Customer Reviews for

Practical Magic

Average Rating 4
( 175 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(91)

4 Star

(47)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Don't look too deep.

On the surface this is enjoyable enough-- a great, fun romance story full of all the the right classic ingredients. Then add a smidgen of mystery and a ghost. Finish it off with the all-powerful themes of love, sisterhood, and family, all written with Hoffman's dreamy p...
On the surface this is enjoyable enough-- a great, fun romance story full of all the the right classic ingredients. Then add a smidgen of mystery and a ghost. Finish it off with the all-powerful themes of love, sisterhood, and family, all written with Hoffman's dreamy prose.
Simply, this book is an addiction, gorgeous and well-plotted with fantastic characters and development.
If you're a hopeless romantic looking for a very real story with just a touch of magic, this is it.

posted by 1Katherine1 on September 3, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Interesting

Not my usual read, I got through this and it was ok. Kind of lost myself in it at times and had to trudge through to more exciting parts. Overall not bad, but def not something i would read more than once.

posted by VirtualVixen on October 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2003

    Cute Story

    I never watched the movie, but many people told me it was great. So instead I picked up the book. This was a cute and heart-felt book. Teaches the importance of family.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The author of this book personally told me that the book differe

    The author of this book personally told me that the book differed quite a bit from the movie, and she wasn’t exaggerating. That is the reason I read it. The movie is one of my favorites. In the novel, the story focuses a lot more on the third generation, Sally’s daughters. They really only appear as children in the movie. Although, I love Alice’s books, in some ways, I liked the movie version better. It is so well done. However, it was great to read the book, because for me it expanded and deepened the story. I recommend it for everyone, whether or not you are a fan of the popular movie.
    Michael Travis Jasper, Author of the Novel “To Be Chosen”

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2012

    Alice Hoffman is a master of magic realism as a genre. Her char

    Alice Hoffman is a master of magic realism as a genre. Her characters provide both intrigue and delight.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2003

    Whimsical

    A very enjoyable read. Perhaps it is lacking in something that's rather hard to pinpoint... it seems as if these characters have appeared in every one of Hoffman's books, like she has some kind of archetypical system. Nonetheless, "Practical Magic" is a great novel that displays Hoffman's talent for depth within simplicity.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2014

    great basis for a movie...

    great basis for a movie...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Book Review - Practical Magic by Alice Hoffman

    This story is the perfect blend of the real and the magical. Starting with two orphaned girls being raised by their "unconventional" aunts...the book then blossoms into an examination of family relationships, true love, and what hope and belief really mean. The relationships between the Aunts (Frances and Bridget-known as Jet), the girls (Sally and Gillian), and Sally's children (Antonia and Kylie) develop and change over the 30 year or so timespan of the book in a way that is absolutely something beautiful. The growth of all of these characters, the hard lessons learned, the joy and wonder embraced...make it a treasure even aside from it's magic. But this book does indeed also have a very magical side. There is magic woven through the Owens family dating back hundreds of years. The Aunts actively practice love magic for the town's women, sometimes with disastrous consequences. Sally and Gillian struggle though out their lives wavering between embracing what they are and rejecting it in the attempt to live a more normal life. By the conclusion, after one particularly hard lesson is learned, they seem to have found that balance... Note: I would have given this a full 5 stars if not for the element of animal sacrifice involved in the Aunts love magic.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Fantastic Story!

    This is my first novel that I have read by Alice Hoffman, and I thought it was fantastic. The story is an easy read, with beautiful scene descriptions and very believable characters that I can relate too. The author drew me into the story of Sally and Gillian and I was sad when I finished the last page. So I read it again. One of my favorite books. Highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    Loved the movie, loved the book

    I saw the movie so many times and never even realized that it was based on a novel. I am a huge fan of the movie, and now that I have read the book, I am a fan of the book as well. I was surprised first, the style and content was slightly different, less dreamy than I expected, but after about a hundred pages I really got into it and couldn`t put it down...I found Hoffman`s style wonderful, her prose fluent and witty. The focus is not on the story as much as it is about the remarkable women in the Owens family, and their relationship to each other (and men, eventually). My sole concern was that the two aunts, for me at least, did not seem to come to alive as much as the other Owens women, which is a pity, because they are such intriguing characters.
    There is a lot of sadness, a lot of hope in the book, but it doesn`t become soppy. I will probably reread it at some point.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2000

    A Must Read!

    I have loved this novel for 4 years. It always has been always will be my favorite. Maybe it is because I can relate to it. My sister and I have been through a lot together. If you have a sister that is also a friend, I highly suggest this novel by ALice Hoffman!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3