Customer Reviews for

The Power of Respect: Benefit from the Most Forgotten Element of Success

Average Rating 4.5
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A Timely Reminder for Me

The success I'm looking for in life doesn't have to do with a career ladder of competitive raises. It's much more important than that. I'm trying to raise saints and struggling to be dedicated in my vocations of wife, mother, and woman.

In The Power of Respect, Deb...
The success I'm looking for in life doesn't have to do with a career ladder of competitive raises. It's much more important than that. I'm trying to raise saints and struggling to be dedicated in my vocations of wife, mother, and woman.

In The Power of Respect, Deborah Norville didn't tell me anything I haven't already heard or share wisdom I didn't already know. But she reminded me and convinced me to move respect from a theory on the back burner of my priorities to the forefront of my mind...NOW.

Norville writes, not as a preachy poster child who knows it all, but as someone who has struggled through the pains and has found in the mud of the trenches. Her insights are as applicable to me in my role as an employee as they are while I'm juggling the chaos of home and hearth. Whether I'm dealing with strangers, colleagues, or family, The Power of Respect gave me an important prompting and tangible tactics to apply.

Better yet, The Power of Respect motivated me to pay closer attention to the example I set to those closest to me.

posted by Sarah_Reinhard on February 6, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great Concept, Redundant Chapters

The concept of this book is fantastic. If you want to go farther in life, get along with people, harmony in your home, remembering to respect those around you will go along way. Remembering that the woman checking you out at the grocery store is a person just like you...
The concept of this book is fantastic. If you want to go farther in life, get along with people, harmony in your home, remembering to respect those around you will go along way. Remembering that the woman checking you out at the grocery store is a person just like you, more than likely, with the same problems that you have will go a long way to helping you show respect and making her day, and yours, go a lot smoother. This principle is true in every facet of any relationship you have no matter how small or insignificant or how great and dynamic. This is a concept that has definitely gone by the wayside for many people. In today's society there are only a handful of people that are willing to remember there are others around them that are just as important as they are.

My only complaint about this book is that the author, very eloquently said it all in the first chapter or two. Every other chapter was the same concept presented in a slightly different way, but ultimately saying the same thing. It has taken me almost 9 months to muddle my way through and I actually couldn't bring myself to finish it. I felt like I was literally beating my head against a wall hearing the same thing over and over.

If you have not heard this concept before, you might thoroughly enjoy this book, but for those who practice respect on a daily basis, it will probably not be anything new.

posted by KCPryzr on August 10, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great Concept, Redundant Chapters

    The concept of this book is fantastic. If you want to go farther in life, get along with people, harmony in your home, remembering to respect those around you will go along way. Remembering that the woman checking you out at the grocery store is a person just like you, more than likely, with the same problems that you have will go a long way to helping you show respect and making her day, and yours, go a lot smoother. This principle is true in every facet of any relationship you have no matter how small or insignificant or how great and dynamic. This is a concept that has definitely gone by the wayside for many people. In today's society there are only a handful of people that are willing to remember there are others around them that are just as important as they are.

    My only complaint about this book is that the author, very eloquently said it all in the first chapter or two. Every other chapter was the same concept presented in a slightly different way, but ultimately saying the same thing. It has taken me almost 9 months to muddle my way through and I actually couldn't bring myself to finish it. I felt like I was literally beating my head against a wall hearing the same thing over and over.

    If you have not heard this concept before, you might thoroughly enjoy this book, but for those who practice respect on a daily basis, it will probably not be anything new.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Timely Reminder for Me

    The success I'm looking for in life doesn't have to do with a career ladder of competitive raises. It's much more important than that. I'm trying to raise saints and struggling to be dedicated in my vocations of wife, mother, and woman.

    In The Power of Respect, Deborah Norville didn't tell me anything I haven't already heard or share wisdom I didn't already know. But she reminded me and convinced me to move respect from a theory on the back burner of my priorities to the forefront of my mind...NOW.

