Customer Reviews for

The Power of Intention: Learning to Co-create Your World Your Way

Average Rating 4
( 87 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(53)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

The Intention Connection

The Intention Connection: A book review on "The Power of Intention" Reviewed by: Ellen DuBois I received a complimentary, review copy of Dr. Wayne Dyer's "The Power of Intention" and would like to share my review of this book with you. Prior to reading "The Power of Int...
The Intention Connection: A book review on "The Power of Intention" Reviewed by: Ellen DuBois I received a complimentary, review copy of Dr. Wayne Dyer's "The Power of Intention" and would like to share my review of this book with you. Prior to reading "The Power of Intention", the word intention was just a word. That's all changed. Since reading "The Power of Intention", I'll never view the word intention, or its meaning, in the same way. Dr. Wayne Dyer shows you how, through both real-life examples and his enlightening steps on harnessing the power of intention, (your connection to God, The Source, etc.), to apply intention it to every area of your life: health, happiness, self confidence, relationships, feeling joy and more. This results in a happier, healthier, less stressful life in which you experience deeper relationships, a life full of realized purpose, a much deeper connection to yourself, therefore your Creator and infinitely more. What's best for you in accordance to your vibrational harmony? How do you see the blessing in what appears to be only tragic or sad? What does it mean to live with gratitude in your life and what are the positive, life changing effects? How are your emotions a gauge to whether you're living a life aligned with your better and highest good, or intention- God? How do you become more connected to your Source and less connected to your ego? Where does your inspiration come from, and how do you tap into it? How can you see the connection we all share and how will that change, for the better, the way you view all people.all life? "The Power of Intention" shows a new, powerful perspective on intention, the power of your intentions, and ties it all together into a "gift" that's easy to understand, digest and put into practice. A book that's meant to be read or referred to again, The Power of Intention can change your life for the better.forever. After reading "The Power of Intention", I can't help but think of intention with these three words: The Intention Connection. It's a connection I intend on practicing and keeping for a lifetime. I would like to add: This gift edition is stunning. It's loaded with beautiful artwork, magnificent colors and would make a perfect gift for yourself...anyone!

posted by ellendubois on November 11, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Interesting but some of the stories are winded

There are better books on the subject, but Dyer's personal testimony is inspiring.

posted by Malbec on June 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 88 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted November 11, 2010

    The Intention Connection

    The Intention Connection: A book review on "The Power of Intention" Reviewed by: Ellen DuBois I received a complimentary, review copy of Dr. Wayne Dyer's "The Power of Intention" and would like to share my review of this book with you. Prior to reading "The Power of Intention", the word intention was just a word. That's all changed. Since reading "The Power of Intention", I'll never view the word intention, or its meaning, in the same way. Dr. Wayne Dyer shows you how, through both real-life examples and his enlightening steps on harnessing the power of intention, (your connection to God, The Source, etc.), to apply intention it to every area of your life: health, happiness, self confidence, relationships, feeling joy and more. This results in a happier, healthier, less stressful life in which you experience deeper relationships, a life full of realized purpose, a much deeper connection to yourself, therefore your Creator and infinitely more. What's best for you in accordance to your vibrational harmony? How do you see the blessing in what appears to be only tragic or sad? What does it mean to live with gratitude in your life and what are the positive, life changing effects? How are your emotions a gauge to whether you're living a life aligned with your better and highest good, or intention- God? How do you become more connected to your Source and less connected to your ego? Where does your inspiration come from, and how do you tap into it? How can you see the connection we all share and how will that change, for the better, the way you view all people.all life? "The Power of Intention" shows a new, powerful perspective on intention, the power of your intentions, and ties it all together into a "gift" that's easy to understand, digest and put into practice. A book that's meant to be read or referred to again, The Power of Intention can change your life for the better.forever. After reading "The Power of Intention", I can't help but think of intention with these three words: The Intention Connection. It's a connection I intend on practicing and keeping for a lifetime. I would like to add: This gift edition is stunning. It's loaded with beautiful artwork, magnificent colors and would make a perfect gift for yourself...anyone!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Connect to the source and it all happens.

    I've read many of Dr. Dyer's books. This book is the first that impacted me profoundly. I finally understood that if we all come from the same source, we are all part of all that is, and we are connected. We just have to overcome our own self-imposed. limitations. This book is well worth reading.

    I also recommend Optimal Thinking: How to Be Your Best Self by Dr. Rosalene Glickman. Optimal Thinking is the practical life-changing book that helped me to overcome my confusion about positive and negative thinking and showed me how to put my best self in charge of making the most of every situation in life.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2007

    Wonderful Book

    This book is amazing, especially if you apply the principles in your life it will be life changing! I love the spiritual aspect of it as well. I am a Christian also and I respect that Wayne Dyer talks so much about God and how if we are connected to Him that we will have true peace, joy and harmony in our lives and because those things do come from God no one should be offended or upset by this. Thank you for a wonderful book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2006

    Finally, I've been truly awakened!!

    Reading this book has changed my life!! I know it sounds over the top, but Dr Dyer's insights have truly blessed me in so many ways!! I finally am able to say that I'm on my way home!! His insights will inspire everyone, no matter what race,religion etc.. Dr Dyer, your work here is a blessing from your creator!! Keep up the good works!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    One of my top 3 books

    If the words do not ispire you the arteork will, I cant say enough about this book, If you need a clear understanding of sourse (GOD), and your conection to all that is, and how this understanding can and should be used by you, this is the book for yoy, Even if you don't believe in God you can still use the understanding of how the univers works and how it is waiting to work for you, It wants nothing from you other than your belief that it is there for you, Imagine that, it is just waiting for you, being happy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    Amazing book!!

