Customer Reviews for

Power Play

Average Rating 4
( 46 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fast Moving Action

This is a fine effort by Finder. In fact, this may be in my top ten of 2007. What was more exciting than Jake Landry's past, more so even than the girl he was with, even more than the shocking murder that I never saw coming is that no character was safe in this thri...
This is a fine effort by Finder. In fact, this may be in my top ten of 2007. What was more exciting than Jake Landry's past, more so even than the girl he was with, even more than the shocking murder that I never saw coming is that no character was safe in this thrill-a-minute mystery. Any one of them could have ended up dead at any moment, and some did. It really keeps you aware of each person's position, and their possible relationship with the kidnappers. Just going through this rewiew makes me want to read it again. A must read for lovers of action.

posted by Anonymous on January 13, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Somewhat Disappointing

The intriguing plot provides food for thought in a world that seems fixated on security concerns and terroristic attacks. The idea of holding an entire corporate board hostage in a remote hunting lodge was for this reader unique. However, only some of the corporate fin...
The intriguing plot provides food for thought in a world that seems fixated on security concerns and terroristic attacks. The idea of holding an entire corporate board hostage in a remote hunting lodge was for this reader unique. However, only some of the corporate financial security measures described and entertwined were interesting and surprising.
The writer's style left me cold--mini-pschology pans regarding too many of the unneccessary characters resulted in a somewhat choppy read. In many respects one might arrive at the conclusion the book was written in numerous small pieces, then assembled by a computer. This was my first Finder book. The every-other-chapter throw back references to the main character's rough child and teen life, threatening to unleash a super monster killer hidden in the main character's psyche, did not work for me.

posted by Blackhorse on August 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2007

    I love Joseph Finder but...

    I was disappointed in this book. It read like a thriller movie rather than the intricate corporate plotting or character driven books that Joseph Finder has previously written. The concept was interesting and it was certainly well written but it lacked Finder's style that I had enjoyed so much. I will definitely still look for more books by him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2007

    Awesome

    A wonderful, story filled, grab the edge of your seat and read book. This plot could have been made into something totally outrageous, but in Finder's hands it was told in such a way as to believe this could happen. A great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2007

    Finder's Best to date

    Jake doesn¿t want to be there. It¿s a corporate retreat, an isolated camp where the corporate heavy hitters go to make their play for power. Jake¿s been happy to be a quiet minnow, but now he¿s forced to swim with the sharks, and there¿s no familiar face in sight except for that of the woman he loved and lost. And things are only going to get worse when a group of armed killers arrive with an agenda of their own. This is Finder¿s best work to date. He has once again perfectly blended the battling and infighting of the boardroom with the action and suspense of a classic thriller. Jake is by far his most compelling central character. Jake carries the burden of dark secrets and a troubled past¿he maintains a low profile at work to conceal that burden, and he let it tear him apart from the love of his life, but now it is the only thing that can save them all. Finder has created a character who is not simply an action hero, but a man caught in a situation where he must deal with his dark past to preserve his life and his love. In Power Play, Finder gives us a man who must deal with the greatest external and internal struggle of his life, all in one weekend. A work that fans of Robert Ludlum and Lee Child will enjoy, this is highly recommended, the best book from Joseph Finder to date.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2007

    Classic Thriller!

    Jake Landry is a square peg in a round hole. A street-wise guy who finds himself in over his head in a major aviation company, soon discovers his true strengths when a corporate retreat turns into a hostage situation. Looked down on by the muckety-mucks in the company, Landry is the only one with the savvy to save everyone. But can he? The world needs a Jake Landry. A flawed but honorable character reminiscent of some of the best literary heroes, Landry finds himself in a dire situation that seems to have no good outcome. Without giving the story away, let me just state that I am in awe of Finder's writing here. Tight, fast-paced, and intelligent, it's everything that other thrillers hope to grow up to be. Someday. Until then, Finder rules the genre.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2007

    A lightning-fast read

    Like all of Finder's books, Power Play has a nifty premise and a hurtling, 'no brakes' narrative drive. In Jake Landry, Finder once again has created a highly intelligent, accomplished protagonist who's also engaging and down to earth. A very appealing, edge-of-your-seat suspense novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2007

