Customer Reviews for

Power Thoughts: 12 Strategies to Win the Battle of the Mind

Average Rating 4
( 130 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(69)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

31 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

fav quote: "since God is everything how can we forget Him?" great read!

In the Introduction to her book, Meyer makes a statement that sums up the importance for taking control of our thought life. She says, "I firmly believe that each thing we do in life gives us experience for the next thing we will do and that our thoughtful planning is p...
In the Introduction to her book, Meyer makes a statement that sums up the importance for taking control of our thought life. She says, "I firmly believe that each thing we do in life gives us experience for the next thing we will do and that our thoughtful planning is perfected by God as we place our trust in Him." She further says "It is impossible to change our lives unless and until we change our thoughts."

Meyer shares twelve "power thoughts" for us to grab hold of and meditate on in order to give our mind a mental make-over. These are:
1. I can do whatever I need to do in life through Christ.
2. God loves me unconditionally!
3. I will not live in fear.
4. I am difficult to offend.
5. I love people and enjoy helping them.
6. I trust God completely; there is no need to worry!
7. I am content and emotionally stable.
8. God meets all my needs abundantly.
9. I pursue peace with God, myself, and others.
10. I live in the present and enjoy each moment.
11. I am disciplined and self-controlled.
12. I put God first in my life.

I really liked this book. I like the way Meyer has written it so you can break up each "power thought" and study one a week. I definitely want to re-read the book, getting all I can out of it. At the end of each "power thought" she also includes a list of relevant scriptures. Scattered throughout the chapters are questions for you to answer, encouraging us to evaluate our current thought life and what we can do to change it. One thing she said that spoke to me as I'm in a season of waiting is that "Satan often works through or takes advantage of our weaknesses at the precise time God is trying to promote us or lead us to take a step of faith that will advance His Kingdom or move us closer to fulfilling our destinies."

posted by snidbits on September 25, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Good book, nice woman, but not more. I didn't notice in the book

Good book, nice woman, but not more. I didn't notice in the book anything spiritual what had to change my mind. NOTHING at all. Another book from celebrity and, again, no more. Maybe the book of Anatoliy Obraztsov "a crossing or the drop's history" will be mor...
Good book, nice woman, but not more. I didn't notice in the book anything spiritual what had to change my mind. NOTHING at all. Another book from celebrity and, again, no more. Maybe the book of Anatoliy Obraztsov "a crossing or the drop's history" will be more spiritual and intresting. My friends recommended me both.

posted by romadov on July 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 131 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted September 25, 2010

    fav quote: "since God is everything how can we forget Him?" great read!

    In the Introduction to her book, Meyer makes a statement that sums up the importance for taking control of our thought life. She says, "I firmly believe that each thing we do in life gives us experience for the next thing we will do and that our thoughtful planning is perfected by God as we place our trust in Him." She further says "It is impossible to change our lives unless and until we change our thoughts."

    Meyer shares twelve "power thoughts" for us to grab hold of and meditate on in order to give our mind a mental make-over. These are:
    1. I can do whatever I need to do in life through Christ.
    2. God loves me unconditionally!
    3. I will not live in fear.
    4. I am difficult to offend.
    5. I love people and enjoy helping them.
    6. I trust God completely; there is no need to worry!
    7. I am content and emotionally stable.
    8. God meets all my needs abundantly.
    9. I pursue peace with God, myself, and others.
    10. I live in the present and enjoy each moment.
    11. I am disciplined and self-controlled.
    12. I put God first in my life.

    I really liked this book. I like the way Meyer has written it so you can break up each "power thought" and study one a week. I definitely want to re-read the book, getting all I can out of it. At the end of each "power thought" she also includes a list of relevant scriptures. Scattered throughout the chapters are questions for you to answer, encouraging us to evaluate our current thought life and what we can do to change it. One thing she said that spoke to me as I'm in a season of waiting is that "Satan often works through or takes advantage of our weaknesses at the precise time God is trying to promote us or lead us to take a step of faith that will advance His Kingdom or move us closer to fulfilling our destinies."

    31 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Two words...Joyce Meyer! Enough said.

    If you know me you know how much I feel that Joyce Meyer's adds to my spiritual walk. In having the chance to meet her just weeks after my surgery was amazing. In her latest book, Power Thoughts, 12 strategies to Win the Battle of the Mind, came at a perfect time for me.

    I am what you would call your classic worrier. I worry more when it deals with a situation I am personally involved with but can handle others problems so much better than I can my own. In her latest book, Joyce shows how these little, nagging destructive thoughts can do us more harm than good in both the physical, emotional and spiritual areas of our life.

    Joyce teaches you how you can "daily" take up the battle and begin to replace all those thoughts that plague our lives and keep us from the true potential God knows is possible in us. There are chapters designed to help you with worry, fear, walking victoriously through any situation, pursuing peace, meeting our needs abundantly and even how to be content and emotionally stable. Oh where to start for me?

    The first part of the book is for learning how to implement the change of thinking that has been going on since we were able to put thoughts together and allow us to shape our lives based on what we have thought. Joyce teaches us how to change all that bad thinking and put it into cans. After all miracles really do come in "Cans!!!" It's believing we can, and then repeating it and praying over the thoughts until we can become victorious over them.

