Customer Reviews for

The Power of Myth

Average Rating 4.5
( 56 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Filled to The Brim with Meaningful Information

It is captivating and understandable; anyone can explore and understand the concepts and themes. The Power of Myth encompasses so many themes relating to mythology. The book is brimming with in depth information, from reoccurring symbols like the serpent, the hero's jo...
It is captivating and understandable; anyone can explore and understand the concepts and themes. The Power of Myth encompasses so many themes relating to mythology. The book is brimming with in depth information, from reoccurring symbols like the serpent, the hero's journey that crops up in almost every story ever told, to the driving force of mythology and religion. This book is a complete guide to myths and their importance.
I really enjoyed the way Dr. Campbell intertwined the myths and religious stories from across the world and applied them to the way we live life. The reader also glimpses more details different religions, as Dr. Campbell occasionally tells stories from many different cultures and religions through the world and highlights similarities of these religions. To me this made the themes a lot richer and significant. Dr. Campbell also made them relevant; Star Wars even made its way into the conversation as an example of how the themes in myths aren't mythical.
This book is definitely interesting, but it's not a page turner. I found that I couldn't sit and read it for any long periods of time. This book is not for you if you lack patience or if you looking for a fast and effortless read. However, it is a worthwhile read and if you interested in the way myths are shaped and how they shape our life, or even just religion, definitely read this book, check out the DVD series, or one of Dr. Campbell's other works such as The Hero with a Thousand Faces. The Power of Myth was an incredibly meaningful and enlightening book and I strongly recommend it.

posted by 9639061 on September 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not quite what I was expecting, Joseph Campbell¿s ¿The Power of

Not quite what I was expecting, Joseph Campbell’s “The Power of Myth” isn’t the book I thought it was going to be. What I expected was a page turner that would deepen my knowledge of mythology and its influence on the modern world. What I received was a written trans...
Not quite what I was expecting, Joseph Campbell’s “The Power of Myth” isn’t the book I thought it was going to be. What I expected was a page turner that would deepen my knowledge of mythology and its influence on the modern world. What I received was a written transcription of an interview between Joseph Campbell, writer and researcher of mythology, and Bill Moyers an American journalist and commentator. The basic conversation revolves around how myths have always provided values and morals to the people who believe in them. For example, in Christianity you are jugged based on the deeds you have done in life. The results of these deeds send you to a place where you will be rewarded or punished. The Christian stories are very similar to Egyptian mythology. Personally, I would have liked to have just watch the interview rather than read it and I would have preferred that they stay away from the underlying meaning of each story and delve deeply into the foundations of the myths themselves. I give “The Power of Myth” a three out of five stars mainly because I dislike the interview format and believe that the title mislead readers into thinking that they would end up learning about more myths. At the same time, I must give the book praise in that I did really like the fact that it makes you think deeply about your individual beliefs and your own culture which is something I haven‘t engaged in based on a reading experience in a long time. If you are interested in “The Power of Myth”, I would suggest that you try to find a video copy of the interview. If you can’t, realize that it is a decent read; one that is thought provoking, but will not make your top ten list. If you want to learn more about myths you should take a look at “Heroes, Gods and Monsters of the Greek Myths” or “The Myths, Legends, and Lore of Ireland” that tell the tails and give some extra information without getting overly philosophical.

posted by Thoronthebookguy on September 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 57 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3
  • Posted September 21, 2012

    Power of the Myth was an amazingly interesting book highlighting

    Power of the Myth was an amazingly interesting book highlighting things that make you really think about life in general and how much a myth is in our day to day lives. The author broke down a lot of things that people need help with in life. This book is more of a self help book to let you understand what’s happening to you. Joseph Campbell and Bill Moyers ask questions that you may have never thought of in a million years. They hit on points that have you question a lot of things. The book is extremely easy to read because it’s all in dialogue so its a pretty fast read. My favourite part of this book was when Joseph Campbell went off on how people try so hard to get other to people to like them. Also a huge thing was how married is really important. In myths the husband usually cheats on his unspecting with so when Campbell brought that up it just makes you go wided eyed because the world today is a lot of cheating. Another part of the book was how to honour the mother in mythology the mother is earth the sky is a mother everything is a mother but now a days in religion we honour the father, so it just got me to think about the partriracle world today. In all I really enjoyed the book it was quite good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2012

    So. Much. Information. To. Process. Picking up The Power of Myth

    So. Much. Information. To. Process. Picking up The Power of Myth I definitely did not expect a 287 page interview between Joseph Campbell and Bill Moyers but on the contrary it kept the information in its most pure form which I did in fact enjoy. I found myself not being able to read this for long periods of time, one I couldn't process the information fast enough and two it could not keep my attention due to it being in an interview format. After reading this book I continuously found myself referencing back to it in the books I had read and into my daily life. I acquired a much greater knowledge of myself, the world and how mythology has shaped many of the things we do in our daily lives. I can predict in about a year or so I will pick this book back up again and re-read it to find all the information and thought provoking ideas that I had missed out on the first time. I’m sorry to say but if what you’re expecting out of this book is a page turner that would deepen you’re knowledge of mythology, it’s probably not the book for you. If you still want the knowledge of what Joseph Campbell has to say you will manage to make it through this book and once you do expect your view on everything to drastically change.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2012

    Can't we all just get along? This book tells us about the simila

    Can't we all just get along? This book tells us about the similarities between myths and religions of all places and times. It gets to the truth of the myths hiding behind the masks of culture and history. It is a collection of an interview series with Bill Moyers and Joseph Campbell in the eighties, so it's in the format of a question and answer session-no, correction, it's more like a discussion. This book helps you to understand what lies at the heart of human experience. However Campbell seems to sneer at Christianity often. But if you are spiritual or religious, as I am, rather than undermining your faith it can enrich it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    Once more, Read it! A. R. Dabek "Bully"

