Customer Reviews for

Power Play

Average Rating 4
( 46 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Fast Moving Action

This is a fine effort by Finder. In fact, this may be in my top ten of 2007. What was more exciting than Jake Landry's past, more so even than the girl he was with, even more than the shocking murder that I never saw coming is that no character was safe in this thri...
This is a fine effort by Finder. In fact, this may be in my top ten of 2007. What was more exciting than Jake Landry's past, more so even than the girl he was with, even more than the shocking murder that I never saw coming is that no character was safe in this thrill-a-minute mystery. Any one of them could have ended up dead at any moment, and some did. It really keeps you aware of each person's position, and their possible relationship with the kidnappers. Just going through this rewiew makes me want to read it again. A must read for lovers of action.

posted by Anonymous on January 13, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Somewhat Disappointing

The intriguing plot provides food for thought in a world that seems fixated on security concerns and terroristic attacks. The idea of holding an entire corporate board hostage in a remote hunting lodge was for this reader unique. However, only some of the corporate fin...
The intriguing plot provides food for thought in a world that seems fixated on security concerns and terroristic attacks. The idea of holding an entire corporate board hostage in a remote hunting lodge was for this reader unique. However, only some of the corporate financial security measures described and entertwined were interesting and surprising.
The writer's style left me cold--mini-pschology pans regarding too many of the unneccessary characters resulted in a somewhat choppy read. In many respects one might arrive at the conclusion the book was written in numerous small pieces, then assembled by a computer. This was my first Finder book. The every-other-chapter throw back references to the main character's rough child and teen life, threatening to unleash a super monster killer hidden in the main character's psyche, did not work for me.

posted by Blackhorse on August 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 22, 2009

    Compelling all the way through

    Joseph Finder really knows how to create suspense. Just when you think the problem will be resolved, up pops another obstacle. I tagged it for topical conversation because the issue of wealthy, greedy corporate individuals/executives is current and believable. Yes, Mr. On-the-way-up, watch your back.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2008

    Fast Moving Action

    This is a fine effort by Finder. In fact, this may be in my top ten of 2007. What was more exciting than Jake Landry's past, more so even than the girl he was with, even more than the shocking murder that I never saw coming is that no character was safe in this thrill-a-minute mystery. Any one of them could have ended up dead at any moment, and some did. It really keeps you aware of each person's position, and their possible relationship with the kidnappers. Just going through this rewiew makes me want to read it again. A must read for lovers of action.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Somewhat Disappointing

    The intriguing plot provides food for thought in a world that seems fixated on security concerns and terroristic attacks. The idea of holding an entire corporate board hostage in a remote hunting lodge was for this reader unique. However, only some of the corporate financial security measures described and entertwined were interesting and surprising.
    The writer's style left me cold--mini-pschology pans regarding too many of the unneccessary characters resulted in a somewhat choppy read. In many respects one might arrive at the conclusion the book was written in numerous small pieces, then assembled by a computer. This was my first Finder book. The every-other-chapter throw back references to the main character's rough child and teen life, threatening to unleash a super monster killer hidden in the main character's psyche, did not work for me.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    Couldn't put it down

    Power Play is a very well written book. I simply kept reading and reading. I finished this book in only a couple of hours. The plot was well written. This was my first Joseph Finder book. The book wa also action packed, and suspenseful. After this book i just have to read another Joseph Fimder book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A reviewer

    Voice performer Dennis Boutsikaris gives a compelling, contained reading of Joseph Finder's latest action charged novel. His voice is distinct, cool, and then cold when he becomes the villains. As protagonist Jake Landry there is vulnerability and acceptance in this narrator's tone - as if he's seen the worst life has to offer and he's still here. Boutsikaris has twice won an Obie Award, plus an Audie Award for his audiobook narrations. He's been seen on and off Broadway as well as in some 20 made for television movies. He's a capable, centered actor who brings depth to each of his performances. As read by Boutsikaris Power Play is edge of your seat listening! Hammond Aerospace Corporation employs a jillion people. Pretty low on their totem is Jake Landry, a junior executive. He's a laid back kind of guy without professional aspirations, and still hurting from his break-up with Ali. Both complex and affecting, Jake is a bit of a mystery which unfolds in flashback form. Thus, Finder has created not only a pulse stopping suspense scenario but a fascinating character study as well. Jake is more than surprised when he's asked to be part of the company's retreat, a three-day session of bonding and games (more accurately life threatening exercises) with the top dogs. The gathering will take place at a remote lodge, luxurious but accessible only by water. No cell phones, Blackberrys or other forms of communication allowed. All of that was puzzling enough, but when he arrives to board the company jet, Ali is there, too, now assistant to CEO Cheryl Tobin. Once aboard Jake is summoned to the executive lounge where Cheryl tells him exactly why he's been invited along. The reason for his presence pales when that evening a sumptuous dinner is interrupted by an intruder with tobacco stained teeth and 'greedy black eyes staring.' They think he's a hunter, probably drunk. That's too easy - there are three men in all, each evil, cruel and bloodthirsty. They're holding the group for ransom, the largest ransom ever, but isn't all of Hammond's leadership worth it? How did these killers know aboutthe meeting, how did they get here? There are many questions but the most important one is how are any of them going to get out of this alive? Joe Finder has been called a 'master of the modern thriller' and 'nothing less than a marvel.' Rightly so. His Killer Instinct was recently named Best Novel of the Year by the International Thriller Writers Association. Hope he has a large mantle because Power Play is one more award winning tale. - Gail Cooke

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2014

    Okay

    Liked his other books better. I found it slow and drawn out in places, so skimmed some of it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    Good!