    I received this book, compliments of Faith Words a division of Hachette Book Groups for my honest review and think everyone should get a copy of this for their home. Who doesn't ever have those thoughts that plague us when life hands us lemons? I would easily rate this book a 5 out of 5 stars.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I love Joyce Meyer Too!

    I'd also like to recommend "When God Stopped Keeping Score" by R.A. Clark. It's revealing look at the power of forgiveness. If you ever felt trapped by anger, guilt, resentment and/or pain, then this book is for you.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2011

    Very insightful!

    I am going through a lot of different emotions lately with getting very upset and angry with people. This book has opened my eyes and showed me how this is wrong on my part to allow myself to get so upset. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who is struggling with anger, gossip, judging, etc.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I Love Joyce Meyers!

    Have you read Battlefield of the Mind? Joyce's new book, Power Thoughts, will take you to the next level of winning the battle in your mind! In this book she gives you 12 strategies to learn how to think good things on purpose. Pre-order your copy today! Also, I suggest you read "When God Stopped Keeping Score" which is available here on BN.com. It's a great book with a powerful message.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    This book is very good. I don't think anyone can go wrong by reading something written by Joyce Meyer. She is honest and straight forward and her books are wonderful extremely helpful.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2011

    Book of encouragement and a call to action

    An amazing book so far. Thru ch.1 it's very much like most things that I've read so far on positive thinking ie "power of positive thinking". However it's never too much and reminders are great for us especially in this economy of keeping our mind clear and spirits high. Looking forward to Ch.2

    Now that I am done, it was amazing. Joyce outlines a flexible program to turn thoughts into habits, and habits into success.

    Sections include:
    · The Power of a Positive You
    · 5 Rules for Keeping Your Attitude at the Right Altitude
    · More Power To You bulleted keys to successful thinking in each chapter
    · The Power of Perspective

    It was a powerful book of encouragement and call to action to keep your heart and mind pure, your goals set and live it to the fullest.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2011

    Awesome

    I love this book. It gave me a new way at looking at some things. This has caused me to have more peace and enjoyment out of life. I read it slowly and pondered on the thoughts.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2010

    The Practical Guide to Renewing Your Mind

    Power Thoughts by Joyce Meyer is a follow-up of sorts to her previous book Battlefield of the Mind. This book takes the principles uncovered in Battlefield of the Mind a step further, providing a guideline for practical application of these principles to "renew your mind" and train your thoughts to fall into line with the Word of God. Joyce Meyer details twelve steps, or thoughts, to meditate on, along with scripture to focus on in the process of retraining your mind to turn from a vicious cycle of unhealthy thoughts to the kind of faith-filled thinking that moves people into God's plans for them. I really liked reading this book through the first time (and I will definitely be reading it several times more). I have never read Battlefield of the Mind, but thankfully this is not a sequel in the since that you can't get into this book without having read the other one first. Joyce Meyer basically starts from square one for most people, and points out along the way different books that she's already written that might be useful for more in depth study of certain topics. I've always liked her simple, straight-forward style of writing, and it's especially suited to this particular guide of twelve "power thoughts" to renew your mind. My favorite thoughts (and naturally, the ones I need to work on the most) are "I will not live in fear" and "I am difficult to offend," but I know I need to work on all of them. Thankfully, this book is an easy way to do that. Joyce recommends focusing on each step for a week at a time, resulting a three-month process of going through the book, and then repeating the process over and over again to renew your mind. I read it the first time to familiarize myself with the steps, and I intend to follow Joyce's recommendation. I'm looking forward to being transformed by the renewing of my mind (Romans 12:2). . I received this book free from FaithWords. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed in this review are my own.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2012

    Yet again Joyce Meyer inspires and encourages.

    I bought this book as a Christmas gift for a friend. She and others have reported that it is excellent. Since it is on the NOOK lend-me list, my friend will lend it to me when she finishes. I am looking forward to another of Joyce Meyer's inspiring books.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    This book helped so much

    This book saved me. Or more realistically God saved me but i never saw it innthe way jiyce putsnit in this book. Its so amazing!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Power Thoughts

    Highly Recommended-you must check it out!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2013

    Loved it!

    Great book! Highly recommend it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2013

    Recommend

    I would recommend

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    I love this book

    This book has helped in many ways. It has made me look at things and gain new perspective

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    Great inspirational read.

    Love this book. It is said that language shapes our thoughts. Gods words shapes our thoughts. This book is an inspirational guide to remind us of the power of the mind. I highly recommend this book to inspire us and as a guide.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    Good book, nice woman, but not more. I didn't notice in the book

    Good book, nice woman, but not more. I didn't notice in the book anything spiritual what had to change my mind. NOTHING at all. Another book from celebrity and, again, no more. Maybe the book of Anatoliy Obraztsov "a crossing or the drop's history" will be more spiritual and intresting. My friends recommended me both.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2012

    Life Changing

    I am taking my time reading this book. I have been empowered by all of the information and God has spoken though this book what I need to get through my hard time in my life. This is a GREAT READ AND MUST HAVE!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2012

    Catoclaw, Deputy of Blazeclan

    Meeting place here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    I read this book on my tablet. I think Joyce Meyer made some gre

    I read this book on my tablet. I think Joyce Meyer made some great points that are worth noting and listening to, but some of her opinions are too strong. Overall, it was a great book that made me think.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 131 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7