    Norville writes, not as a preachy poster child who knows it all, but as someone who has struggled through the pains and has found in the mud of the trenches. Her insights are as applicable to me in my role as an employee as they are while I'm juggling the chaos of home and hearth. Whether I'm dealing with strangers, colleagues, or family, The Power of Respect gave me an important prompting and tangible tactics to apply.

    Better yet, The Power of Respect motivated me to pay closer attention to the example I set to those closest to me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    Nookville auction/realestate company

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Power of Respect is a great lesson that everyone should read!

    What a great book! I wish everyone would read it, especially people who are raising/plan to raise children. Deborah Norville's book "The Power of Respect" is a great reminder of the importance of treating other people with respect, something that our society is sorely lacking. It seems like the default is to be selfish, rude, and uncaring unless people have something to gain by being nice. Norville's book discusses the question Why wouldn't you choose to treat people with respect? As she points out, treating people disrespectfully hurts people, but treating people with respect, while it may not always help, isn't going to hurt. What a different world it would be if everyone lived by the golden rule!

    Norville gives us plenty of examples of how respect can affect our relationships, home, school, and business. Respect is a simple concept that has tremendous influence on people. The section on parenting stuck with me the most, as Norville includes stories of parents who are controlling, hovering, and comparing their children usually raise children to be the same. I see so many children who are just brushed aside because parents don't want to do the tough work of actually raising their children, and it shows in the attitudes and personalities of those neglected children. It may seem obvious that if everyone were nice, it would be a more pleasant world. That may be true, but this book shows how it's all the little and big things that add up. Sometimes it helps to read the little stories she has about how a stranger doing a nice thing for someone alters lives. Being rude and indifferent has become the norm in our world, and this book tells us that it doesn't have to be like that, in fact, it's not that hard to change our ways.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Not life-changing

    This book was pleasant but not life-changing. I am a reviewer for Thomas Nelson publishing. I knew a little bit about Deborah Norville, and hoped I would get to know more about her through the book. What I found in this book were nice, light, inspirational stories, however, I felt the book could have been written by anyone. I'm sure the fact that Norville's name was on it, helped sales, but really this is just a book about respect. You won't know much more about Deborah than before you started it and that is disappointing.

    The book addresses the power of respect in the home, within a business environment, and in your personal life. Norville uses lots of real-life stories to make her case and that will appeal to some readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Power of Respect- A Great Read

    The Power of Respect, by Deborah Norville, is definitely a book written for today's time. The more places I go on a weekly basis, especially around the holidays, the more rudeness I seem to encounter. It's sad but true. I have to be honest here too; I'm in no way perfect, so some parts in this book stung to read....yep, I'm sometimes rude too. Yikes.

    Deborah takes the concept of respect and weaves a plan for success with the use of this one simple character trait, intermingled, of course, with others; but respect is the key trait. Simple might not be the word, though, as I found while reading this book. The concept of respect doesn't start when you're out and about at various activities amongst various groups of people. It starts in your own home and even with your own children. Yep, I find myself demanding respect from my children, but have I given them the respect they deserve, as well? I'm afraid not, in many cases. Oh, I know what you're thinking...respect our children? Since when do we have to respect our children? In order to teach our children how to respect, they need to learn it from us. Deborah explains it in an easy to comprehend manner. Respect also starts with self. If we don't respect ourselves, how can we respect others? Just some things to think about. She continues on with the concept of respect in marriage, in schools, in the workplace, etc. Throughout the book are various quotes and boxes with certain points to be remembered and highlighted.

    I was able to review this book as a part of Thomas Nelson's Book Review Blogger program at http://brb.thomasnelson.com/. It's a book that may sting at times, but it might just open up your eyes to ways with which you can better not only your life, but your family/children's life as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2009

    great book

    The Power of Respect by TV personality Deborah Norville is one of many books dealing with interpersonal relationships, and how they affect our daily lives. Norville, however, tackles an issue that many people feel has gone down the toilet over the past few years: respect. Over the course of six chapters, she talks about how respect affects the various relationships we build in life ranging from teachers and their students, employers and employees, and parents and their children.

