Customer Reviews for

Practical Demonkeeping

Average Rating 4
( 175 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(81)

4 Star

(61)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

First Moore book Ive read

I wanted to start with this book after finding out it was Moore's first - I look forward to reading more of his work and being able to see him progress as a writer - I loved this book! - It was def laugh out loud =) - Editing could be a little better but it wasnt a big ...
I wanted to start with this book after finding out it was Moore's first - I look forward to reading more of his work and being able to see him progress as a writer - I loved this book! - It was def laugh out loud =) - Editing could be a little better but it wasnt a big deal at all.

posted by LittleLAM on August 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Moore's first but not best!

I have loved every piece of Christopher Moore's work I have read, until this. Here, in Practical Demonkeeping, you can really see how much Moore has evolved into the comedic story telling master that he is now. In this novel he needed more room to let these characters...
I have loved every piece of Christopher Moore's work I have read, until this. Here, in Practical Demonkeeping, you can really see how much Moore has evolved into the comedic story telling master that he is now. In this novel he needed more room to let these characters take more shape. The comedy was there but it was much more subtle as opposed to his next novel taking place in Pine Cove (Lust Lizard Of Melancholy Cove). Overall it was a good book but the author has spoiled me with his later and funnier works. This is a good place to start but not where I started!

posted by Sean_From_OHIO on May 14, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 176 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Moore's first but not best!

    I have loved every piece of Christopher Moore's work I have read, until this. Here, in Practical Demonkeeping, you can really see how much Moore has evolved into the comedic story telling master that he is now. In this novel he needed more room to let these characters take more shape. The comedy was there but it was much more subtle as opposed to his next novel taking place in Pine Cove (Lust Lizard Of Melancholy Cove). Overall it was a good book but the author has spoiled me with his later and funnier works. This is a good place to start but not where I started!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    Fun, very off the wall

    If you like Christopher Moore, which I do, you will enjoy this book. If you don't know Christopher Moore and you like quirky, off beat and dark humor you should really read this book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    First Moore book Ive read

    I wanted to start with this book after finding out it was Moore's first - I look forward to reading more of his work and being able to see him progress as a writer - I loved this book! - It was def laugh out loud =) - Editing could be a little better but it wasnt a big deal at all.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2009

    "Practical Demonkeeping = A Lot of Fun" Andrew B.

    The story of Practical Demonkeeping by Christopher Moore, opens with one hundred-year-old ex-seminarian, Travis O' Hearn, and an evil, flesh-eating demon named Catch, driving into the small town of Pine Cove. The most mismatched and oddest couple of all time met in 1916 during World War I, when Travis was about to enter seminary to become a priest. During his training to become a priest, the Vatican sent a set of priceless silver candlesticks in for repairs. Travis, who was assigned to polish the candlesticks, discovered they were hollow. Shocked by his discovery, he unscrewed one of the candlesticks and found a piece of parchment inside with an invocation on it. After Travis finished reading the invocation, the events that would follow changed his life forever. Suddenly, the demon Catch arose from the fiery pits of Hell, making Travis the master of an evil demon. This creation would link Travis and Catch in the worst way possible. Travis' life would never be his own. His survival depended on Catch. Therefore, Travis was forced to leave the seminary. His conscience would not permit him to pursue a path of righteousness when he was linked to such an evil beast. Catch revealed a terrible secret to Travis; if he did not feed, they both would die. After several years with Catch, Travis could no longer allow Catch to kill just any person to meet his dietary needs. So, in order to protect the innocent, Travis vowed to find the scum of the Earth for Catch to feed on once or twice a week. Unfortunately, Catch desired human flesh twenty-four seven and hated his master for restricting his needs. Catch's turmoil led him to make sure Travis' life would be a terrifying entanglement of pain and misery. Travis on the other hand, was tired of trying to control Catch, so he decided to come to Pine Cove to find the one person who could rid him of Catch once and for all.
    The book Practical Demonkeeping is a highly enjoyable and brilliantly written piece of comedy fiction. The book is full of humor, mystery, and suspense. The book mostly takes place in modern day California, but parts of it flashback to the early 1900's during World War I. The rural woodsy setting of Pine Cove adds to the suspense of the story when Catch goes on his "hunting" trips. The problem with Catch and Travis is resolved in a way that will leave readers satisfied. Practical Demonkeeping is a rare comedy gem that no one should miss out on.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    Shadenights story

