Customer Reviews for

The Power of One

Average Rating 4
( 233 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(153)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(31)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Amazing

I had a project in my World History class, we were required to read a historical fiction novel. I never really read much historical fiction books. I just so happen to find this book at Barnes & Nobles and read all the great reviews about it. At first glance this looked ...
I had a project in my World History class, we were required to read a historical fiction novel. I never really read much historical fiction books. I just so happen to find this book at Barnes & Nobles and read all the great reviews about it. At first glance this looked like the size of my algebra text book. But after the first chapter I was hooked. I had to know more, I had to keep going. I couldn't put the book down! This novel following Peekay to when he is 5, until he is free from the Judge, and all the people he met, the lives he changed, and the lives he would touch. I really don't know what to say about this book, other than it capturing my imagination and almost making me tear up at parts. I'm 15, rather short, and asian. At times I could almost relate to what Peekay felt. This novel is just so powerful, in feelings and emotional. It almost reaches out and pulls you into it. Though whe i reached the last few pages, I got really upset because it was about to end. I didn't want it to end... 'First with the head then with the heart' -Hoppie

posted by Anonymous on March 22, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

50 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

Wrong Book

I am posting this as a warning to those purchasing this Nook book. I was hoping to purchase the original The Power of One and ended up with the Young Reader's Condensed version. I have no interest in the Young Reader's version, and the original does not appear to be ava...
I am posting this as a warning to those purchasing this Nook book. I was hoping to purchase the original The Power of One and ended up with the Young Reader's Condensed version. I have no interest in the Young Reader's version, and the original does not appear to be available for the Nook. The description does not state that it is the condensed version. I am very disappointed. Beware when you purchase this for your Nook!

posted by ml1033 on May 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 233 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Posted May 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Wrong Book

    I am posting this as a warning to those purchasing this Nook book. I was hoping to purchase the original The Power of One and ended up with the Young Reader's Condensed version. I have no interest in the Young Reader's version, and the original does not appear to be available for the Nook. The description does not state that it is the condensed version. I am very disappointed. Beware when you purchase this for your Nook!

    50 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2011

    Well, add me to the list of those who got misled.

    A friend gave me some book recommendations and The Power of One was one of them. I purchased the Nook version and enjoyed the book. But, at the very end (after the glossary) is a note that I'd just read the young reader's version and that this version "only told half the story." What the hell? Nowhere in the description does B&N let you know this. So, as others have warned, don't buy this version unless you specifically want the condensed version.

    Edit/Add: Goodbye B&N, at least for Nook books. I love and frequent your store. I've also been a B&N club member for years. But, I won't be buying any more electronic books from you.

    I emailed customer service and clearly (and politely) explained the problem. I also pointed them to this book's page, where they can read the many reviews from others who were misled. I even have a screenshot of the B&N web page for this book - it clearly shows a picture of, and describes, the FULL version, but as we've found out the link on that page is for the CONDENSED electronic book. Their advertising in this respect may not be false, as I'll give them the benefit of the doubt and assume it's an error. But the response was "our records show you successfully downloaded the book" and went on to explain that they do not give refunds or credits. Well of course I downloaded the book, as that's the only way to find out it's not the book which is advertised.

    I'm not so unhappy that they made a mistake. Those happen. But, when given the opportunity to correct the page and issue a credit so that I could apply it towards the full print book, they accepted no responsibility for their error. So, since I'm using an Android tablet for my reader and have other options, I downloaded my new book for another reader app. If B&N reads these reviews, perhaps they'll take the second chance to make things right. If not, then I guess that's the end of Nook books for me...

    19 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2011

    Misleading+purchase

    Just+realized+that+what+you+get+on+the+Nook+is+a+young+reader%27s+edition.+I+would+much+prefer+to+be+reading+the+whole+thing.+I%27m+about+half+way+through%2C+so+I+don%27t+want+to+stop+reading%2C+but+I+feel+cheated.+No+complaints+about+the+text%2C+just+about+this+version+and+that+it+was+not+stated+anywhere.

    15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2011

    nook book disappointing

    Very disappointed that the nook book was not the complete book...

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    Not to happy

    I am reading this book for school and decided to buy it for my nook, well i also have a book at school and just realized thatthis version is only half the story! I just got done reading a few other reveiws and they confirmed that its not the whole story. I am very upset because it left out so many parts and i would of liked to know this wasnt thefull version instead of being completly confused in class discusions and while reading the text from my hard copy of the real version and switching to reading off my nook. It was very confusing and upseting. It should say in the discription that this is not the full version, i didnt even think of reading the reviews untill it was too late. And now i cant even finish reading this off my nook because it is not the full story and i am required to know thefull story.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2011

    Misleading

    Like others I purchased the version for young readers in error.I think our money should be refunded.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2011

    WRONG Version

    I had the same experience trying to purchase for my Nook.
    the young edition was not what I expected.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2011

    As an employee for BN

    I think its ridiculous that it does not state anywhere that this is a condensed version. I spoke on behalf of a customer today to our instore support and was able to get a credit for $6.99 for the customer. I did also recommend thay they put somewhere in the overview that its an abridged version. Its sad to see the company lose customers over something so fixable.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    How to ruin one of the best books

    I was very disappointed when I got this book and found out it was some kind of junior edition. In my opinion the original book is one of my top ten books and a must read for just about anyone. Some of the topics covered may be to intense for someone before 13 or so unless they are a more mature child, so maybe they shouldn't read it until they are older, but why chop it up and water it down. I find it very upsetting.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    UGH

    I do not want the reader's digest version. I am very upset that I bought this before I knew it was not the real thing! WHAT THE HECK

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2011

    DO NOT buy for NOOK!

