Customer Reviews for

The Power of Nice: How to Conquer the Business World with Kindness

Average Rating 4.5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2009

    Not for the Gordon Gekko's of the World

    A couple of years ago, there was a story in Esquire by a guy who "killed them with kindness" by making it his personal mission to thank everyone he came into contact with in a business or even personal capacity. So, each day he sat down and wrote a dozen e-mails to people specifically thanking them for their help with some minor thing (scheduling an interview, booking his plane ticket, etc.) Then there is "Yes Man" (the book, NOT the movie), which is an autobiography of a comedian who tried saying "Yes" to every Yes or No question for a year and ended up winning the lottery, making loads of new friends, and getting engaged. Then we have the Power of Nice...

    The book is a perfect completion of this sort-of accidental trilogy. The Power of Nice is a positive tome that counteracts the horribly negative business world's view that everyone has to be a cutthroat Gordon Gekko (a la "Wall Street") to get ahead. Look where that old idea has gotten us.

    Unlike my review, this book is a simple, quick read that will really motivate you. And, at the very least, you'll come out believing that nice people do often finish first.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Wish everyone would read this

    Be nice, and people will walk all over you. If you believe that, you're probably not someone I'd want to be around. And neither would most people. That's why The Power of Nice argues that being nice, not being an aggressive jerk, is actually the best way to get ahead. This is an enjoyable, breezy read, but it's also informative and practical. And the idea it proposes is win-win: be nicer, everyone!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A must-read for job seekers.

    Given the current economic downturn, when so many of us are losing our jobs and facing real economic hardship, we all could use a little reminder about the Power of Nice. As the career experts will tell you, "Now is not the time to burn bridges" and Kaplan Thaler and Koval's concise, enjoyable, and downright entertaining guide provides you with all the tools you need to put the Power of Nice to work. As they explain, being nice isn't the same as being a push-over. We can be nice while being strong and in the end, reap the rewards of our stronger networks and enviable reputations.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2007

    Very Powerful Reminders and Ideas!

    Growing up, my parents worked hard to instill the power of nice in all three of their children. I fondly remember Dad saying, 'A little bit of sugar goes a long way!' This book reinforces what my parents set out to accomplish during our childhood years. In my adult life, I have relied on this very important lesson and love the fact that it's now supported in print! Not only does it provide helpful reminders of the importance of being nice to one another, but it also includes ideas that can be easily implemented into our daily living. Thank you for reminding us just how far a little bit of sugar can truly go!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2007

    Bake that pie!

    This book clearly outlines the formula for success. I've been practicing the 'power of nice' for a few years and can say that having tried the opposite approach, I count this philosophy and practice with every ounce of attainment in my business and personal life. It's fantastic to see other businesspeople doing the same. The fact that the authors are at the helm of a billion dollar ad agency which is one of the fastest growing in the US is just icing on the cake! As they say, the proof is in the pudding.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2006

    Power of Nice: How to Conquer the Business World with Kindness

    The book¿s enduring takeaway is deceptively simple . . . nice isn¿t just good, it¿s winning. A valuable reminder since our instinct to be nice is often lost in the daily pressures that drive our careers. Providing stories from their business lives and those of acquaintances as testimony, the authors drive home quite convincingly why nice is better . . . the psychic and tangible rewards. We can¿t help but see some of ourselves in these examples, and be inspired to achieve greater success by approaching others a little more thoughtfully. This is really an enjoyable book, with a meaningful message that you can act upon to make a difference in your personal and professional life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2006

    Power of Nice: How to Conquer the Business World with Kindness

    The book¿s enduring takeaway is deceptively simple nice isn¿t just good, it¿s winning. A valuable reminder since our instinct to be nice is often lost in the daily pressures that drive our careers. Providing stories from their business lives and those of acquaintances as testimony, the authors drive home quite convincingly why nice is better . . . the psychic and tangible rewards. We can¿t help but see some of ourselves in these examples, and be inspired to achieve greater success by approaching others a little more thoughtfully. This is really an enjoyable book, with a meaningful message that you can act upon to make a difference in your personal and professional life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2006

    Everyone Should Read This

    I received 'The Power of Nice' as part of a Bzz Agent campaign. I am hooked on this wonderful little book. It is based on the six principles of nice which are very similar to things our mothers taught us as children. It is sort of The Golden Rule in a business context. Linda Kaplan and Robin Koval have put together a business book that also translates perfectly into everday life. I'm buying this for everyone I know!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2006

