BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

A Practical Wedding: Creative Ideas for Planning a Beautiful, Affordable, and Meaningful Celebration

Average Rating 4.5
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Thank goodness

    Newly engaged as of three weeks ago, I have been eagerly awaiting the arrival of my pre-order of this book. I stumbled upon the APW website shortly after starting my online search for wedding info and I am so very grateful. The book and the website reflect what I am looking for out of our wedding; love, fun and a way to celebrate forming a new family with our dearest loved ones. The author cuts through the wedding b.s. that is so dominant in current U.S. culture and helps guide you to figure out what you really want. I read it all in less than a day. Between my partner and I we are down to one living parent and I really appreciated the sections that discussed how loss and grief can be acknowledged at a wedding. I will be utilizing this book at every point in my planning.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2012

    Best Wedding Planning Book Out There

    This book breaks down wedding planning in a totally sane and supportive way. It talks you through planning a marriage, a ceremony that reflects your love, and a kickass party. Seriously, this book will build you up and make you feel like your choices are the right ones, instead of tearing you down and making you feel like you are doing it wrong (like most other wedding books, magazines, and blogs).

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    Just finished A Practical Wedding, and as a newly engaged, just

    Just finished A Practical Wedding, and as a newly engaged, just starting-out couple, trying to fund our own, unique wedding I found this book extremely helpful!  I loved her straight forward, down to earth advice on how to make this special day our own.  She offers great advice on how to make choices that reflect your personal beliefs and values, and affirms the reader in these choices.  I love her "coloring outside the lines" approach, and I am so much more excited to begin wedding planning with my partner!  

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2012

    Fills a hole in the "wedding planning book" market!

    I'm only half way done with A Practical Wedding, and I can honestly say it has eased my (considerable) nerves around this whole wedding planning thing. I'd recommend this to any bride interested in keeping sane and their eye on the prize (getting married, duh) during the planning process.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2014

    This is not a step-by-step how to on planning your wedding. This

    This is not a step-by-step how to on planning your wedding. This is how not do go insane while planning your wedding. Meg's book encompasses the entire journey - from engagement to post-wedding. She gives you tips and advice on how to stay sane and keep everything in perspective.

    To be honest, I didn't read every section. The reason for these skipped sections is either because I'm beyond that point in my planning (venue picking, budget, vendors) or that it did not apply to me (DIY wedding). However, I did scan these sections and they seemed to be just as helpful/informative as any other section I read. Had I not been as far into planning as I am and had found this book a few months ago, I would have read each and every section.

    An aspect I found to be very cute when when Meg included stories, snippets, or quotes from other married couples in relation to each chapter. Having been married herself, Meg is well aware of the stress wedding planning can bring on, but to hear specifically from other brides regarding DIY, family drama, budget, tradition or the like is a nice touch. She also includes a list of resources you can use along with books she consulted in her research in case you want additional readings to ensure your sanity.

    While I enjoyed every section, I really liked the section on traditional. She debunks a lot of things people see as traditional when they've really only been around since the 1920s! White dresses, elaborate parities, church weddings - all those things came about in the time. Also, did you know the unity candle was "invented" in the 1970s for a soap opera!?

    If you are recently engaged or know somebody who is, this is the perfect book to read. Meg does an amazing job of putting things into perspective so that your wedding day will "be the happiest day of your life so far" (204).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2013

    I really enjoyed reading this book. I felt like it was a truthfu

    I really enjoyed reading this book. I felt like it was a truthful outlook on what weddings are really like. It made me feel like it was okay to not follow every "tradition" out there. I could not put it down, and I would recommend reading it if you are getting married!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    Must Read

    I wish this book had been around when I got engaged. I set aside every other wedding book I bought (you know the ones) because they all fell into the wedding hysteria complex, which I couldn't handle. Meg tells it like it is, and I can't wait for my next friend to get engaged so I can pass this book on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1