Customer Reviews for

Practical Magic

Average Rating 4
( 177 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(93)

4 Star

(47)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Don't look too deep.

On the surface this is enjoyable enough-- a great, fun romance story full of all the the right classic ingredients. Then add a smidgen of mystery and a ghost. Finish it off with the all-powerful themes of love, sisterhood, and family, all written with Hoffman's dreamy p...
On the surface this is enjoyable enough-- a great, fun romance story full of all the the right classic ingredients. Then add a smidgen of mystery and a ghost. Finish it off with the all-powerful themes of love, sisterhood, and family, all written with Hoffman's dreamy prose.
Simply, this book is an addiction, gorgeous and well-plotted with fantastic characters and development.
If you're a hopeless romantic looking for a very real story with just a touch of magic, this is it.

posted by 1Katherine1 on September 3, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Interesting

Not my usual read, I got through this and it was ok. Kind of lost myself in it at times and had to trudge through to more exciting parts. Overall not bad, but def not something i would read more than once.

posted by VirtualVixen on October 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 177 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted September 3, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Don't look too deep.

    On the surface this is enjoyable enough-- a great, fun romance story full of all the the right classic ingredients. Then add a smidgen of mystery and a ghost. Finish it off with the all-powerful themes of love, sisterhood, and family, all written with Hoffman's dreamy prose.
    Simply, this book is an addiction, gorgeous and well-plotted with fantastic characters and development.
    If you're a hopeless romantic looking for a very real story with just a touch of magic, this is it.

    15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent Read

    Being a big Alice Hoffman fan, I enjoyed this one. it has a story that keeps you entertained for hours.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    breath taking

    I just finished re-reading. I think it was even better the second time, though I dont know if that is even possible. This story is relatable for everyone - from a 16 year old girl like me, to an adult. There are so many twists and turns as you follow the lives of two sisters. It is magical and mysterious and it is incredibly realistic. Every time I read it I cry because of how the story touches me. Hoffman writes like no other. Must read.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Very good read!

    Wow, this book was much better than I expected it to be. I saw the movie awhile ago and really liked it and it really isn't anything like the book. Hoffman's writing style takes alittle getting used to but it works very well. This is an amazing story of love in all it's forms and you really fall for all the characters in it. I only wish the aunts had been in it more, I really liked their characters.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    Love Alice Hoffman

    And this is one of the best. A little quirky, a little sad, a little magic...

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2003

    Cute Story

    I never watched the movie, but many people told me it was great. So instead I picked up the book. This was a cute and heart-felt book. Teaches the importance of family.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2002

    Fantastic Write!

    I haven't read to many good books lately and I was about to give up, but I thought one more wouldn't hurt, and now I'm hooked. 'Practical Magical' was so enchanting and had so many emotions I couldn't put it down until I was done with it. It was one of the first books I've read of Alice Hoffman and I'm hoping the other books she has writen are as magical and moving as this one here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The author of this book personally told me that the book differe

    The author of this book personally told me that the book differed quite a bit from the movie, and she wasn’t exaggerating. That is the reason I read it. The movie is one of my favorites. In the novel, the story focuses a lot more on the third generation, Sally’s daughters. They really only appear as children in the movie. Although, I love Alice’s books, in some ways, I liked the movie version better. It is so well done. However, it was great to read the book, because for me it expanded and deepened the story. I recommend it for everyone, whether or not you are a fan of the popular movie.
    Michael Travis Jasper, Author of the Novel “To Be Chosen”

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2006

    A great book

    I like the way Alice Hoffman blends reality, fantasy, and romance in the story. I have read the book so many times I've lost count. The affection and sympathy she has for her characters is also a help for the story. The way the book goes from one timeline to another is very well done. Truly, one of my favorites of all time.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2002

    ENCHANTING...

    I have read this book numerous times. There is no other writer who can create magic with her words as well as Alice Hoffman can. This is truly an outstanding novel.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    She Really Speaks Out

    In this book Alice Hoffman not only tells what it is like to be an outcast but she also told how witches are treated today. I'm a Witch and I get rocks thrown at me everyday, people call me a devil worshiper or a baby eater. It really hurts me. I don't even believe in the devil and I don't eat babies. I'm a nice guy and people would like me if they get to know me.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2000

    I loved it

    This was a wonderful book, I loaned it to a friend of mine- who loaned to someone else and so on.. . I would love to read it again. Its one of those books that get better each time you read it. I guess I need to buy a new copy. I really recommend it. Its one of my all time favorites.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2012

    Alice Hoffman is a master of magic realism as a genre. Her char

    Alice Hoffman is a master of magic realism as a genre. Her characters provide both intrigue and delight.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    Great storyline and magical theme weaved together

    I think hat the author did a great job portraying believable magic intertwined with a wonderful storyabout family and relationships. I thouroughly enjoyed this book and recommend it highly!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    Interesting

    Not my usual read, I got through this and it was ok. Kind of lost myself in it at times and had to trudge through to more exciting parts. Overall not bad, but def not something i would read more than once.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2009

    I loved it!

    I loved this book so much! It had so much in it. The story line was really interesting and I adored the characters. It's not really like the movie but that was ok. Usually I would get mad that the movie is different than the book but I love both equally! I would recomend it highly! Read it and enjoy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    One of My Favorites!

    I really enjoyed this book. Alice Hoffman is great at conveying magical realism. This book sparked my interest in reading more of that particular genre. This book is invigorating and exciting. It also tells a lot about human nature and relationships. This is not your typical romance or sisterly bond novel. It is filled with realism with a hint of magic and mystery hence the genre, magical realism.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    good chick book

    i was livened up by this book. i found it very touching, very well written & beautifully told. anyone who has a sister would love to read this book! the characters were wonderfully portrayed

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2005

    outstanding

    this is a great book and i never thought it would be that good and she is a good auther then i have seen for a long time and she should make more books like that and people would read them but i know i would so .

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2004

    Enchanting

    Honestly, this is one of my favorite books. I recommend it to as many girlfriends of mine that I can because I loved it so much. The description is excellent, and the very plot is outstanding. So much better than the movie. Go read it, now!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 177 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9