    Norville goes deep into the role respect plays in each relationship, and how it can either help or hurt it. One notable example is how one teacher was able to help a child, who had a record of being difficult in school, learn how to read and become a better student. In examples such as this, the author explains just how, by showing respect, we can improve our relationships and help others to become better people.

    Overall, The Power of Respect is a book that alot of people can learn from. While some people might be turned off by the fact that it was written by Norville (whose stint at The Today Show was met with a nosedive in ratings back in the early-to-mid 1990's), it is an easy read, and is fully capable of helping the reader to understand how their level of respect might be helping or hurting the relationships they have both personally and professionally.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2009

    The Power of respect

    The Power of Respect
    Benefit from the Most Forgotten Element of Success
    By Deborah Norville

    Respect, a lost value in our world today, is the latest subject of research for Inside Edition anchor and best-selling author Deborah Norville.
    I chose this book because of my wife's obsession with this subject, hoping to dive in and learn a thing or two. What I learned is that my wife has always modeled and taught this subject to our children (and still trying to teach me :-). What I took for granted, she taught intentionally. What was also amazing to find out through the research presented in the book is the price that we are paying for lack of respect, whether in the home, the schools, or the workplace. It was interesting to find out that things got so bad that as recent as 1999, a law was passed requiring 'respect' in a Louisiana High School, the nation's first 'manner law'.
    Respect is a concept as old as mankind, a simple "acknowledging the value and uniqueness of others and being mindful of their feelings". It was interestingly pointed out this is FREE. Given our current economic conditions, it seems like it is something we can use and pass along to help improve our conditions and it is FREE.
    I highly recommend this book. It was an easy read with lots of engaging stories and examples of individuals and companies that use this concept.

    This Blog/Review is a result of being a member of Thomas Nelson's Book Review Blogger program : http://brb.thomasnelson.com/

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Respect in our day

    This is a wonderful book of reminding us to respect others. Respect in our relationships, workplace, schools, and families. She writes respect reminders at the end of each chapter. Reminders of ways that we can show and earn respect from others. Want to get the respect you deserve? Try giving it. Remember the Golden Rule. Do unto others as you would have them do unto you. She tells how well-knows business owners shows respect to their employees. She also writes about teachers and leaders in schools teaching and helping their students show respect for each other. It's a book we could all learn from.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Power of Respect

    In The Power of Respect, veteran journalist and author Deborah Norville confirms what many of us have known for quite some time: Our society has lost much of the mutual respect that we Americans had for one another in previous generations. Many of our nation's current ills can be traced directly back to that loss of respect, and in this fine book Mrs. Norville gives a number of examples and explanations about the negative effects it has on our lives. But more importantly, she explains exactly how to get it back again.

    The first chapter of the book introduces us to the importance of respect in everyday life and explains how finding it helped a number of people change their own lives and the lives of those around them for the better. The ensuing chapters cover in detail the importance of respect in our home lives and relationships as well as success in our schooling and careers. Each chapter thoroughly examines the way that success or failure is in large part determined by the respect others have for us in tandem with the respect we have for ourselves. Then, after each example she explains in detail the steps that need to be taken in order to make things better.

    The Power of Respect is a lively, entertaining read that will have you on the verge of tears as you read about the struggles that some of the folks Mrs. Norville interviewed had to deal with, followed by a warming of the heart when you learn how gaining the respect they deserve made a huge difference in their lives. I highly recommend that you read The Power of Respect and put the principles you glean from its pages to use in your own life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2009

    The Power of Respect Rocks!

    It was so refreshing to read Deborah Norville's The Power of Respect which I received through the Thomas Nelson book review blogger program ( http://brb.thomasnelson.com) simply because it wasn't overbearing and dull. Filled with snappy checklists, interesting examples and real-life instances, the book illustrates how being thoughtful, considerate and respectful of others, including kids, can improve the quality of one's life. There is little doubt that Ms. Norville knows exactly what she's talking about. As a mom, I loved reading how to be respectful at home and as a woman, it was a pleasure to learn how to be more respectful of my own self. After all, sometimes, self-respect does get pushed to the backburner. Deborah Norville deals sensitively with the topics of self-respect for teens and treating kids with respect. There is an entire chapter devoted to respect at school. Parents will benefit from reading the book with their kids and explaining how bullying and aggressiveness is not just unpleasant but plain disrespectful.