    Shadenight woke up . This is true story . Shadekit wokd up to Nightkit tugging her . Moms leaving . She said . Youre going with her . I lept to my paws . Nightkit im so sorry . I meowed . I have to stay here in boring cloudclan . She screamed . Russetpoppy is taking you to Roseclan . When i arived in Roseclan i quickly made friends with lightningkit . We promised we would be mates . Lilykit was jelous and rainkit had thunderkit . We were made apprentices then warriors . Then we moved to Mistclan . Rosestar was already running the huge clan and her smallerclan joined . Lightningbolt and I were active . Then the clan shut down and i had kits in a twoleg barn as an loner . Goldenkit Rainkit Darkkit Foggykit Starkit and Emraldkit . Wr found Horseclan . Then Darkkit died and i was overwhelmed with grief . They were made apprentices and then it came . The battle against goa . Rainpaw died that day . Then we were attacked by goa again and i sacrfieced myself for Thunderstar . Then goldenfur and Foggytail died . Emraldheart is hving kits and her new name is lepordstream . She has sucseeded in countung our legacy

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    Kits

    "Come on slowpoke!!!" Lionkit said to thornkit "your so slow!!" "Not my falt im slow your just too fast!!" "Well stop fussing till we get there" Hollykit teased them "im hungry!!" Whined Askkit "i wanna big fat juicy mouse!" "Well wat if you want t get there!!" Said dapplekit they padded to the stream to drink they herd a twig snap "what was that?" They all hid ina bush it was a few warriors from shadowclan!! Since Askkit made so much noise they herd them and looked inside they saw the kits then the kits all jumped on the enemy warrior sqealing biting and scratching the warrior only stumbled and flicked off the sqealing ball f fur off then they attacked them and for a awhile Shadowclanwas winning in the end all the kits dd and their moms die too and teah the end :)

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2013

    TO PANTER

    MY STORY IS AT WRITE IT RES ONE AND TWO

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    Honeystars Story Part 2 of 3 The Escape

    Part 1 at Gem res 2... Honeypaw watched the cats and then and apprentice the same age as her came over with a rabbit and gave it to her she ate hungerly. Then the leader came over "you better get settled in you will be here a long while" she meowed and Honeypaw did as she was told the leader went over to Hawkclan and told them what to do. And at the next gathering Honeypaw went with her new clan Mythclan and heard the announcement luckily the leaders gave time for chatting afterword and Honeypaw rushed over to her sister now honeypaw in Hawkclan "Hi sis" she meowed and honeypaw gave her a big hug "We all thought you were dead" she whispered then the leaders said it was time to go and the sibling seperated and went to their own camps. Honeypaw went to sleep and slept well into the morning when Smokypaw the only other apprentice woke her up "come on its time to get your mentor" Honeypaw got up and padded out of the den and sat under High Tree her mentor is a cat named FallenGold. FallenGold didnt like how his apprentice was brought here so he started to plan with her and they finally decided that she would "fall" into the nearby river and be "washed away" when really she would be running for her life far away from here to a clan in the mountains she thought she wouldnt see either of her sisters again but she was wrong. Honeypaw made a new friend in Waterclan her name was Dawnpaw thr apprentice was the same age as her 7 moons. Honeypaws mentor was Enderheart whom had met her at the entrance and had been her first friend here. She learned how to fight and hunt and how to gaurd the mountains. Then one day on her mountain patrol for her final test she was with Dawnpaw and Dawnpaw suddenly yelled "Intruders!" And they ran down the mountain path to intercept them. Honeypaw now 10 moons thought she reconised the cats but shook her head she knew no cats but the ones in her clan. "Who are you?" Asked Honeypaw "I am Honeyleaf" meowed a honey she cat "Im Smokyheart" meowed the grey one "and im Jaywing" meowed the blind one "Wait.." meowed Honeypaw "Honeyleaf Jaywing who are your parents?" "Goldenleaf and MusicNote why" replied Honeyleaf "because im your lost sister Honeypaw!" "HONEYPAW NO WAY!" "Yes way my mentor in Mythclan didnt like how i was treated and helped me escape and i came here" "Well good for you Honeypaw" meowed the 3 of them "Come with use we will take you to Jetstar" meowed Honeypaw and she and Dawnpaw lead them to their camp~End of Part 2. Part 3 coming soon ~Honeystar