    A thought-provoking read

    The Power of Nice is a well-written, well-researched look into how nice guys can (and should) finish first. It will make you rethink how you interact with people both professionally and personally. There are lots of examples of truly nice people that make a difference throughout an organization and even impact the bottom line. I notice I have begun to smile more and take a little extra time with people. Good book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2006

    Make the World a Better Place

    This little book can do more to make the world a better place than anything I have read lately. Not only does reading it help people (not just women), understand how getting ahead in their career by being nice is more effecient than being cut throat. It also serves as a lesson on how to treat people on a day to day basis...pointing out that 'nice' must become a habit. People should not mistake this as a 'chick' book. Any powerful man who reads it will agree it is a little, but strong message to be heeded by all.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2006

    common sense to the rescue

    I am a bzz agent and was sent this book in advance as part of a campaign to get the word out and get my opinion of this book. It is common sense folks! he whole book is how you should have been raised by your parents and how to apply it in your work and social life. Such a simple premise and you know I think people forget how doing something for someone else makes them feel and you feel and how an act of kindness at work and at play helps alot of people. There are work questions in the book called 'Nice Cubes' and I ignored them until I finished the book then I went back and did the homework. It taught me alot about myself.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2006

    MEGA LIFE-ENHANCEMENT BOOK !

    THIS BOOK CAN HELP CHANGE YOUR LIFE! IT'S FILLED WITH GREAT STORIES OF HOW BEING NICE CREATED ABUNDANCE...IN BUSINESS, IN FAMILY LIFE, IN THE COMMUNITY, IN ALL ASPECTS OF LIFE. IT'S ABOUT A WARMER WAY OF LOOKING AT OUR INTERACTIONS WITH PEOPLE, TO ACHIEVE GREATER HAPPINESS AND GREATER SUCCESS. AND IT'S ABOUT HELPING OTHERS ALONG THE WAY, AND THUS HELPING OURSELVES, BY BECOMING HAPPIER FOR DOING SO. MAY THIS BOOK CREATE A 'NICE' REVOLUTION!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    WILL """ NOT """ RECCOMEND TO ANYONE

    I HAVE """""""" N E V E R """"""" my purchase???

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Not as good

    I bought this book after reading the power of small which is a good book but I am dissapointed by this one. I read "How to win friends and influence people" right before so this book has been boring and useless.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2009

    The book was okay...

    Wasn't overly impressed, probably because the book seemed to be a review of other books. One word summary, be nice because it can be helpful in the business world. There, saved you $12.50!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Real-life stories on why being nice pays

    Niceness has a bad name in business. Indeed, usually it seems as if the bad boys and girls get ahead, not the good and kindhearted. No one would call former GE chief Jack "Neutron" Welch or Leona "Queen of Mean" Helmsley nice. But Welch started poor and is now worth $720 million. High-school dropout Helmsley was a billionaire until her tax-evasion fall. Authors Linda Kaplan Thaler and Robin Koval say these two toughies are not-so-nice exceptions that prove the rule: Being nice is not only the right way to act, it is the smart way to get ahead. The authors present real-life examples of nice guys who finish first. They demonstrate that treating people well pays in the end. getAbstract endorses their humane premise, while confessing some skepticism about their cheery take on how the world works. If you've lost a promotion, for instance, you might not agree that life is always sunny. The authors say hard work, not influence, always wins. Not necessarily, alas. However, this optimistic book has a lot of positive messages, including information nuggets labeled "nice cubes." One says you can ease people's stress by giving them chocolate. Another notes that you can make yourself and others feel better by smiling at them. That rings true: Any day when you get chocolate and a smile can't be all bad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2009

    Good info

    Great information, and good tools for becoming better at business.
    I would also recommend Full Throttle by Dr. Gregg Steinberg

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Being Nice Can Reap Rewards

    Being nice to people doesn't mean we are pushovers or passive, but it means we are actively accountable for how we treat people in this world. I wonder how many times we've been rude or uncaring for no good reason, and then ended up hurting someone unnecessarily? This book will help you focus on the things that really matter. It isn't hard work, and it will change your thinking for the better.

    The Power of Nice was a short and simple read. It is a lovely book to read right before you go to bed. I did this and woke up in the morning feeling more positive about the world. It helped motivate me to look upon the world with gratefulness. Oh how your life changes once you do that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2009

    optimism as a business tool

    The "power of nice" is really a book about optimism as a business tool. Assume that others will respond positively to your attempts at warmth and your random acts of kindness - and they probably will. In today's world, this is a message people need to hear!

    - Lisa from MA

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2