Customer Reviews for

Power to the People

Average Rating 4
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Let's get to work. America!

This book was a wonderful read. I actually purchased this one so that I can study it and review it again whenever I want to. For a long time I've been feeling that little ol' me couldn't make much of a difference because I'm never in front of a tv camera, behind a rad...
This book was a wonderful read. I actually purchased this one so that I can study it and review it again whenever I want to. For a long time I've been feeling that little ol' me couldn't make much of a difference because I'm never in front of a tv camera, behind a radio talk show microphone or even someone who gets polled. This book gave me some new ideas and fired me up to take on some of the local, state, and national issues that have been bugging me of late. I now have a vision and some goals to accomplish in these areas. Thanks, Laura, for your inspired work here! Keep 'em coming, PLEASE!!!

posted by Anonymous on September 28, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Just another right wing blowhard

I consider my views as moderate and am able to discuss politics, religion, etc and listen to other's points of view without shoving it down someone's throat. I can't say the same for Laura. I am extremely tired of peple who hold up their own lives as models for everyone...
I consider my views as moderate and am able to discuss politics, religion, etc and listen to other's points of view without shoving it down someone's throat. I can't say the same for Laura. I am extremely tired of peple who hold up their own lives as models for everyone. I have my own ethics, values, given to me by all of the people in my life who have taken care of me and picked up from those I admire.

posted by Anonymous on September 13, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 35 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2007

    a lot of hot air

    This has to be one of the worst books I have read. WAY to much preaching and pushing her own moral standard on to the reader to the point of blaming the problems of the world on those who do not share her views. NOT A GOOD BOOK.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2007

    A convoluted rambling diatribe

    This is a poorly written book. It is an extension of her radio program that is in itself a daily regurgitation of incoherent streams of consciousness.Ingrham seems incapable of staying on-point in this novel and resorts to throwing out the next neo-con talking point while talking down to the reader from some lofty throne of moral superiority. Much in the same vain as Coulter,Hannity,O'Reilly, and of course Rush,she believes that any publicity is good publicity. Unfortunatley, she can't write.And it's very likely that she will join the ranks of the fallen heroes from the Right who have preached rightousness shortly before they are exposed as a fraud.Also,Inghram and these other so called 'patriots' have done far more than their share to promote divisiveness in the USA and are only interested in feathering their own nests and pocketbooks.It would be a waste of good money to buy this praddle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2007

    |A lot of good pure air

    Excellent book for all ages to read. Has good insight into what a few fringe, but very vocal radicals want to do to our country.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2007

    This Book is for Purple People

    Laura does a good job of making the case that our government has gotten too big and too intrusive in too may areas, because we 'both red state and blue state political types' have allowed it by our lack of direct participation. She also makes a convincing case against the 'pornification' of America, with nudity everywhere one turns. Little children cannot handle blatant sexuality, and it is child abuse to expose them to too much too early. This also is a problem we can correct, as Laura explains. If you love America and want to make her a better place for those who are coming after you, read this book and get involved. Laura in a genuine phenomenon, and though wildly popular and one of the most successful radio talk show personalities ever, she is very down to earth and approachable, with a common touch that comes from the heart. This, along with her dry wit and devastating humor, explains why she has an ever-growing army of fans. She was a speechwriter for Ronald Reagan, is a former lawyer, clerked for Clarence Thomas, and was a TV host on CBS and MSNBC, so she has the street cred as well. Laura is not to be missed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2007

    how to make a difference

    'power to the people' is a book that really showed me that one voice can make a difference.alot of times so many politicans it seems like their not listening and some of them are not honorable and there seems to be so many issues like imigration and social and domistic concerns I really apprieate this bestseller that shows me how I can make a difference in my community and my country. this is a real blue print and work book that will make a change and I think it will make a 180 in 2008.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2007

    Excellent Read, Informational

    This book is EXCELLENT! Laura clearly points out that the so called 'moderates' are those people who stand basically for nothing, and therefore are real problems for society. Can you imagine an officer, in the heat of battle not willing to ¿make up his mind¿ to direct and lead his troops? I can not. Only liberals will rate this book as bad because it tears at what they represent which is an abyss of doom, gloom, indecisiveness and misery. This is truly a positive informational read. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2007

    HOME RUN!

    Laura really hits it out of the park. As the grandfather of 8 I was praying someone would stand up and shine the light of day on where our culture is heading...in a handbasket.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2007

    A Must Read

    If keeping the real culutre of corruption from reaching your children you must read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 35 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 2