    There are seven chapters in the book and I found each one of them extremely useful and appropriate. The book is a must-buy for everyone who wishes to enrich their personal and professional life. In fact, with the coming holidays, it would be a great gift idea for friends and family members as well. Do I recommend The Power of Respect? Absolutely.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Power of Respect by Deborah Norville

    "The Power of Respect" by Deborah Norville is a book that is much needed today. In her book she tells real life stories of how the power of respect influenced different people in a positive way. She explains how we need to respect others and ourselves. Everyone wins with the power of respect.

    What if businesses put the power of respect into practice? What would happen? Would the employees be happier and more motivated to do their jobs and have a better attitude? Deborah says they will. Not only the employees but also the employers and owners of the businesses would benefit from it.

    In schools around the nation students are being taught the power of respect. They are taught what respect is and how it can help themselves and others around them. It is having an impact.

    She goes on to explain how important respect is in the home. Children do better if they are shown respect. Couples are happier if they show each other respect.

    I was given the opportunity to review this book by the Thomas Nelson Book Reviewer Bloggers. You can get more information at http://brb.thomasnelson.com.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2009

    The Power of Respect Benefit from the Most Forgotten Element of Success Book Review - The Power of Respect By Deborah Norville

    Do you receive an adequate amount of respect? Do you struggle with respecting others? This great book by Deborah Norville addresses these questions and more.

    Respect is a relatively simple concept, but one that is severely lacking in our society.

    She discusses some of the most important issues we face in today's society and gives you steps to help these problems. Issues such as stress, the economy, parental authority. Her practical tips and ideas are easy to put to use and surprisingly effective.

    She also cites examples of how this works all based on research and personal interviews she conducted and people she observed.

    It was an amazingly fast and easy read and I didn't have any problems staying interested, I would recommend it to everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    R-E-S-P-E-C-T find out what it means to you!

    This book is well written and very nicely organized. Norville first defines respect and how it starts at home, how it can be taught in a family, how it works in a marriage or a friendship, how it functions in the workplace, how it's lack can affect both a school or business, and how an individual can work on their own self respect. She uses examples from research and from the lives of people she knows either personally or through her work on Inside Edition. The chapters are clearly marked for easy use by parents, teachers or businesses.

    Having small children I was very interested in how to teach respect to children and as an educator I really enjoyed how she showed respect at work at schools and the great difference it made in not just behavior but also academic achievement when school wide respect programs were implemented with student involvement. It is eyeopening to think about how she is right, often we are more respectful to strangers we meet during the course of our day than we are to our own families. You can build people up by showing them respect, at home, at school, or at work and that building up can build a foundation for the future.
    http://brb.thomasnelson.com/

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2009

    The Power of Respect by Deborah Norville - Bringing Respect Back

    R-E-S-P-E-C-T - Aretha Franklin may have spelled it out, but Deborah Norville defines it for us. If you are a parent, teacher, spouse, public official, or boss, this book is for you. Deborah Norville's book, The Power of Respect, does not set out to complain about the lack of respect in today's society; instead, it defines respect and begins to layout plans and simple steps that we can all take to reintroduce / support the development of respect in our social structure.

    The book is fairly short, only 224 pages, and is written in easy to read language. It contains many personalized stories to drive points home and illustrate her ideas. Although this book is probably not headed for the New York Times Best Seller List and will not be listed on the Syllabus for Contemporary Psychology, it is a book that raises some important questions about where our society is today and gives us some insight on how to change its trajectory. It is an interesting read that will spark much more conversation on the subject.

