Customer Reviews for

Power of Positive Thinking

Average Rating 4
( 117 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(59)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Positive Thinking = Positive Life

It's such a simple and effective concept, that positive thinking creates a positive life, yet hard to do at times- which is a good reason alone to read this book.

Most everything we accomplish each day starts out as a thought. Thoughts flash across our minds each da...
It's such a simple and effective concept, that positive thinking creates a positive life, yet hard to do at times- which is a good reason alone to read this book.

Most everything we accomplish each day starts out as a thought. Thoughts flash across our minds each day, all day long, and directly influence how we feel and what we do. So, if you spend your day thinking about negative things, expect to feel bad. On the other hand, if you spend your day concentrating on positive things, good things will happen. And that's basically the purposeand premise of this book- to change your thinking for the better, which in turn will influences your life. The book will "reset your sights" so to speak.

Each chapter of the book tackles important life issues, such as worrying, creating happiness, having energy, etc. Examples of the principles abound, and each chapter ends with a nice summary.

An inspiring and entertaining read, I recommend this book to anyone who needs a little nudge in the direction of positive thinking. Know though, that there is a definite religious tone throughout the book, which could bother some. Those looking for something a little more in the physical rather than cognitive realm to pick you up, might be better off with a book like "Exercise Beats Depression".

posted by 2343845 on December 4, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

I like the Christian emphasis in this audio program, but prefer Optimal Thinking to positive thinking because it stops me from settling for second best.

posted by Anonymous on July 13, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 118 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Positive Thinking = Positive Life

    It's such a simple and effective concept, that positive thinking creates a positive life, yet hard to do at times- which is a good reason alone to read this book.

    Most everything we accomplish each day starts out as a thought. Thoughts flash across our minds each day, all day long, and directly influence how we feel and what we do. So, if you spend your day thinking about negative things, expect to feel bad. On the other hand, if you spend your day concentrating on positive things, good things will happen. And that's basically the purposeand premise of this book- to change your thinking for the better, which in turn will influences your life. The book will "reset your sights" so to speak.

    Each chapter of the book tackles important life issues, such as worrying, creating happiness, having energy, etc. Examples of the principles abound, and each chapter ends with a nice summary.

    An inspiring and entertaining read, I recommend this book to anyone who needs a little nudge in the direction of positive thinking. Know though, that there is a definite religious tone throughout the book, which could bother some. Those looking for something a little more in the physical rather than cognitive realm to pick you up, might be better off with a book like "Exercise Beats Depression".

    19 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Outstanding. One of the 10 best books I've ever read.

    I used a highlighter and still refer back to key sections of this book weekly. This book can be a life-changer if you re-visit the book frequently upon completion. You'll need to have a Christian belief system to get the full value as the author refers to biblical passages throughout his writing. This book has helped calm down my mind. It has helped me take a more unselfish approach to life. And it has slowed my pace down. I am grateful I read this book and would recommend it to anyone searching to tweak/overhaul their mental approach to life. But remember, use a highlighter and re-visit the text, otherwise it'll wear off in a week or two.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    A must read for all walks of life

    Whether you're a firm believer in Christ or of a strictly scientific evidence type of mind, this book can and will be of immense help and inspiration. It is very easy to read, yet full of techniques and procedures to get you the life you want. The only requirement from you is to give it an honest try.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A book strong in life-changing teachings - "timeless" for a strong foundation for good living - both for then and now. It will never go out of "style" and it's teachings/content more important than ever in today's world.

    I have read the "Power of Positive Thinking" numerous times and I never get tired of it's content. It's teachings and principles are as prudent today as when it was written - perhaps more so. Each reading helps me to get a new and stronger perspective of how to, first, think, then live in accordance with "nature's" laws (or spiritual). When the "going gets tough", I find it a book of much inspiration to keep my thinking up there and in positive, optimistic and overcoming framework. This book is one of my reading "staples" and is always kept in front on my bookshelf for an uplift when needed. Dr. Peale certainly understood the human person, our frailities - how life could be for us all and what it doesn't have to be, based on spiritual teachings - not religion. A must read often.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A good commom sense approach for thinking positive.

    I believe that it is a really old fashioned book about the power of positive thinking. Being raised by my grandfather he told me about many of these subjects that are in the book. I think that it provides a good reminder that we really become the person that we believe we are. We are what we think and speak. It really doesn't take much some days to shake off that negative feeling but other days it may seem impossible. It is a good inspirational read to jolt you back on track.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2009

    Amazing!

