Customer Reviews for

The Power of One

Average Rating 4
( 226 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(151)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(26)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Amazing

I had a project in my World History class, we were required to read a historical fiction novel. I never really read much historical fiction books. I just so happen to find this book at Barnes & Nobles and read all the great reviews about it. At first glance this looked ...
I had a project in my World History class, we were required to read a historical fiction novel. I never really read much historical fiction books. I just so happen to find this book at Barnes & Nobles and read all the great reviews about it. At first glance this looked like the size of my algebra text book. But after the first chapter I was hooked. I had to know more, I had to keep going. I couldn't put the book down! This novel following Peekay to when he is 5, until he is free from the Judge, and all the people he met, the lives he changed, and the lives he would touch. I really don't know what to say about this book, other than it capturing my imagination and almost making me tear up at parts. I'm 15, rather short, and asian. At times I could almost relate to what Peekay felt. This novel is just so powerful, in feelings and emotional. It almost reaches out and pulls you into it. Though whe i reached the last few pages, I got really upset because it was about to end. I didn't want it to end... 'First with the head then with the heart' -Hoppie

posted by Anonymous on March 22, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

49 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

Wrong Book

I am posting this as a warning to those purchasing this Nook book. I was hoping to purchase the original The Power of One and ended up with the Young Reader's Condensed version. I have no interest in the Young Reader's version, and the original does not appear to be ava...
I am posting this as a warning to those purchasing this Nook book. I was hoping to purchase the original The Power of One and ended up with the Young Reader's Condensed version. I have no interest in the Young Reader's version, and the original does not appear to be available for the Nook. The description does not state that it is the condensed version. I am very disappointed. Beware when you purchase this for your Nook!

posted by ml1033 on May 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2012

    Give it a chance

    It took me a while to get into this book, but I'm glad I gave it some time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    GOOD BOOK

    Did I like this book? Yes I did, but the beginning of the book is a little well a lot strange. I was really considering not reading it after a few pages, but after the beginning the book starts to take shape, the book is not spot on in all the facts. But for the most part you can learn about the war. I feel the book had a more of a biography feel then a novel book. It is based on the authors life though, so I was kinda expecting that. Do I think it's a good book for a high school student? I really think it depends on the student, some students like me that don't really like to read might find the book a little odd at first and be scared away from reading and go read a less challenging, shorter book. The book could become confuses at times and u would really have to focus to stay into the book. But having to stay focused threw this long book was good for me, because I'm not a huge fan of reading and when I would put the book down and not read it for a while I would have to go back and reread the book. So the book its self is a good motivator to keep reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2006

    Book of inspiration

    The Power of One written by Bryce Courtenay was given to me by a close friend who often shared the same interest as me. It was recommended to me because I am very interested in the philosophy behind things and the psychology that initiates the drive of a human. The novel is a compelling story about a young boy growing up and his experiences affecting every decision he makes. The setting takes place during the Second World War in multicultural South Africa. The story traces his life starting as a young English boy in Afrikaans dominated boarding school. He was brutally bullied, and later draws upon the strength of character that it took to survive. That experience also gives him a characteristic of empathy. The boy, who takes on the name Peekay, has every intention of becoming a welter weight champion due to his prior experiences. The story is a set of ordinary day to day events set in a rich blend social confrontations. The history behind each ethnicity is clearly stated and the reader not only has an interesting story but a historic one as well. The plot flows nicely with each event in his life affecting his future goal. The plot has many different story lines between the boy and another person or persons. The main story lines are that of the Afrikaans, the prisoners, the prison warders, the educating adults, and the rich boarding school friends. Each character is described to the point where the reader can see him or her perfectly and each culture is explained to the maximum. Every new event is a cultural learning experience. The story line serves as a moral that perseverance brings victory. This moral played against the theme of racism, but also taught that spirit can overcome all. One person can make a difference. Bryce Courtenay¿s writing is clear and concise, not too wordy but still beautiful. He uses dialect to emphasize on the African cultures and the difficulty of communication at that time. Courtenay uses his experiences in real life to make a fictional story reality. He was born in South Africa and spent a few years in the copper mines of Central Africa just as Peekay did. The events all have a sense of realism and the reader can feel the Courtenay¿s passion as if it was his very own life story. All in all it was a terrific piece of literature. I would recommend this book to any everyone, especially athletes. It forces a person to think outside of the box and to question what he or she truly wants in life. The book helps find inner motivation and love for what they do. The Power of One is one that satisfies as well as inspires the reader. This book is a great book with fascinating philosophy and motivational thinking. The book makes the reader feel good about them selves, and helps the reader look inside his or herself to find his or her ¿power of one.¿

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2006

    EXCELLENT BOOK!!!!!!!!!

    Set in a world torn apart, where man enslaves his fellow man and freedom remains elusive, The Power of One is the moving story of one young man's search for the love that binds friends, the passion that binds lovers, and the realization that it takes only one to change the world. A weak and friendless boy growing up in South Africa during World War II, Peekay turns to two older men, one black and one white, to show him how to find the courage to dream, to succeed, to triumph over a world when all seems lost, and to inspire him to summon up the most irrersistible force of all: the Power of One.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2000

    Great

    It had a great plot and was worth the time to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2000

    Amazing!!!

    I'm a 16 year old from Canada(the great white north) This book was amazing. It's everything you want in a book. I read it in 3 days straight!! You can't help but fall in love with the character!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2000

    A divine book

    This book is wonderful. It dives into the life of Peekay, a young child scarred for life by the tragedy of life. I didn't like boxing, but for some reason, I do now! I only give it 4 stars because even though it is beautifully written, something is missing, a magic, if you will.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 1999

    A good, fast read

    Jaunty and moving. Tough to put down. Inspiring even. Great for teens and adults alike. Incredibly entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2