    So much of this book seems like common sense after you read it. Unfortunately many of us don't think the same way. I guess you would call it UNcommon sense. Read it! It will change your thinking...and your life!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Babel

    The title of this book was the first clue that this was little more than 'feel good!' thinking with litle substance. The author makes a few good points, but hey, even a blind rodent finds a morsel every now and then. I am particularlly appauled by the manner Jesus is place on even keel with historical philosophers like Francis of Assissi.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2010

    Another Wayne Dyer Great

    Very good, though repetitive of other works of his. A good gift for someone to give.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    It changed my life!

    When I started reading this book I was amazed at how easy it was to understand the concepts. I started applying some of the pricipals and my whole outlook changed on how I thought and delt with other people. It helped me change a couple of habbits I had failed to change in the past. Like road rage, raising my higher energy really works and yes it helps you to not get sick so often. I have actually given away my copy and had to buy another.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2009

    Interesting but some of the stories are winded

    There are better books on the subject, but Dyer's personal testimony is inspiring.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This book will teach you how to use Intention to Manifest your desires.

    The Holographic Universe by Michael Talbot will teach you WHY this works.
    The Secret by Rhonda Burns will teach you lots of different ways to apply this. And the Power of Intention by Wayne Dyer will give you a foundational daily practice.

    The only thing I could say "against" the book is that there is a lot of information, and if you have a hard time reading (as I do) you may do better with the audio book.

    If you want anything you don't have - from peace of mind to millions of dollars read this book. But also read Holographic Universe.

    They are both non religious and can be used exactly "as is" by anyone atheist, Christian, Wiccan, Buddhist, Universalist...anyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Life Changing

    I had a strained relationship with a family member. It's easier to not be associated with friends if they wrong you. But, when it is family, it is not as easy because they are in your circle of life (no choice). I was searching for an answer on how to cope with this family member. I purchased the book, The Power of Intention by Dr. Wayne Dyer and the CD. I must say that this book has helped me view life differently. I was at a place where the thought of this family member made me angry. After reading this book, I now pray for this person. And now, if that person's name comes up, I genuinely smile inside and feel peace for this person. It all stems from Dr Dyer's philosophy that we must want MORE FOR SOMEONE ELSE than for ourselves. He speaks of the EGO vs CONNECTING TO SOURCE. If you can wrap your mind on what he speaks of here, you will never come from a selfish place again, or feeling offended. The 'Seven Steps of Overcoming Ego' is life changing if you really, really embrace the concepts. I listen to his CD as well. I listen to it in my car or when I take walks in the park. He is so inspirational! I thank Dr Dyer for healing my soul with his powerful words. I gave this book & cd to a dear friend of mine and she loves it. This is a must read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2008

    transformational

    Self Help, spiritual, psychological - a book that has been a life saver to putting years of self doubt into a confirming positive approach to life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2008

    A reviewer

    i've never believed that i could change like this after i read a book it really brought peace to my life, i now believe in me & what i can do more than ever it helped me to see what iam capable of & that life full of options & i can achieve whatever i want.i thank god that i read this book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    I *love* Dr. Wayne Dyer. He has changed my life and my thinking in innumerable ways. I refer to this book often, rather than read it cover to cover. It is full of wisdom and love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    Amazing Insights

    I am still reading this book, and it is changing my life. It's as if everything you know is true is just spelled out to help you live life in harmony rather than discord and negativity. Even though I have a long way to go, I want so show my appreciation to Wayne. Thank you Wayne. After I've read and practiced these teachings more fully, I will have more appropriate language to describe how they are helping me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Mind Opener

    This is such a wonderful book! The first one I read from Dr Wayne Dyer which helps unleash the magnifiscent person we all are from within! Very straighfoward and it was delivered to its simplest and yet profound way!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Willful and manipulative

    Dr. Dyer's main concept is that Intention is an energy force of perfection that is infinite and eternal. If we align ourselves with Intention's purpose then we can attain a higher vibration and access infinite possibilities. I found myself somewhat repelled by the tone of his message. It is unfortunate that I chose an audio book of The Power of Intention. Not only did the author read the script much too quickly for thoughtful comprehension, but I found his suave voice reminded me of an unctuous salesman. Indeed, I thought many of his ideas specious. He speaks of serving mankind, of not disrespecting oneself, of "being Peace" to project peace-all worthy concepts. But I am put off by the rather subtly manipulative quality of his message. The subtitle of his CD, "Co-Creating Your World Your Way," (bold letters are my emphasis) says it all. He suggested uttering God's many names while asking for what one needs, which he affirmed had worked for him and he knew would work for others-whereupon he pitched one of his books on this meditative technique. This plug, as well as those for other books he'd authored, his website, and his daughter's music CD, I found distasteful. I know he touts being open to success and abundance, but I was uncomfortable with his unabashed self-promotion. The theme of The Power of Intention was aligning oneself with the energy of God's intention, but I thought the feeling-tone seemed more to be about how to get God to align with one's own intention.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Handbook for Life

    I began to read the power of intention when I was involved with an emotionally abusive partner. This book gave me the strength to leave the toxic relationship and to rediscover myself. It taught me to start a relationship with myself again and that the most important opinion out there is the opinion that we have with ourselves. I recommend for anyone who is going through a transition period. His words are extremely encouraging and in clear, simple language.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2009

    Power of Intention

    The world would be a better place if more people read this book and changed their way of conducting themselves

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 88 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5