Power Kit in Carbon for NOOK GlowLight and NOOK Simple Touch

1.8 75
  • Power Kit in Carbon for NOOK GlowLight and NOOK Simple Touch
  • Power Kit in Carbon for NOOK GlowLight and NOOK Simple Touch
Power Kit in Carbon for NOOK GlowLight and NOOK Simple Touch

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network


Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Power Kit in Carbon for NOOK GlowLight and NOOK Simple Touch 1.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 75 reviews.
Rowdycat More than 1 year ago
I have had my Nook Color for only a few months, and the power cord is already separating from plug-in. The man at B & N told me that lots of people are having the same trouble. If this is so, I think you should furnish free replacements until you correct the problem. We are caught between the rock and the hard place -- the Nook won't work without the charger, and I have gotten very used to having it at hand when I need it. In addition to the fact that I put out a lot of money for the Nook Color, I don't have a lot of extra money to waste since I am retired and living on a pension. PLEASE HELP!
crumplady More than 1 year ago
I have a nook color and have had to replace the charging cord 3 times in the year since receiving it. They really need to fix the problem. It breaks at the part that plugs into the nook itself.I would highly recommend it,if this problem were fixed.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Granted electronic parts are fragile however, the point of contact on the charger is poorly constructed and as most of the other reviews state, this stops working soon after it is purchased. My problem is this, since the cord is detachable from the charger, why not just sell a replacement cord that reattaches to the charger. At $20 to replace the charger and cord, I find this to be deceptive and manipulative.
Rhea1971 More than 1 year ago
I have never been so frustrated with a product as much as I am with my Nook Color's charger.  I have been through 4 cords.  The design is such that the metal piece that you insert into the Nook snaps and you're unable to charge anymore.  No cord has lasted more than 4 months.  I'm ready to trash it and buy an iPad.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The charger cord for my nook color stopped charging. Apparently this is a very common problem that B&N has decided not to address. I would like to remind them that they have serious competition out there. Many times I have searched for a title in the Nook shop, only to find it at Amazon .. .. I feel no customer loyalty to a company that disregards its customers so blatantly. If my cord doesn't arrive in a timely manner, Kindle here I come !!!
Analeut More than 1 year ago
I wish I had read these reviews before I let my daughter talk me into a Nook Color.  I've had to replace the charger  three times for my Nook and once for the one one I got for my husband. The Nook Color itself is a piece of garbage.  I purchased my original one on 3/5/12 and had to have it replaced with a Certified Pre-Owned (meaning I got a replacement of one that already had had  problems!) By December, the replacement no longer worked either, and I was promised a NEW Nook Color since the Pre-Owned was also d defective.  Needless to say I never received a New one-or another Certified Pre-Owned one.  I was continually promised that I would receive  my NEW Nook Color in 3-5 business days and three months passed, hearing this over and over again.  They finally told me they had "lost" my account and would have to "re-build" it whatever that means!  The long and short of it is, I finally received-hold onto your seat!!-not a NEW Nook Color, but another Certified Pre-Owned one.  I was then told that if I read the fine print, they were only required to repair/replace-at their option- a defective one with a Pre-Owned one.  I'm sure this is because they have so many defective ones, they have to do something with them.  I actually got Kindles for my grandsons, and when they came to visit, one got dropped in the hot tub.  I dreaded calling-figuring I was going to have to go through the same thing as dealing with BN Customer Service-and was shocked and amazed that although I didn't have the correct information for the warranty, that within 5 (yes FIVE MINUTES!!)  Square Trade told me I would receive a replacement (NEW, not Pre-Owned) within 48 hours.  And they beat that, my grandson had his replacement by noon the next day-and I had called late evening of the previous day!  Let's see-three months vs less than 24 hours!?!  Kind of a no-brainer isn't it?  Just save yourself a lot of  time, money, and frustration, buy a Kindle, insure it with Square Trade and you'll be MUCH happier.  Surprisingly, I've not had an issue with Kndle's chargers either!  And YEs, I'm back on  BN website to replace the defective chargers AGAIN!! I 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have had my Nook for just over a year and 2 months. It has stopped charging. On contacting B&N, I was informed that I would need to purchase a new charger for $20.00. Also, before the charger quit working the battery started to require recharging after a couple hours of reading. Having read the reviews on the power cords and chargers, I think that I will invest in a defferent reading due to the fack that I read a book every 2 to 3 days and I like to have a reader I can depend on.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This will be my forth purchase of a nook charger. The store doesn't even carry them anymore for the Color (which I bought 14 months ago). I had to spend $27 on a car charger that has the right adapter and then they gave me a base that they don't even know if it works or not. My kids each have one of these so now I'm purchasing another one to stop the fighting. Seriously, I will not invest in nook again. I get that the HD is the "new thing" but my "old thing" isn't even 18 months old and not everyone upgrades the minute the next thing is out. B&N should have had a recall on this and replaced the Colors. Another misstep.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have had my Nook since last Christmas. Use it once a week. My charger has already fallen apart. Its very flimsy and I would not recommend this product due to the plugs to charge this. Its rediculous that you spend $200 and use it in the car once a week when on trip.... The plugs are shotty.. the bad thing is I took my other companies back to get a Nook... I made a wrong decision!! Poor quality in your accessories!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is my third power charger ordered. The first one came apart at the connection to the Nook. The second one broke at the same place and came apart. I hope Nook has a better on this time.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I ordered this in December still haven't received it 3 months later even though I've made several contacts and have been told it would be shipped right away. Why offer something you can't deliver?
