Customer Reviews for

Practice to Deceive

Average Rating 3.5
( 77 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

I don't understand the low ratings when the book isn't even out

I don't understand the low ratings when the book isn't even out yet. Therefore, I'll give it 5 stars and read it tomorrow when it actually comes out. Interesting that those who left low ratings didn't tell us why.

posted by Anonymous on October 7, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Not her best

I am a huge Ann Rule fan so when I saw this I had to preorder it. Normally I love her books but this one was a tough read for me. The story was not an easy read because it bounced around so much. That was my main disappointment. She did great research into the childhood...
I am a huge Ann Rule fan so when I saw this I had to preorder it. Normally I love her books but this one was a tough read for me. The story was not an easy read because it bounced around so much. That was my main disappointment. She did great research into the childhoods of the individuals involved which I always enjoy.

posted by 12109934 on October 14, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2013

    I am a huge Ann Rule fan and pre-ordered, but this is her worst

    I am a huge Ann Rule fan and pre-ordered, but this is her worst book I have read.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2013

    Not her best

    I am a huge Ann Rule fan so when I saw this I had to preorder it. Normally I love her books but this one was a tough read for me. The story was not an easy read because it bounced around so much. That was my main disappointment. She did great research into the childhoods of the individuals involved which I always enjoy.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    * I received a copy from the publisher via netgalley in exchange

    * I received a copy from the publisher via netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

    I found this to be an engrossing read except for the parts when she veered off onto other crimes. I tended to lose interest whenever that occurred. However, when she stuck to the crime on Whidbey Island I found the book hard to put down.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2013

    I don't understand the low ratings when the book isn't even out

    I don't understand the low ratings when the book isn't even out yet. Therefore, I'll give it 5 stars and read it tomorrow when it actually comes out. Interesting that those who left low ratings didn't tell us why.

    6 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2013

    Why are there reviews about a book thats not been out yet? I sug

    Why are there reviews about a book thats not been out yet? I suggest it's haters of Ann Rule and that;s not right so now I am counter rating with 5 stars.

    6 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2013

    I have read every single Ann Rule book, and eagerly anticipate h

    I have read every single Ann Rule book, and eagerly anticipate her new ones. It was disappointing to read this one. It was choppy and difficult to follow. I didn't feel like she really made me feel a sense of empathy, or loathing, as she usually brings her characters to life. The last 2 books of hers just did not keep me reading. I am not sure what is going on, but, if you read some of her earlier works, such as Small Sacrifices, you will feel the difference.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2013

    Disjointed

    I am a big Anne Rule fan and have read everything she has written..... i got hooked years ago with True Crime magazines, this book was different ..... full to overflowing with stories and history that was interesting, but unrelated to the crime and unnecessary to the story..... i for one enjoy and soak up reads that introduce human nature of all kinds but i can see where many people might not enjoy the loadup of unrelated info.....

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2013

    Least favorite of all her books. VERY disappointed. Way too much

    Least favorite of all her books. VERY disappointed. Way too much detail about minor characters. Perhaps not the best story to have written a book about. I absolutely would NOT recommend. I have read ALL her books.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2013

    There should not be any Reviews until after the the book is rele

    There should not be any Reviews until after the the book is released on October 8th. I don't know who thinks its funny to put 1 and 2 stars
     on books they haven't read.  Barnes and Noble should remove these including mine.

    4 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2013

    I almost didnt huy this book. The last few from Ann Rule were so

    I almost didnt huy this book. The last few from Ann Rule were somewhat lacking, however
     being a fan for years I really had to read it. I must say I was disappointed.
    What is lacking in my opinion is the fire in which the author wrote.
    She immersed herself into a story because the stories gripped her. She had a passion and it came through.
    I don't feel that anymore.
    Maybe the work and the circumstances finally became too much?
    And maybe her publisher expects a certain amount of books per contract?
     Whatever the reason, the stories have become dry and almost rote. Im still a fan but I think I will skip any further attempts

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2013

    not recommended

    always loved Ann's books. This book was not her best.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    Not as good as her earlier books, which I loved.

    The writing was not as detailed of all involved in the case. Took too long to get into lives of the main characters .

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2013

    THE BEST of the BEST

    The outstanding talent of Ann Rule never disappoints! Being a follower of her writings for so many many years has been grand. Come, join in, read this and all of her works to experience the wonder of Ann Rule.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2013

    I love Ann, but....

    Not my favorite Ann Rule. Just couldn't feel for the characters. But, I still will read anything she writes.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2013

    Very good.

    A very good story about what one family went through with all their hardships. Hard to believe one family had to endure all of this. On top of everything else, this senseless killing. It made me keep asking why.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2013

    Very interesting!!

    I love Ann Rule's books. This one kept my attention. I like the way she delivers the facts!! Another great book on the Nook is the novel, "The Partisan", by William Jarvis. Both books deserve A++++++

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2013

    I would give anything written by Ann Rule 5 stars.

    I would give anything written by Ann Rule 5 stars.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    If you like Ann Rule's case studies you'll like this.

    I have been a fan of Ann Rule since the first book of her's I read. She is from the Northwest as I am so many of her cases are one's that have been in the news here. She has the connections to have so much inside information & always writes in a way to make an interesting book rather than just presenting legal facts. Although this is not the most exciting case she has ever presented it does not disappoint.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2014

    Is this book written by THE Ann Rule? I have read many of her bo

    Is this book written by THE Ann Rule? I have read many of her books in the past and this book is nowhere near to the quality of the others. It is choppy and disjointed and suffers from lack of focus. From one paragraph to the next it is hard to keep track . There are huge sections that sound like they should be in another book entirely and have no relationship to this story, except that some of the people are related.  There was no special intrigue that usually is included. in her books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    If you like Dateline, you'll like this book

    I'd like to see B&N be more clear on the genre of the book. Would have bought it anyways because it was a book club choice, but I am more into fictional stories- and not Dateline type crime reports. For me it was extemley boring- but if you like reading real life crime stories- this will be right up your alley.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4