Customer Reviews for

The Power of a Praying Parent

Average Rating 4.5
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

THE BEST HANDBOOK GOD GAVE US FOR PARENTING!!!

I was a single mother of 2 boys, for years before I met my husband and had a new baby with him. My boys fathers never wanted to be a part of their lives and all they had was me. For years I struggled with them to listen and obey what I had instructed. They fought me all...
I was a single mother of 2 boys, for years before I met my husband and had a new baby with him. My boys fathers never wanted to be a part of their lives and all they had was me. For years I struggled with them to listen and obey what I had instructed. They fought me all the way. As a new Christian at the time, it was a very hard battle and I think if I had this book back then I would not have gotten into all the bad relationships that I did and had ruined all that good relationships I did have. I would have prayed more, forgave more, and learned to love through Gods Love better than I did. For anyone that is a Single MOM or Even a MOM or DAD THIS BOOK IS GREAT. BUY IT YOU'LL LOVE IT AND YOU'LL NEVER REGRET IT, I PROMISE. The Best Part is the Prayers after the Chapter. I have learned so much more than I ever have and I am more on fire for the Lord than even I was as a new Christian. It is Evident that Stormie Omartian has been blessed with a gift of Prayers because I have seen a difference in my children¿s lives everyday and My husband and I can have that special bond with our children that we have always wanted through these Books inspired by God.

posted by Anonymous on December 6, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

It's a nice book

This is a nice book to keep you on track, praying faithfully for your children of all ages or for anyone else's children. But there are many good books out there that do the same. It is a good book to keep at your bedside to remind you!

posted by getyysburg_scw on April 10, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2002

    THE BEST HANDBOOK GOD GAVE US FOR PARENTING!!!

    I was a single mother of 2 boys, for years before I met my husband and had a new baby with him. My boys fathers never wanted to be a part of their lives and all they had was me. For years I struggled with them to listen and obey what I had instructed. They fought me all the way. As a new Christian at the time, it was a very hard battle and I think if I had this book back then I would not have gotten into all the bad relationships that I did and had ruined all that good relationships I did have. I would have prayed more, forgave more, and learned to love through Gods Love better than I did. For anyone that is a Single MOM or Even a MOM or DAD THIS BOOK IS GREAT. BUY IT YOU'LL LOVE IT AND YOU'LL NEVER REGRET IT, I PROMISE. The Best Part is the Prayers after the Chapter. I have learned so much more than I ever have and I am more on fire for the Lord than even I was as a new Christian. It is Evident that Stormie Omartian has been blessed with a gift of Prayers because I have seen a difference in my children¿s lives everyday and My husband and I can have that special bond with our children that we have always wanted through these Books inspired by God.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2002

    Even if your child is over 20! Read IT!

    My daughter is 23 and so lost, lives according to the flesh.The prayers in this book are so powerful for her as well as me. THere are days when you do not know what to pray - Along with GOd, this is the answer.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    Love it!

    Speaks to a mother's heart. It is an invaluable aid to prayer for your children.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Great tools & resource

    The practical and useful tools (prayers) are found in this book. Mrs. omartian does an awesome, anointed job of giving us parents a guide of what to pray and helpful testimonies that also encourage in my own parenting struggles & triumphs.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    It's a nice book

    This is a nice book to keep you on track, praying faithfully for your children of all ages or for anyone else's children. But there are many good books out there that do the same. It is a good book to keep at your bedside to remind you!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    Not worth the money

    The book was short on advice and pertain mostly to example's of the author's family. To me it wasn't worth the cost.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2009

    A must have book for all parents and grandparents or anyone who cares deeply about a child.

    I wish the opportunity to read this book had presented itself when my children were still small. They are adults now, but I use the prayers and modify them to fit the current circumstances. It is a great preventative model as well as an intervention tool. It makes a terrific gift for young mothers.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2008

    Good Book

    I will ask more parent to read this book as it is for all in the family.<BR/>I have her book that is 3in1 and it is helping me alot at his moment<BR/>it is my friend who introduce me to this book.<BR/>THANK YOU TO STORMIE HOPE MORE PEOPLE WILL BUY HER BOOK

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2006

    Worry for your children changes nothing

    Stormie takes you through many areas of a child's life and explains why it is so important to pray for those areas of our children. We cannot be everywhere with them, but God can and is. Our children still make their own choices. But what a comfort to know that I can surround my child with prayer. When you don't know what or how, stormie has prayers that you can pray and make your own as you learn how to pray for your child.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2004

    Prayer changes things more than wishing does!

    Stormie has done it again! With powerful prayers that could only come from a mother's heart, she has blessed us with this book. Don't just wish and hope for the best for your kids...PRAY FOR IT! This book will help you do it. The results of effective prayer totally eclipse wishful thinking every time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2014

    Must Have for all Parents!

    I have purchased at least 15 of these books. It has been such a blessing to me that it's my baby shower staple. I've purchased one for every shower I attend and I get nothing but glowing responses from all who have read it. It's a short and easy read and very powerful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2006

    PARENTING: The act of feeling SUCCESS one minute...and FAILURE the next!!

    Stormie Omartian took our hands and guided us through the ups and downs of being Parents. This book became our 'Instructional Manual' when we were faced with Parenting situations and circumstances that we couldn't change, couldn't fix etc. We cant help but wonder how different our challenges would have been,...had we of turned to this book as a 'First Resort.' Rather than taking things solely into our own hands and then 'banging our heads in failure!!' Read it with an open mind and open heart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2003

    A must for a parent who doesn't know where else to turn

    I learned so much not only about saving my child but giving myself peace of mind and giving it all to God, who is so great!! Look for your miracle... you get one everyday, you just aren't looking hard enough.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2003

    stay away at all costs.

    if i could rate it lower...i would. this book drags you in with the dilusion that the author knows what they are talking about. they make it sound as if santa will bring you everything you want as long as your good. and if he doesnt thats more proof that santas there. stay away and ask someone with a degree in parenting for help if you need it.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2001

    This book covers everything

    This book does not miss a thing. Your child will be totally covered in prayer which gives me so much peace. This book is a life changer for me and I know it will be for my child throughout his life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2001

    In control w/the master

    So many people are looking for answers in wrong places - including me. My whole family needed help as there is so much temptation out in today's society. This wonderful book taught us who was in real control and who we needed to go to for help. We love the book as it will strengthen your family and your heart. Another Christian author with prayers in the last pages of her book, Mommy-CEO, is similar in vision and morals. It is written by nationally synidcated Christian parenting expert and columnist, Jodie Lynn. Together the books make a powerful contribution to family morals and Christian intellengence. They are a must have for all families who care.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2000

    You are not alone!

    Just when you feel like giving up, along comes a powerful book like this. We must never forget that there is a spiritual struggle for the souls of our children...but that He that is in us, is greater than he that is in the world. Fabulous book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2