ivonnetwothree More than 1 year ago
the charger itself was of very poor quality. Similar to everyone else, it had a bad connection and was often hard to get out of the nook. Within weeks my charger completely broke. I was very disappointed, but thought it was only my charger. I then read the reviews and saw it was not only me, rather so, it was all nook color chargers. I was at a loss of hope and concluded that I would end up spending on a great deal of chargers if I kept my nook. I decided to call Nook Support (1888-843-2665) and they were extremely helpful. They were very sympathetic and even offered to send me a new charger -- FREE OF CHARGE! The mere knowledge of how helpful the Barnes and noble staff is, is the reason why I'm choosing to stay with my nook. I love the nook and love how helpful everyone was. 
Jennifer Goldberg More than 1 year ago
Poor design. For what I have spent on replacement chargers due to the tip breaking off, I could have purchased another Nook. The work great while they last.
rdemeris More than 1 year ago
This is really irritating.  I've had my NOOK for just a few months and the charger plug in (the prong part that connects into the NOOK ) is broken, unusable.  Now I have to wait for Barnes and Nobel to send me a new one, which I have to pay for!!  I was going to buy a new NOOK HD for my granddaughter, but not now. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
                Im so disappointed, I love my nookcolor. I've spent good money for the nookcoloe, and I have over 34 books.In 2 yrs I have went through 4 chargers. I feel as though I have been robbed. Im packing the thing up and returning it ti "BARNES&NOBLE.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wow, I feel so sorry for the Nook Color customers, I have the Nook Simple Touch with Glow Light and love it. I've had it for more than a year and the charger is like new. I am only purchasing a 2nd charger for travel (I recently left the charger behind and had to wait for it to be mailed back to me, Ugh) I hope the new charger will be as good as my original.
ajpupping More than 1 year ago
Mine fell apart too. I was able to stick it back together a few times, but it's finally had it and no longer works. I have the GlowLight which holds a charge for a long time, so I wasn't even using the charger that often. Out of all the electronics I own and have owned, this is the first time I've ever had a problem like this and I'm honestly baffled. I've never seen a charger cord break in this way before. It's a first. Congratulations may be in order for such a spectacular level of design failure. Wow.
SugarPixelz More than 1 year ago
I've had a Nook Color for two years now, and went through three chargers, and I still need another one. The tip that goes into the Nook is made out of cheap metal. I'm sure B&N knows this, yet they don't do anything about it. I only use my charger when I'm putting books onto my Nook, or to charge it, usually overnight. I went to the store to pick one up, but they don't sell them in the store anymore, and told me to buy them online. So I come online and it says to pick one up in the store? What am I supposed to do? Heck I would be fine with the cheap charger, if only the Nooks could use any other micro USB plugs, but they can't. I've tried everything.  I recently acquired a Nook GlowLight for Christmas. I'm stocking up right now, because I know that the charger it came with won't last very long. Since none of the chargers are in stock, I probably have to just go with the Car Charging Kit.  
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
a life changing experience i purchased my nook color back in feb of this yr, no problems till i accidently ran over the charger with my power chair, i contacted customer service, they were very nice and are sending me a new had a kindle hated it, wont go without my nook, its like my right arm
cart2s More than 1 year ago
I am so glad I read the reviews. I have replaced my Nook Glowlight 4 times in the past year. I use a generic wall plug, my computer guru grandson provided me with no problem. On a recent trip to Mississippi, I my new Glowlight stopped charging so took it to a local BN. They replaced the Glowlight but told me to get the Nook charger. Not going to happen now. Sorry for everyone's experiences but thank you so-o-o much for sharing them. I'm staying with my own power source. I'll forgo the car charger now too.er
ashleycaruso More than 1 year ago
Does this charger work with the work with the NOOK color? I've had a NOOK color for a couple years now, and my charger fell apart within the first year. Its completely frustrating. I found a replacement on Amazon, but it doesn't show when the NOOK is charging. But, it does charge.
csassie More than 1 year ago
I have gone through about 4 chargers with my nook color over the past 3 years -- a couple days ago I was reading these reviews and noticed one where someone recommended using Deoxit D.  I went right to RadioShack and bought a can.  I used it on the nook and the charger today, let it dry for an hour, plugged everything in and it's charging!!!!  I'm so excited!!!!  Try Deoxit D before you purchase another charger, it actually works.
lydia1 More than 1 year ago
Why can I not buy this online??
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have stopped trying to figure our why the power cord doesn't work and opted to buy a Radio Shack charger with a guarantee. If it stops working, it will be replaced for free within a year. I think it was under $16. Best money ever spent.