Customer Reviews for

The Power of the Dog

Average Rating 4.5
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2012

    Powerful, disturbing, well crafted novel built upon the story of the war on drugs.

    Winslow blends enormous amounts of historical material in a gripping saga of several decades of the US war on drugs. The interplay between the various governments and their militaries, the narcotrafficantes, the church, and the individials is powerful, disturbing and at times unimaginable. A great read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    Excellent

    Don Winslow is a talented writer. Believable characters and "insight" about the War on Drugs.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Powerful Book

    I am now 6 books in on my "read Don Winslow" project,and The Power of the Dog easily rates up at the top along with Savages. This is such a talented writer, and this book such a wonderful depiction of drugs, money, power, the church, the state, and the feableness of the human that I cannot imagine I will not read it again. It's also a sad story in that the War on Drugs is such a failure, with so much money and so many lives wasted. Our country has been turned into a criminal enterprise, and it is a shame.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2010

    Gelati's Scoop

    The only reason I picked up this novel was a suggestion by a Mark Greaney, he of the Gray Man novel and soon to be released on Target (Sept. 28th,2010, sorry I had to get that in there; I am looking forward to it). I think highly of Mark and his opinions, so I tried to get The Power of the Dog a.s.a.p., figuring that this is going to be a hot read. I got it, I looked at the back cover for the synopsis of the novel, and I was totally intrigued. Here is what is on the back cover: "Art Keller is an obsessive DEA agent. The Barrera brothers are heirs to a drug empire. Nora Hayden is a jaded teenager who becomes a high class hooker. Father Parada is a powerful and incorruptible Catholic priest. Callan is an Irish kid from Hell's Kitchen who grows up to be a merciless hit man. And they are all trapped in the world of the Mexican drug Federacion. From the streets of New York City to Mexico City and Tijuana to the jungles of central America, this is the war on drugs like you've never seen it."
    I am going to be honest and admit to not knowing of this author and his incredible work. The skill he possesses in his narratives is amazing. He switches from locale to locale throughout the novel and it doesn't feel disjointed, yet it is like a violent fabric being woven. He ties all the stories and characters together in a nice tight bundle that left me totally dumbfounded. This is creative storytelling being done by someone not only with some chops, but near mastery. I have every desire to read the rest of his work; he has really caught my interest and desire for more.
    I feel the title should be changed in future reprints to "The Power Of The Winslow". Boiled down to its basic ingredients, Don Winslow took a very tired plotline of the drug world, and transformed it using an OCD ex-CIA operative, greedy druggies, a ho, a crazy priest, a group of bungling Mafioso's, and a couple of Irish kids. If you haven't had the pleasure of reading Winslow's work, please do. You are opening the door to engaging humor, the human condition, and one heck of a roller coaster ride. Grab hold and feel "The Power of the Dog"; it will take a bite out of you.
    What are you reading today? Check us out and become our friend on Facebook and Shelfari. Go to Goodreads and become our friend there and suggest books for us to read and post on. You can also follow us on Twitter, Book Blogs, and the Gelati's Scoop Facebook Fan Page, also look for our posts on Amazon, Barnes and Nobles, and the Bucks County Library System. Did you know you can shop directly on Amazon by clicking the Gelati's Store Tab on our blog? Thanks for stopping by today; we will see you tomorrow. Have a great day.
    http://www.gelatisscoop.blogspot.com

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2005

    A Pretty Powerful Dog

    This book is a scathing portrayal of the war on drugs written in a gripping fashion that takes you right to the action. Ready for Hollywood!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2014

    Excellent

    Excellent

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2013

    Awesome read.

    Very well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2005

    Don Winslow All Grown Up

    Death and Life of Bobby Z was entertaining, and California Fire and Life was a huge amount of fun, but with Power of the Dog, Don Winslow really grows up as a master storyteller. With this work he has achieved the epic, bringing you through entire families and generations intertwined with the drug trade/war on drugs. There are no clear cut good guys and bad guys, and his characters all come with definitive histories that prove this fact over and over again. Winslow's previous books have been clever, but this one crosses over into the realm of being smart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    deep look at the war on drugs

    President Nixon declares war on drug trafficking so in Culiacan, Mexico, United States DEA Agent Art Keller is assigned to destroy the evil empire of drug kingpin Don Pedro Aviles. In his endeavor, Art meets and befriends Adan and Raul Barrera; not realizing that the two siblings are nephews of rising drug lord Miguel Barrera. . Meanwhile in San Diego Nora Hayden decides to get paid for what men want from her at about the same time that Manhattan¿s Sean Callan becomes a mob hit man. --- Over the next three decades the paths of these six people intersect several times until 1999 when a no longer idealistic Art sees his side losing the war on drugs with peers coming home in body bags. He no longer worries about the line between the law and crime as justice is what he demands. He plans to begin with his former friends the Barrera brothers. As for Nora as Adan¿s mistress if she becomes collateral damage so be it even if that means Sean will come after him. --- Don Winslow provides a deep look at the war on drugs that seem a failure after three decades, which will lead readers to ponder the chances of winning the war on terrorism by military means. The story line is action ¿packed though it occurs over three decades and is clearly driven by the key cast members especially the Barrera brothers and Keller. THE POWER OF THE DOG is that rare thriller that has the audience on the edge of their seats yet analyzing the outcome in terms of the potential of a slow win of the war on terror.--- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2005

    Best book I've read in years

    I have been waiting for a book like this for years. The biggest disappointment was seeing the it was coming to an end. A book that makes you wish you had found it just before vacation so you could enjoy it on the beach! I'm looking for other books by Winslow so I can get my fix again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2