    This is a great book, please read it! But if you have a Nook and are looking forward to the full story....you will be disapointed. I purchased this book for my Nook and it turned out to be the shortened (school book) version. I am very disapointed that this was not better labeled and that the full version is not offered on the nook.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2011

    This is NOT the full book!!!

    Be Careful when purchasing this eBook -- I thought I was purchasing the FULL book, but it turned out to be the young readers condensed edition...definitely NOT what I was wanting to purchase. Very disappointing....

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2008

    Amazing

    I had a project in my World History class, we were required to read a historical fiction novel. I never really read much historical fiction books. I just so happen to find this book at Barnes & Nobles and read all the great reviews about it. At first glance this looked like the size of my algebra text book. But after the first chapter I was hooked. I had to know more, I had to keep going. I couldn't put the book down! This novel following Peekay to when he is 5, until he is free from the Judge, and all the people he met, the lives he changed, and the lives he would touch. I really don't know what to say about this book, other than it capturing my imagination and almost making me tear up at parts. I'm 15, rather short, and asian. At times I could almost relate to what Peekay felt. This novel is just so powerful, in feelings and emotional. It almost reaches out and pulls you into it. Though whe i reached the last few pages, I got really upset because it was about to end. I didn't want it to end... 'First with the head then with the heart' -Hoppie

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    Not the Original!

    So disappointed. This is the young reader's condensed version of the book, which is not specified anywhere in the description!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    Unhappy this was the condensed Children's version!

    I did not realize this was the condensed children's version of the original book until after it was purchased. After reading a few chapters, I purchased the hard copy of the complete book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2011

    Wrong Book 2

    Just want to confirm the last post. I too was misled into buying this condensed version.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2007

    One of my all time favorites

    Courtney does a fabulous job! The main character is amazing, the setting is incredible and the conflicts are thought provoking. This is by far one of my favorite books! If you get a chance to travel overseas look for the sequel, 'Tandia,' as it is not sold in the U.S.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2013

    The power of One by Bryce Courtenay is a very deep and thoughtfu

    The power of One by Bryce Courtenay is a very deep and thoughtful book with tranquility and culture. It is a very emotional book and been developed into a movie. It shows that even in the depths of hatred, a little boy can become something big. I really liked that the author put lots of history into this book. The locations and racism were all things that really happened. It spans from the end of World War II to a few decades after. This book shows a place that is out of reach of Hitler’s Nazi party, but is still affected by it, and dealing with the aftermath. It has a lot of culture, such as when the author uses practices from different African tribes and where the main character can speak different languages. The main character brings together the different tribes of Africa and unites them. He becomes known as a reborn war chief, set to free the Africans, because he speaks for the people. He suffers many losses, but he rises out of those losses and helps the people. The main character is a boxer, and he fights for the people of Africa. He has never lost a fight, because he is the symbol of freedom, and freedom never loses. It starts with a simple idea that a friend placed in his head, like a revolution, and it grew until he was he was fighting to become a winner, to win the championship, and win the revolution.
    Something I do not like in this movie is how the child talks in the beginning. It is almost as if he cannot do anything about his situation, like he’s given up. He also puts too much faith in things that are not to be trusted. As a kid, he put all his faith in his pet chicken, which later died.
    Overall, this was an amazing book, and I think it shows the true spirit of Africa.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2010

    This book is a Winner!!

    The Power of One is one of the greatest books I have ever read. I first read it over a summer vacation and I fell in love with it. Although the story can be graphic at times the story is one that all people should know. It is full of highs and lows that make your heart wrench and soar; Bryce Courtenay is a literary master in this regard.

    I would have to say that this is a must read for all people over the age of 13 because it is truly shows that nothing can hold you back if you try your best and have the right people to surround you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    "The Power of One" by Bryce Courtenay is Nominated for Best Novel Ever Written

    A boy born in 1939 South Africa comes of age. I nominate it for best novel of all the ones that I have read. I am actually still reading it, but saw the film version, which is think is the best film that I ever saw. Don't miss it either one. If you are looking for a book gift for a boy or young man, he'll love this. It has Zulu wisdom and wisdom of Peekay's grandfather. Peekay suffers from discrimination - he's British in an Afrikaner boarding school. The stress of it causes bedwetting. On a visit home, his Zula Nanny sends a message to great Zulu medicine man, Inkosi-Inkosikazi about Peekay's night water problem. Two weeks later the Inkosi arrives in his big black Buick. The story of how he cures Peekay's night water and the rest of Peekay's maturing are so wonderful and realistic that I'm sure that you'll love this novel as much as I do.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 233 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12