Customer Reviews for

Powers

Average Rating 5
( 8 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 9 of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    TYCHE CABIN

    <3>

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2011

    LOVED this story!

    I'm a professional freelance editor, so I have a very hard time finding a novel that I can really get into and enjoy just for pleasure. With most books I read the first one to three chapters and put them down. But not this one! John Olson has written a captivating story with characters I cared about in intriguing situations, and lots of great plot twists. Can't wait to read the next John Olson novel!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2011

    A great and quick read!!

    POWERS I really enjoyed this book. It has a mixture of romance, mystery, suspense and a bit of paranormal/supernatural that would appeal to most any reader. It is also categorized as Christian Fiction and I hope any non-believer won't let it deter them from reading this book. While it has biblical nuances, and includes some references from the Bible which is the basis of the story line, it is a work of fiction and you won't be disappointed when you read it. Mariutza, aka Mari, is a naive young woman that was raised in the swamps of Louisiana as a gypsy, having never lived in a structured building or even been outside the swamp, but is also educated to some degree as well as trained in fighting techniques. Jazz, is a musician that seemingly has no place to call home and suffers from nightmares that he thinks are drug induced and visions of a beautiful girl he has yet to meet. The two are drawn together as Mari is sent on a quest from her dying grandfather to find a legendary hero, Jaazaniah, the prophet. I love trying to figure out the where's, why's and who's of a mystery and this book was not disappointing in my attempts, but the author keeps you guessing until the very end before he reveals the answer. I loved that!! He does however leave some questions unanswered and it is my hopes it was because he has another book coming that will reveal them. I like following characters in a series as they are developed into the core of the story line. While Powers can be a stand alone book, it is a follow-up to Shade and is also built upon a passage of scripture in the Bible. I gave this book 4 out of 5 stars simply because of questions left not dealt with, but I think you will enjoy this book and will be anticipating a follow-up to it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2009

    Sequel to Shade is roller coater ride of thrills and chills

    Powers by John B. Olson is the sequel to Shade, but you don't need to read that volume to be completely hooked by this compelling thriller. Mariutza has been raised in seclusion by her grandfather, taught to fight, to use her mental abilities to outwit the enemy, and to fear the outside world. But when he is killed by mysterious hooded figures, she flees from the swamp that has been her only home to the city of New Orleans to seek the mysterious prophet Jaazaniah. Jazz Rechabson is just trying to make enough money to make the rent playing piano at a music club when he has a vision of a man surrounded and killed by strange beings. When he comes to, he finds himself being pursued by those same beings and the emergence of strange abilities he has no idea how to control or use. The two must pair up to find out the secret that binds them both and just may hold the key to their survival. The first 50-75 pages were a bit of a rough read for me. While the action was intense, I couldn't figure out if this was our world or a world similar to ours and just what was going on. Then I relaxed and just let the story flow, and pretty soon the hours flew by, and I couldn't put it down. The reader is much like Mariutza : in a strange world, disoriented, with no grasp of the circumstances. Olson dribbles out the information in enticing tidbits that keep the pages turning. A sure-fire hit with fans of urban fantasy or the supernatural, as well as regular thrillers, this weird, astonishing read is a true treat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Real Page Turner!

    Mariutza's grandfather, Purodad, and beloved teacher, Miss Caralee were murdered while Mariutza stayed helplessly hidden. Before her grandfather died in her arms, he told Mariutza what she must do. She had been kept hidden in the swamp and cared for by her grandfather, but now she was alone, and being chased by the Badness. She had to get out of the swamp and find Jaazaniah the Prophet. He was the only one that could help her now....

    As soon as the book arrived, I was eager to start reading. Between the cover art and the blurb on the back, it looked like a fantastic read. I was not disappointed. From the first few paragraphs, I was drawn in, and had a hard time putting it down. I loved the characters of Mari (Mariutza) and Jazz (Jaazaniah) and found myself cheering them on. This is truly a page turner full of suspense and surprises, twists and turns, and even some conspiracy thrown in. "Powers" is the sequel to "Shade", but could easily be read as a stand alone book. Highly recommended!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 9 of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1