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    Silent But Deadly. ( story)

    The moon was covered by clouds as a cat black as the darkest night stalked stealthily through the rows of sleeping cats until comeing to stand over one in paticular cat. A small gray shecat. Her chest rose and fell steadily in deep sleep. The cat raised a paw claws unsheathed ready to kill. Right before bring his claws down ans giveing her a deadly blow something squirmed near her belly. 'Kits?' He thought to himself. 'Im a father!' He thought turning to pad away. " Mask?" The shecat had woken and said quietly. Mask turned to face her once more before running out. Far away from his old clan, his old life. A tear welled in his eyes as he ran through the woods. Soon he found a cave curling up he slept instently.-- six moons earlier-- Maskclaw lept on the cat who was shredding Bluefires ear. Tearing him off his mate he slashed at the cqts face blood welling from its muzzle as Maskckaw raked his claws down the cats belly. The cat was screaming for mercy. As quickly as it had started the fight ended Nightclan had won! Maskclaw nudged his mate, Bluefire checking her for wounds. Looking around at his clanmates they looked very beat up.-- once they entered the camp Ashfoot rushed toward them searching despratly around for her kit Badgerpaw. Maskclaw had just rwalized his apprentice wasnt with them... Ashfoots worry turned into anger as she turned to glare at Maskclaw. She gave a hiss of hatred and leaped on Maskclaw sliceing his belly. Anger surged through Maskclaw. He pushed her off then pinned her ripping into her neck holding on told she went limp. Maskclaw stood suddenly shocked by his behavior. Backing up he darted out running and running till he was far from his former clanmates hearing Bluefires distressed voice behind him. " wait come back i need you!!!" ( this story is written by Hollyclaw

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2013

    Panther

    WILL BE JUDGED TONIGHT @8:00PM CENTRAL

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    Awesome

    Hehe

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2012

    Good read!

    A little slow to start, but once the dots start to connect... Well, you'll see.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2011

    Great fun.

    Inventive and funny though not Moore's best. Still, it's worth the read. Definitely not for the prudish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Best. Book. Ever.

    Freaking fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    First of many Moore

    I read this book before any of the rest of his work because this is the first book Moore wrote. I love it - however, it was lacking something, and Im excited to continue to read his work and see him envolve as a writer; filling in that something lacking. I really do recommend this book as a quick fun read. I can see how it would be a let down for someone who has started with more of his evolved books, however, its still laugh out loud fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2010

    Always a Winner

    I have never read a bad book by Christopher Moore. He's always unique and funny. The characters are original and believable despite their unbelievable nature. This is a great little escape.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Moore book to start with!

    I very much enjoyed this. It was funny and had me interested from start to finish. I love Pine Cove and all the crazy characters in it. This is a great book to start with that has anything to do with Pine Cove. I followed this with The Stupidest Angel and loved that one even more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2010

    GREAT BOOK, GREAT AUTHOR!

    Loved it! Very entertaining, kept me laughing!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Worth Reading

    Strange and fun. Great for a chuckle or two.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    If you liked Lamb...

    A friend recommended Lamb, and I have read it twice and lent it out to a friend for more than a year. I bought this because it looked similar, and it is. But it didn't help me with my understanding of religion like Lamb did, and it didn't make me laugh so hard that milk shot out my nose like Lamb did. A good companion to Lamb, but definitely the younger brother who looks up to big brother.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 176 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9