ocean, suffers a complete terrorist disaster, followed by one of the largest sources of electricity, the Savage Island project in Canada, being obliterated, the governments of the world know there is deep trouble ahead for their energy. What and who wiped out these huge sources of energy so easily and so completely without any warning?

    Almost immediately the Asian workers were suspected, separated, and in some cases isolated to another location. The onsite head of the Capitana's project, Dewey Andreas, had been a rough, tough Delta member of the military and Dewey took no guff from his crew. But, being so experienced working with all kinds of men, he could easily sense when something was wrong. He kept as close an eye on the troublemakers as he could but the Asians just wanted to fight and, on a huge oilrig such as Capitana, there was no shortage of others that would fight back. All this trouble preceded the obliteration of the entire platform with Dewey and others fighting to save every life possible after the inferno. The Savage Island project was having many personnel problems also. When information was discovered that it was going to be obliterated, Terry Savoy, one of the project heads, ordered evacuation of the entire area while some employees searched for the bomb or whatever was the apparatus that was the danger.

    The fifth largest energy company in the world, Anson Energy, was "not for sale" declared Nicholas Anson no matter who wanted to buy it and no matter the sale price. KKB Corporation wanted Anson Energy and made an offer that Anson couldn't pass up. Ted Marks, head of KKB, and Anson became close friends after the buyout. It seems money does talk! Both companies seemed to form a perfect fit since both were committed to produce energy from United States sources only. No more imported oil when production got going full blast.

    Who was trying, and seemingly succeeding in destroying these huge projects and hurting American energy sources? Who was capable? I can't possibly write in the same descriptive way that the author did in producing all of the above action. The danger to all those involved in the investigation got worse every day. All of the United States government agencies entered the search for anything connected to what was ongoing. An attempt was made on Marks and Anson's life giving Dewey the suspicion that someone was a mole in the government since so many things were going awry in the investigation. Of the many agencies involved in the investigation of what had already occurred and the fear of what might happen, the trust level was down to zero not knowing who was giving or selling information that was giving away the whereabouts of the onsite investigators and where they were next headed.

    Several characters the reader might take into their trust but still doesn't know if they were choosing properly. The President of the United States would meet with the top leaders and tell them to find out fast who was causing the losses and stop them all. You will meet, among others, Jessic

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2012

    Outstanding!

    With a story that is plausible and terrifying the hero is a welcome mix of a painful past and an interest in only one thing - getting the job done. Can't wait to read #2! Thank you for a well researched and thought-provoking book Mr. Coes.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2011

    Awesome

    I loved this book. Can't wait to read next one. If you like vince flynn or lee child you will love ben coes.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2013

    Just OK.

    You'll need a spreadsheet to keep track of all the characters. Apparently the author couldn't decide which of the many characters he wanted to be the hero so he devoted equal time to several of them. In sevetal spots you'll wonder where the main character (Dewey Andreas) is and what he's doing. I won't be back for more from this author.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2012

    Action packed

    This book reminded me a lot of vince flynn's mitch rapp series. Full of action and excitement. If you like the rapp series you'll like tgus book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    GREAT READ

    If you like military amd suspense, you will love this book! Mixture of Jack Ryan and Lucas Davenport blended with constant action of real world scenarios.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2013

    Awesome

    Awesome book. I loved this book and can't wait to read more from Coes. If you are a Vince Flynn,Marc Cameron, Brad Thor, or John Gilstrap fan, I definitely recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    A great read for anyone who enjoys action novels.

    A great read for anyone who enjoys action novels.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    Highly recommend

    I really enjoyed this fast paced and timely novel and have also read the next two books in the series. Great Hero!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2013

    A Must Read

    Cover to cover this one was hard to put down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    A great--and scary--read!

    Power Down is action-packed and very readable because much of it could be happening right now. It was hard to turn off my Nook because I was really into the story. I look forward to Dewey Andreas' next adventure.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2013

    Highly Recommend

    I am in the midst of reading this book. I have his other books and have "Eye for an Eye" on preorder. I like his hero Dewey Andreas. He is an American Hero and we could sure use more true American Heroes in today's world. I have also read his other books. They are all very interesting and exciting. I have not been bored reading Ben's Coe's books and look forward to buying more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2012

    Van

    Hey babe. U wanna be my innocent maid girl?he winks.( the maid charector is 13 and innocent )

    1 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2012

    Highly recommended for those who love action thrillers

    Great first introduction of Dewey Andreas, simply a marvelous character. The book cannot be put down. Certainly on par with Vince Flynn (and that says a lot), James Rollins, Robert Crais, Michael Connelly and so forth. What more can one say? Read it. You'll become addicted. Spent so much time in the bathroom reading my backside hurts!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2012

    Excellent read

    Thoroughly enjoyed the book, exciting and a new American hero.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Excellent & exciting!! Vince Flynn you have a buddy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2012

    You won't put it down

    One the best books I've read this year.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2012

    Not for the faint hearted.

    This new author's first book is a winner if you are looking for an American hero. I simply couldn't put this down. Reminiscent of Vince Flynn and Brad Thor with a little of Tom Clancy thrown in, this exciting book will have you holding your breath while burning through the pages. The book is NOT some futuristic plot, as the events could definitely happen here. Wonderful characters: both the good ones and the extremely bad ones. You'll love this book, if you like your heroes bold,capable and lethal.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2012

    MUST READ .

    I WAS BLOWN AWAY, COULD NOT PUT THIS BOOK DOWN. BEN COES HAS A NEW FAN, VINCE FLYNN LOOK OUT.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 168 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9