Customer Reviews for

The Power of Full Engagement: Managing Energy, Not Time, Is the Key to High Performance and Personal Renewal

Average Rating 4.5
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2004

    A Must Read!

    Jim Loehr and Tony Schwartz offer a lot of solid, common sense advice. The authors recommend going to bed and getting up at a consistent time ¿ not exactly Ben Franklin¿s ¿early to bed, early to rise,¿ but close. They recommend regular exercise. They say it¿s good to work and to rest, and each has its place. They say to examine yourself and try to see yourself as others see you. In other words, they recommend many time-honored techniques of physical, mental and spiritual growth,combined with prioritizing how you use your energy and how you recharge your batteries. This attitude makes the book unique. The principles may be ancient, but we find the vehicle distinctly contemporary, a combo of New Age jargon and workout-style performance charting, with (at last) a key to time management that makes sense and captures all areas of one¿s life. Some readers will find that thrilling, others will groan.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2004

    Wake up and Listen to the Simplicity

    Managing energy and not time is one of the most understated keys to moving to new levels in work and leisure. A quality book representing the stark reality of where we really are in modern times . A must read for all people who are searching for answers to their own lack of vitality and leading a truly worthwhile life.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2003

    ... and the rest of us?

    I have worked inside large companies and small ones with extensive sales training. I see this as a book for people who can pick up company training programs, grasp opportunities and run with them...and what about the rest of us? I am now a mom who stays at home with my children by choice and would love to have nonprofessional mumbo jumbo for energy applications. Out of the work force for several years and a different path chosen makes this book not such a good read for moms and families. It leaves out anyone who has not been chosen as one of the worthy people to embrace 'company political training.' The authors and the publisher has left millions out - so don't say it's for everyone. It's not. For moms and anyone in the family/kid role who desperately needs lots of 'energy' to prevent Mommy Melt Down or even Life Melt Down, my first love is still Stephen Covey, 7 Habits, and Jodie Lynn's, Mommy-CEO (Constantly Evaluating Others) 5 Golden Rules. Here are two books almost everyone can understand and get on with positive energy and organization.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2004

    Worth Reading

    This is truly a great book - well written and well constructed. So often self-help books are written in a 'language' that is similar to something you might find penned inside a Hallmark card. But, not this one. This book has several examples that well illustrate the author's discussion. In addition, because of the example selection it would be surprising not to fine one's self somewhere on the pages. Take the time and read this book. It will be worth it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2003

    One of the best books on personal effectiveness ever.

    What happens when you unite the authors of two powerful bestselling books: one on applying the secrets of peak athletic performance to the demanding challenges faced by business executives (STRESS FOR SUCCESS), and the other on achieving spiritual growth and fulfillment? Naturally, THE POWER OF FULL ENGAGEMENT -- which shows the reader how to tap new physical, emotional, mental AND spiritual sources of energy to fuel one's success in any endeavors. This has been said to be the most important book on personal effectiveness since THE 7 HABITS OF HIGHLY EFFECTIVE PEOPLE, which is a bold claim indeed. But it's the truth.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2003

    Great Read: Incredibly Compelling Principles and Practices

    The impact of this book, recommended by a colleague I respect, took me by surprise. I have been an executive in a large consumer products company for many years and I have never been a big fan of books about performance or leadership, nor have I found most training methods valuable. Nonetheless, the logic, practicality, simplicity and focus on solutions in The Power of Full Engagement bowled me over. The principles and practices described in this book have already proved immensely useful in my own life, at work and at home. I am convinced that they have equal organizational application. I can't recommend this book enthusiastically enough, for yourself or for your company.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2003

    It's very applicable to daily life

    It's always good to read a book that you can turn around and use the information in daily life. This book does just that. Also keeps the reader interested.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2009

    it was okay

    i listened to a couple cd's from this audio book and they are taking too long to get to the point so i have yet to finish the CD's to hear what these guys have to say. So far it's interesting but its too drawn out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2