Customer Reviews for

The Power of Positive Thinking: 10 Traits for Maximum Results

Average Rating 4
( 78 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted August 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Outstanding. One of the 10 best books I've ever read.

    I used a highlighter and still refer back to key sections of this book weekly. This book can be a life-changer if you re-visit the book frequently upon completion. You'll need to have a Christian belief system to get the full value as the author refers to biblical passages throughout his writing. This book has helped calm down my mind. It has helped me take a more unselfish approach to life. And it has slowed my pace down. I am grateful I read this book and would recommend it to anyone searching to tweak/overhaul their mental approach to life. But remember, use a highlighter and re-visit the text, otherwise it'll wear off in a week or two.

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    A must read for all walks of life

    Whether you're a firm believer in Christ or of a strictly scientific evidence type of mind, this book can and will be of immense help and inspiration. It is very easy to read, yet full of techniques and procedures to get you the life you want. The only requirement from you is to give it an honest try.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A good commom sense approach for thinking positive.

    I believe that it is a really old fashioned book about the power of positive thinking. Being raised by my grandfather he told me about many of these subjects that are in the book. I think that it provides a good reminder that we really become the person that we believe we are. We are what we think and speak. It really doesn't take much some days to shake off that negative feeling but other days it may seem impossible. It is a good inspirational read to jolt you back on track.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Positive Change Can Be Made

    I was given this book at the beginning of my divorce over 10 years ago. Not only did it help me through some very rough times, but it helped change my attitude towards my then toddlers as as single parent.

    Negative thoughts can weigh you down and keep you from achieving a full and happy life. By working to give worries and negativity to God, we can free ourselves for a better life.

    I recently bought two copies of the book for gifts. One was for my mom, who is going through some hard times. She gave me my original copy so I wanted to remind her that it is always useful. The second copy was for my best friend's 22 year old. She is always worried and seems to get sick a lot. After reading the book, I can already see an improvement in her health and her outlook.

    The changes that I made based on this book have affected my life in so many ways it is impossible to count. The best thing is being positive and remembering to 'give it to God' when I am not.

    I often wonder how people who hold grudges and worry constantly can get things done. I know that I can get through anything with God and the power of positive thinking on my side.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2008

    wow!!!

    Norman Vincent Peale is such a wise man. I read this book when I was in a very troubling scenario. By reading this book it made me realize that dwelling on the negatives wasn¿t going to make my situation any better. So I did what the book explains, try to focus on the positive factors of the situation your in. This helped me through some very troubling times and it made all the difference. This book saved me in many many ways, mainly from becoming demotivated. Overall I really loved this book, and would definitely recommend it to any reader.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2007

    This is the REAL Secret to a rich, happy life

    A friend gave me this book after I told him I enjoyed the positive thinking preached in Rhonda Byrne's The Secret, but did not like that it neglects God. He gave me this book. In it, Mr. Peale suggests simple ways to change your thinking and your life by focusing on positive affirmations - many from the Bible. He is not at all preachy but disarmingly down-to-earth and honest, and includes numerous anecdotes to support his recommendations. The writing is a bit old-fashioned, but I find it part of its charm. I have actively incorporated his suggestions for a week now and already feel less anxious, more optimistic and more in control of my life.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The Power of Positive Thinking

    I have read this book over and over for 26 years. During this time in my life, I had to re-read it. I could not find my copy so I purchased another.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2010

    Inspirational Manual for Life.

    I read this book over twenty years ago and still use what I learned from it in my everyday life. I purchace one to give away and when I run accross a person in my life with a major challenge in their life, I give it to them. Recently a friend developed Cancer and I put together a tote bag I call her "Inspiration Bag" and I fill it with positive things. When she goes to Chemo treatments, she takes her bag. This book is included. I learned through this book if you keep a positive frame of mind a person can help heal alot of things, whether it is physical or spiritual. It's Life changing!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2013

    I'm going to take back my Real Life starting "now"!!!

    I'm going to take back my Real Life starting "now"!!! Thank you, King of Kings, loving friend, Holy Spirit, Redemer, in Jesus name.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2012

    Life changer !

    This book is everything that everyone has described about it. The information and techniques can be used over and over and are timeless. It is important to mention that there are frequent references to the bible so an openness to Christian faith is advised. I re-read parts of the book a second time to help me through a difficult life experience so it's wonderful to have this book to hold onto and reference for years to come.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2012

    I read this book years ago when I was a teenager. I was unaware

    I read this book years ago when I was a teenager. I was unaware of it being based on the Christian beliefs. However, from the day I finished reading the book, I have put the teachings of being positive no matter what life deals out to me (and there have been several). All of my friends and family have pointed out that I am a very optimistic and positive person, no matter what. I know that this book changed my entire frame of mind and I continue to practice those same positive thoughts all the time.