    A reviewer

    Joseph Finder has frequently been compared with John Grisham because of his skill in portraying the business world as expertly as Grisham depicts the legal profession. But Finder¿s new novel, Power Play, also brings to mind the works of Tom Clancy. Instead of a prophetic account of a vengeful Japanese pilot crashing a jumbo jet into the Capitol, we are afforded a preview of the kidnapping for a huge ransom of a large multinational corporation¿s top executives meeting at a remote retreat through an intricate plot featuring Grisham-like twists. The successful struggles of the company¿s new female chief executive officer to defend her prerogatives seem like a reverse riff upon recent real-life events at the Hewlett-Packard Company. Permeating this focused, superbly researched, and tragicomic narrative in which unforeseen consequences inevitably occur are flashes of the irreverence, self-deprecation, and wry humor that we have learned to expect from Finder¿s chief characters, along with a carefully wrought happy ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2007

    The 'offsite from Hell'...

    A sweet gift arrived in the mail about a week ago... an advance readers' copy of Power Play by Joseph Finder. It immediately shot to the top of my 'must read' pile, and became my 'any spare moment' book for about two days. As with all his other books, I found myself immediately wrapped up in the story line. The only bad part is when I was finished with it... Now I have to wait for another one! :) Take an aviation company that has a new CEO that doesn't happen to be the right gender (just ask all the other execs). She's definitely not part of the 'good old boys' network, and she wants to mix things up a bit at the next corporate offsite meeting. They head off to a remote fishing lodge as they have in the past, but this year they'll be taking part in a number of 'team-building' exercises. Needless to say, she's about the only one who's enthused about that particular part of the agenda. And then there's Jake Landry... He's been asked to fill in for his boss at the last moment. Younger than the others, and more than a bit irreverent, he starts working at trying to survive the weekend. But survival takes on a whole new dimension went a group of 'hunters' show up and take the entire group hostage. Jake has a dark past that he's tried to keep buried, but the skills he developed back then are about the only things that the executive group has going for them in their fight to stay alive. Not only does he need to outwit the killers, but he also has to overcome many in the group who think he's nothing more than a loose cannon who is going to get them all killed. And the more he mulls over the situation, the more he believes that this is somehow being run by someone on the inside... This book grabbed my attention from the first chapter and didn't let go until the end. Jake's dark past is alluded to early, but is revealed slowly through flashbacks interspersed throughout the story. The first couple of times the transition occurred, I had to check and make sure I hadn't missed a page. But once I recognized what Finder was doing, the transitions were perfect. I loved the Jake character, as he's a mix of bravado, self-doubt, and attitude. But given the circumstances he's in, he figures that going for broke is the only way to possibly make it out alive. The best subtitle for this book is the one that the author inscribed on the inner page... 'Enjoy this 'offsite from Hell''. I certainly did, and I look forward to the next offering from Joseph Finder. An excellent read...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2007

    POWER PLAY by Joseph Finder

    POWER PLAY by Joseph Finder Unbelievably engrossing! I have not been this mesmerized by a novel in a very long time. The drama, the thrills and the excitement build to a sensational conclusion and you will absolutely forget to breathe! The enigma that is Jake Landry, a Jr Exec. at Hammond Aerospace, is revealed as the story unfolds...but the great thing is that these vignettes of his life are woven so cleverly into the plot that the story line is not interrupted, but rather enhanced. A yearly meeting of executives at a posh lodge isolated from the rest of the world is scheduled and to his surprise Jake, the lowest man on the totem pole is invited as a sub for his boss who cannot attend. This sub-plot lends an interesting level to the story. Jake understands how that happened when he spots Ali, his ex-girlfriend, accompanying the new CEO, Cheryl onto to the company plane. That she was selected as CEO over all the hot-shot bigwigs does not sit well with them but the fact remains that she IS the CEO and in charge. They arrive at the lodge and it is iimmediately apparent that Jake is not accepted as one of them. A sumptuous dinner is served and shortly before dessert , they are invaded by a group of men who proceed to treat them vilely and hold them hostage. And so it begins...a merry- go-round of life threatening adventure that they can't get off and you won't soon forget. I really don't know which to applaud more: the fascinating story line, the complex mix of characters, the confluence of secrets, lies and subterfuge...so I will say 'all of the above and more'. Kudos to a fine, fine author who improves with each new work and whose knowledge and expertise never cease to amaze me. Hope you have started on another one, 'cause this is one reader who cannot get enough of your writing. Thank you for another beaut, Joe!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3