    This is my first Joseph Finder book and I will definitely either listen to or read another. However, one thing I did not like about it was the numerous characters. I found it confusing when the author would reference a character by his first name and then later reference him by his last name, you had to stop and think who he was and what position he held in the company or what action he played earlier in a chapter. I eventually went back and relistened to several chapters just to get a better sense. Other than that, the book kept my interest and I would recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Intriguing Story

    I was delayed at an airport during a layover flight and I bought this book. I don't usually read thrillers, but the plot of Power Play perked my interest. I was intrigued with the story of a group of aerospace executives meeting in a Canadian hunting lodge for a bonding session and are held hostage by what appears to be some redneck hunters who stumbled across the opportunity to make some money. The book turned out to be a real page turner and I enjoyed it very much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2010

    Very good!

    Loved it. Easy, fast read. You get lost in the book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Just Another Great Thriller by Finder!

    One thing is for sure. Only Joseph Finder can write a thriller like this. Power Play by Joseph Finder has all those qualities that characterizes his other books.
    I really enjoyed the background history on Jake Landry as Finder switches in between chapters through flashbacks from his past.
    As usual, Finder has really done a great research on the subject, I don't know how much of it, is fiction, but credible indeed.
    The plot is great, the twist and turns are well thought, and the ending doesn't disappoint.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2009

    Enjoyable reading

    The book was enjoyable but did take quite a long time to set up. Would recommend to read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome read

    I was captured and held captive until the final page. This was a very fast moving exciting read and I just couldn't leave this book alone. I didn't get back to my regular routine until I had finished reading it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    WOW!!!!

    I read this to my mother in the hospital. It was riveting and she and I were both hanging on every word. We have just started another by Finder and are looking for more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    My first Joseph Finder read!

    I really enjoyed this book and look forward to catching up on his past novels. The story and characters are well-developed, the setting and content are original, and the writing is fast-paced and witty.
    Like a good movie you have to see again, I'm starting the book over so that I can catch all the nuances.
    Fun read. If you enjoy this genre, you'll like this one.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2008

    High-Octane Thriller

    Some 'suspense thrillers' don't live up to the name - they drag in places or get bogged down in tedious subplots. This one delivers. Within a couple of chapters the reader is completely hooked on the story of high-level executives at a remote luxury retreat falling into the hands of a band of killers looking to make a big score. Jake Landry is a middle-management type who's been invited at the last minute, and it doesn't take him long to realize there's more afoot here than robbery or ransom. And no one suspects that with his traumatic past, Jason himself is a lethal weapon....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2008

    a great read

    Jake Landry is a junior executive for an aerospace company. Jake is the kind of guy who prides himself on flying beneath the radar doing his job while keeping his head down and not drawing any undue attention to himself. At an unexpected meeting with one of the company bigwigs, Jake is 'ordered' to attend a weekend retreat at the company¿s offsite. The location is completely out of the way complete with no cell phone reception or internet access. Once there, Jake is immediately uncomfortable with not only the rich surroundings, but by the company he¿s keeping as well. The first night there, the company gathering is crashed by a group of lost hunters. Long story short, the executives are soon held hostage by a group of men with guns, who want to take the company for all its worth. Jake, used to keeping a low profile, suddenly seems to be the only one who can save them all. This book is a complete page turner. It¿s one of those that you can¿t really put down, because you want to know what¿s going to happen on the next page. The story moves along quickly, and is both entertaining and engaging. This is the first of Finder¿s books that I¿ve read, and I¿m now a fan and plan to read more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2008

    Good Exciting Read

    I really enjoyed this book! It is one of those books that you find yourself up way too late at night reading because you wonder what the next page will bring. There is some violence in the book so be warned, but nothing too gruesome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2008

    Good

    Solid suspense novel. Not Finder's best book, but still was good and had a very interesting premise, enough to frighten employees of big corporations....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2007

    Enjoyable Read

    Looking for some fast-paced easy reading? I believe this book would serve you well. Interesting characters, moves quickly, involves the corporate world as Finder does enjoy exploring. A classic? Of course not. Enjoyable? Yes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2007

    Who is Jake Landry?

    Excellent reading from start to finish but it left me wondering about the background of Jake. Was he Special Forces, former FBI, Special Ops? So intelligent and knowledgable about the ways of the criminal mind that it's hard to believe he's just a steady, modest and taciturn kind of guy. I would like to see him turn up in the next novel by Joseph Finder.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3