    This book, along with prayer and my faith, has truly changed the way I live and doing things. I have been so enlighten by the words of Mr. Peale. I have learned to have self confidence, how to eliminate my stress and live of life of optimism, zest, and most of all hope. I would recommend it highly even if you possess all of the things listed above.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2010

    Timeless Book

    Norman Vincent Peale's book (CD) is a timeless, very relevant read. I recently faced a cancer scare and reading his book gave me a lot of hope. He integrates the spirtual with the practical and provides a useful tool to living well.

    I highly recommend this book to anyone ready to move to the next level in their life.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Positive Change Can Be Made

    I was given this book at the beginning of my divorce over 10 years ago. Not only did it help me through some very rough times, but it helped change my attitude towards my then toddlers as as single parent.

    Negative thoughts can weigh you down and keep you from achieving a full and happy life. By working to give worries and negativity to God, we can free ourselves for a better life.

    I recently bought two copies of the book for gifts. One was for my mom, who is going through some hard times. She gave me my original copy so I wanted to remind her that it is always useful. The second copy was for my best friend's 22 year old. She is always worried and seems to get sick a lot. After reading the book, I can already see an improvement in her health and her outlook.

    The changes that I made based on this book have affected my life in so many ways it is impossible to count. The best thing is being positive and remembering to 'give it to God' when I am not.

    I often wonder how people who hold grudges and worry constantly can get things done. I know that I can get through anything with God and the power of positive thinking on my side.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2008

    wow!!!

    Norman Vincent Peale is such a wise man. I read this book when I was in a very troubling scenario. By reading this book it made me realize that dwelling on the negatives wasn¿t going to make my situation any better. So I did what the book explains, try to focus on the positive factors of the situation your in. This helped me through some very troubling times and it made all the difference. This book saved me in many many ways, mainly from becoming demotivated. Overall I really loved this book, and would definitely recommend it to any reader.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2007

    A reviewer

    I like the Christian emphasis in this audio program, but prefer Optimal Thinking to positive thinking because it stops me from settling for second best.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2007

    This is the REAL Secret to a rich, happy life

    A friend gave me this book after I told him I enjoyed the positive thinking preached in Rhonda Byrne's The Secret, but did not like that it neglects God. He gave me this book. In it, Mr. Peale suggests simple ways to change your thinking and your life by focusing on positive affirmations - many from the Bible. He is not at all preachy but disarmingly down-to-earth and honest, and includes numerous anecdotes to support his recommendations. The writing is a bit old-fashioned, but I find it part of its charm. I have actively incorporated his suggestions for a week now and already feel less anxious, more optimistic and more in control of my life.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2013

    I'm going to take back my Real Life starting "now"!!!

    I'm going to take back my Real Life starting "now"!!! Thank you, King of Kings, loving friend, Holy Spirit, Redemer, in Jesus name.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2012

    Life changer !

    This book is everything that everyone has described about it. The information and techniques can be used over and over and are timeless. It is important to mention that there are frequent references to the bible so an openness to Christian faith is advised. I re-read parts of the book a second time to help me through a difficult life experience so it's wonderful to have this book to hold onto and reference for years to come.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2011

    This book is TIMELESS

    When first published in 1952 he talks about dealing with such a fast paced world....today in 2011 his view & solutions still work wonderfully. It's been years sinced I last picked up this book. I just love his thoughts & writing and so glad I could add it to my Nook library. .

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2011

    The Power of Positive Thinking

    I can't recall the day I brought this book, but it has been laying around the house in many locations. Every time I read a portion of it, it simply inspire me. I just need to have it my nook has a companion.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The Power of Positive Thinking

    I have read this book over and over for 26 years. During this time in my life, I had to re-read it. I could not find my copy so I purchased another.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2010

    Inspirational Manual for Life.

    I read this book over twenty years ago and still use what I learned from it in my everyday life. I purchace one to give away and when I run accross a person in my life with a major challenge in their life, I give it to them. Recently a friend developed Cancer and I put together a tote bag I call her "Inspiration Bag" and I fill it with positive things. When she goes to Chemo treatments, she takes her bag. This book is included. I learned through this book if you keep a positive frame of mind a person can help heal alot of things, whether it is physical or spiritual. It's Life changing!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2010

    The most helpful book, next to the Bible, that I have ever read, and it will be in my "permanent library" to pass on to future generations.

    I would like also like to recommend Three Cups of Tea by Greg Mortenson to everyone.
    This is a very inspirational book regarding the difference one person has made in the lives of school children, especially girls, in Pakistan and Afghanistan.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2009

    Awesome Read

    This is a very powerful book! I recommend it for any and everybody to read. It change your whole perspective towards life.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2008

    Too much to take in all in one reading!

    The best book ever written! I am touched. I will keep this book and reread it! Fun to read, a well of a book. I love to grow in leaps and bounds. This book has helped me do just that!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 118 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6