    I wouldn't really consider this so much a religious based book as one of spirituality and using my own logical mind is how I always focused on this book and the help it has given me.

    I have recommended a few of my friends who are going through tough times that they need to read this book because it helped me and one friend of mine has told me that I am so much better at being positive than her and I'm an amazing role model for her as she has taken my advice and is in the process of changing her thoughts to being more positive to help her. I would recommend this book to anyone who wants to change their lives for the better with having a positive and optimistic attitude all the time.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2011

    This book is TIMELESS

    When first published in 1952 he talks about dealing with such a fast paced world....today in 2011 his view & solutions still work wonderfully. It's been years sinced I last picked up this book. I just love his thoughts & writing and so glad I could add it to my Nook library. .

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2011

    The Power of Positive Thinking

    I can't recall the day I brought this book, but it has been laying around the house in many locations. Every time I read a portion of it, it simply inspire me. I just need to have it my nook has a companion.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2010

    The most helpful book, next to the Bible, that I have ever read, and it will be in my "permanent library" to pass on to future generations.

    I would like also like to recommend Three Cups of Tea by Greg Mortenson to everyone.
    This is a very inspirational book regarding the difference one person has made in the lives of school children, especially girls, in Pakistan and Afghanistan.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2008

    Tired of Your Negative Paradyme

    If you are ready for a change in your life? Open your eyes to the power of your personal attitude.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2006

    Peale's classic still has a message to deliver

    If you are looking for a guide to faith-based self-improvement, this book is, well, the bible. In one of the earliest contemporary self-help books, famed clergyman Norman Vincent Peale explains how you can overcome any obstacle, internal or external, through the dynamic combination of the 'science of faith' with psychological counseling and modern medicine. He teaches you how to banish the negative thoughts that cause fear and failure, and replace them with 'the power of positive thinking.' In this warm, faith-based book, first published 1952, he teaches readers his approach to solving problems and accepting yourself. He advocates using the New Testament and prayer to attain peace, happiness, love and success. The catch is, you must be one of the faithful to take full advantage of Peale¿s Christian teachings. His classic bestseller is more than a warm, if slightly quaint, self-help book. It¿s a cultural icon, filled with old-time religion and practical examples. We recommend it as a touchstone in this genre. If you want to walk this path, Peale got here first. In fact, many of today¿s self-development bestsellers have their roots in this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2013

    Powerful

    This book has an inspirational quality that stands alone. Reading it will give you hope.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2013

    A book I am now re-reading to keep all these valuable principles

    A book I am now re-reading to keep all these valuable principles fresh in my mind and in use on a daily basis. It's all so basic and it works.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2007

    The Man Who Coined 'Positive Thinking' Helped Resuscitate My Lagging Faith...and His Action Steps are Healing My Family's Life

    I agree with Robert below. Norman actually coined the Positive Thinking idea, and yes he is a warm-hearted and quaint old storyteller. But he's also so movingly honest...and you can feel this man's benevolent presence as you move through every line. He supports his suggestions with dozens of real-life examples from his working experience, too. Contrary to Covey's claim that 'positive thinking' is just a shallow band-aid quick fix, you learn that this does not apply to Peale's original philosophy for living. Peale accomplished so much, he could righteously toot his own horn and claim all glory for the effectiveness of his techniques...but he does not. Peale credits all achievements as being sourced in our faith in G-d and each other - and ultimately, in our faith in ourselves. Pick up this book. Make a new friend. Change your life. I believe that this man truly cares for you, even though he hasn't even met you. And he wants to show you how to care deeply for yourself again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2014

    Frost nippers

    Frost nippers are small type dragons, (car size) they have long, jagged teeth that freeze the enemy. No breath attack. They range any color from white to sky blue. Large wings. <p> Kenekyo- electric blue scales with green eyes. Female. <br> AfrDraake- white scales with sky blue highlights and yellow eyes. Male. <br> Drako- light blue scales with purple eyes and white tail tip. Male. <br> Kinko- sky blue scales with electric blue face and brown eyes. Male. <br> Adra- white scales with dark blue eyes. Female. <br> Merga- sky blue scales with white talons and red eyes. Female. <br> Targno- white scales with sky blue highlights and blue eyes. Male. <br> SaaShgo- sky blue scales and yellow eyes. Male. <br> DaxDraake- white scales and black eyes. Male. <br> DagnafaShgo- white scales with sky blue tail tip. Female. <br> FafaShgo- sky blue scales with white talons and horns. <p> (Draake= elite. Shgo= in training.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4