    Thank you for power of myth! As i write, even in the EU "Bully" is big, Andrew Robert Dabek a bully but only to old & weak. Those with the "Power" of myth the bully fears, cry baby cry! andy w/ S.S. #357-66-0559 WIMP ANDY! WE ARE SO SORRY FOR YOU BULLY Word is out at UCSB myth topples baby bully! Just have them cut off now! End it, we did and thank you Dr. Campbell myth go figure? You have ended yourself, Ah!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2011

    Fascinating and Informational read

    The Power of Myth by Joseph Campbell is a fascinating and informative read. This book is an interview between Joseph Campbell and Bill Moyers, so needless to say it can be dry and uninteresting at times. Most of the time however, it is very fascinating and causes a lot of thought about modern cultures relation to ancient myths from all over. Before reading this novel I was unaware of how much mythology influenced cultures all over the world even today. Campbell included information and basic myths from all types of cultures and proceed to explain how they influenced the world today. Another interesting thing to be learned from this book is that all myths will share similar themes weather they come from North America, Africa, or East Asia. The basic myths that appear in every culture demonstrate that people all over the world are essentially the same. To benefit from this book all that will be necessary is the will to think about all the different cultures and beliefs that inevitably sculpt today modern world. If while reading, one has an open mind to the maters being discussed it will be easier to comprehend all the myths being discussed. In a book such as this comprehension is a needed first step to finding enjoyment. Although at times The Power of Myth may prove to be uninteresting over all it is one of the most interesting, and enjoyable works of literature I have ever read. It can become uninteresting when Moyers and Campbell go into an excruciating amount of detail on one subject which would be better left at one paragraph tops. Taking the time to read this fascinating book proves to be inevitably worth it in every way imaginable. It is very informative and causes a great deal of thought on the mythological realm that is often ignored in American society.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Overly Complex and Obnoxiously Scattered

    Don't be fooled by the word "myth". When one hears that word, I automatically thought of Ancient Greek Mythology. No, this book tells nothing about Ancient Greek Mythology. Personally, I don't think that "myth" has been used appropriately, because when I think myth, I don't think Christianity, Bhuddism, or any such religious stuff, which is actually what the book is about. Basically, the 2 authors, Bill Moyers and Joseph Campbell have a conversation - yes this book is completely the dialogue of a conversation between them - about the different ways that people of old and some people today have experienced their religions.
    Now don't get me wrong, I wasn't opposed to this at all. Actually, I thought it would be interesting to get a new viewpoint on religion. However, the authors just took the analyzation too far and were completely random! I mean, one section would say that they were discussing the Goddess in the polytheist religions, but really they would go off about how in some cultures boys became men through obnoxious rituals - or something of the sort. It was very scattered, therefore it was quite a bit more difficult to read.
    Being someone who does read a lot of older books with far more complex words and ways of speaking, I was capable of reading this book. But I would never recommend this book to a person who isn't a strong reader with a large vocabulary. I would also not recommend this book to someone who has a short attention span, because even with a good long attention span, one can find it easy to become distracted by a lot of things while reading this book; I know I did.
    It's not that it was a bad book with completely horrible ideas. There were quite a few statements in the book that totally made sense and were, in my opinion, quite correct! But there were also a lot of statements that I found entirely rediculous and obnoxious. Not only that, but they tended to contradict many other ideas within the book. These statements made me enjoy the book a lot less simply because I'm strongly opinionated. Not to mention this was a Non-Fic book, and I really prefer Fiction books; they're so much more excititng!
    So don't read this if you are strongly opinionated, prefer Fiction and excitement - because it was a really dry book - and if you were expecting it to be about and tell the myths about battles and gods and goddesses. Just . don't read it. You'll be so brain-dead by the end of it that even those interesting tid-bits will be lost to you.

    0 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2011

    Dr. Jos. Campbell was Amazing in Understanding Mythology

    Dr, Jos.Campbell was The most popular PhD.@Smith when still all women. I would have loved to audit his course on Mythology.This book is a delight and savored for days/nights just like these.Cold and nothing on 500 channels?You will understand more than When You Were in College/University. Insightfull and pares down to a true level of the everyday abilities of Mythology. I passed my course,but this is a great way to 'catch up' on those tiresome all~nighters to get through exam.I have one quibble w/ Dr. J. Campbell;his belief we are the same as people in Middle Ages! So, since we all have individual finger prints, why are we doomed to be the same? Still a wonderfull book.To be honest, I flunked my exam and took my course again w/ a well deserved A.Long nights and osmosis helped!This will be The Book to save injury to Psyche.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2008

    A reviewer

    I recently revisited this title and on the third read I still find it powerful, amazing and full of so much truth. It is both facinating as a reader of fiction and as a man of the world and of life. It takes so much of what we know and don't thinkof in terms of life and myth and how stories are all unique and at the same time all the same and reflections of who we are as people in the world. I recommended this title highly to anyone who has the opportunity to read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2001

    we are the same,so let's love each other

    Campbell showed that how we are the stems of the same plant.each has its own shape,but some thing inseperatable.the root is invisible,but undeniable,too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2000

    Absolutely Excellent

    Wow! The only thing better was actually watching the series on PBS. Campbell's stories are mesmerizing. The breadth and depth of his knowledge are very evident in the book. He speaks on numerous topics and brings together a vast array of different ideas and references. This would come with my highest possible recommendation!! If you can afford the videotapes those are even better!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 57 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3