    Note: I am a member of the Thomas Nelson Book Review Blogger Program, http://brb.thomasnelson.com/. Although I am given the books for free, I am not paid for my review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    r-e-s-p-e-c-t

    In The Power of Respect, Deborah Norville uses stories to express truths about life and respect. She tells of how respect in the home, office, personal life, family life, and self can create a better outlook on life, not just for yourself, but for the others that surround you. In a society where people are becoming less and less aware of the importance of manners, Norville brings this ideal back with the Golden Rule: Do unto others as you would have them do unto you. With this being said, self-respect is an important characteristic to have if you want true success or respect to come from those around you. Norville uses a little bit of psychology mixed in with some good old fashioned values to make this book one that everyone should read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2009

    Great Book!!!!

    "The most forgotten element of success" is the subtitle to Deborah Norville's new Book title The Power of Respect. She starts off the book by tell the story of a group of Collage students taking a test that they had study for and was ready to take. The exam was handed out and when the last question the test was read all the student was surprise to see the questions that no one know the answer to.
    Deborah talks about all aspects of respects: the Power of respect in our relationships, business, school, leaders and the two main one I feel which is self and in the home. I like how she starts the book off with respect in the home. It is where it all starts.

    This book is a wonderful book and a quick read. I really recommend this book to all, it show you how you can get what the Lord states "do unto others and you have them do unto you"
    Thanks Thomas Nelson Book review to this free copy of The Power of Respect.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The Power of Respect by Deborah Norville

    Respect, what is that got to do with anything? The best-selling author and well known journalist, Deborah Norville answers that question in many refreshing and insightful ways, be they a parent, spouse, child, teacher, student, boss or employee. She addresses respect in every area from business to home to your personal life. Respect is power and not just the respect you receive. The respect you give to others is vital to success in every area of life.

    When I opened up this book to read, I was not disappointed. Respect starts at home and we need to properly teach our children how to respect and interact with others. I highly would recommend this book by Deborah Norville for reading. If you apply her strategies to your life, it can make an immense difference.

    In conclusion; if you want to get ahead in your job or get more out of your workers, if you want harmony at home or congeniality at the office, if you want to be more creative and more confident. try a little respect!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The Power of Respect

    The power of respect by Deborah Norville is a book that everyone should read. Do you ever wonder how to gain the power and respect you want and deserve? In the power of respect you'll learn all of it and how to gain it in specific places like at home, in relationships, school, business, and how to gain self respect. This book gives you powerful insight. There are many examples in this book to help you too!

    This book has helped me out tremendously. I have gained respect I thought I would never be able to gain! This book is easy and fast to read, so if you think you won't be able to read it because your busy, you probably can. This book can help anyone out anywhere! The results are amazing. You'll be surprised just like me when you see how well this book helps you in everyday life and respect!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Respectfully Yours

    "Do unto others as you would have them do unto you."
    Matthew 7:12

    Many of us grew up with this being one of the first known rules. The golden rule. The one you do not break. We learned this rule as the rule of respect in my home. And you gave respect to others not expecting it first either. To this day I have had a healthy attitude about respect. As I have help raise many lil ones, I have said yes Mame and no Sir to them. I tell them please and thank you. That is how they learn to say these things. As you get older you begin to learn why.

    "The Power of Respect" is a book written by Deborah Norville (yes the anchor woman of Insider Edition). When I was looking for books to review I was thrilled to see this title. Especially the subtitle. "Benefit from the Most Forgotten Element of Success". Yes, you are successful when you give respect. First, you have not lost your own respect then. Second, your giving a gift to someone one else (the ol pay it forward rule).

    Deborah reminds us how powerful respect is. And how important it is to make it a part of our daily lives. Reminding us again that this is a fundamental rule. We respond to people who respect us. We look up to people we respect. In a world where life is so fast the power of respect can slow it down. It puts a pause in the conversation. And most often a smile on a face.

    Remember to use this tool, this basic gesture, this golden rule to enhance your life. Read "The Power of Respect" to remind yourself how important you are as well as those around you. Share this book with new mothers, young graduates and those starting off in marriage. As respect will help them grow in all areas of their lives.

    Thanks, Deborah for reminding us of this basic tenant.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2