Customer Reviews for

Prada and Prejudice

Average Rating 4
( 62 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 30, 2009

    One of the best books i've read

    I just finished reading this book and let me tell you, i will never forget this book. I just finished it and i already want to read it again. It has romance, and mystery. You'll want to know what happens page after page, and its really thrilling. The end ties everything together and your just left totally satisfied with the great book. I definitely recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    There's something very light and fun about the idea of a modern-

    There's something very light and fun about the idea of a modern-day girl going back to the time of Austen. Perhaps it's the idea of meeting a handsome, charming man at a ball. What's the modern version of that? Meeting a cute guy at a club? It just doesn't have the same appeal.

    I really enjoyed this book, particularly the character Callie. She grows immensely over the course of the book, and that's what made her so likable. At the start, she's very insecure, which typically results in some act of severe clumsiness. Eventually, she gains some confidence, and is able to make some new friends along the way. I think that's what makes her such a great character. In my experience, most girls experience some sort of insecurities over the course of high school, but Callie is able to overcome that.

    While some parts may have been a bit predictable, I don't think it detracted from the reading experience. I knew what was going to happen, but I still couldn't wait to see how it would happen. I also liked how Callie brought some of her 21st century mannerisms into the 19th. Every time Callie accidentally used a slang word, I could imagine the other characters staring at her like she was mad. Callie also refused to let her new friend, Emily, be married off to a man she didn't love, no matter the cost. While I thought this was brave of both girls, I was actually worried about how that was going to end.

    This is definitely a good choice when you need a quick, entertaining read. I can't wait to see more from Hubbard!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2012

    a friend gave me this book i didn't expect it to be a good book

    a friend gave me this book i didn't expect it to be a good book but it actually was a really nice story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    Cute and quick read...

    it's a nice modern twist to a great classic story. The characters are likeable. Overall the story is a fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Sarah Bean the Green Bean Teen Queen for TeensReadToo.com

    Callie is on a class trip to London and she's miserable. When she overhears a group of popular girls talking about how they plan to sneak into a club that night, Callie is determined to join them. But first she needs something to make her cool - Prada heels!

    Callie is a huge klutz and one step in those three-inch Prada heels sends her tumbling over - and waking up in 1815!

    There Callie gets mistaken for a long-lost friend of Emily. Callie soon gets mixed up in family scandal, engagements, and high society - and she can't seem to keep from butting heads with the arrogant (but very hot) duke Alex.

    This book was so much fun - I loved every minute of it! Callie is a fun modern girl and Regency England just isn't sure what to do with her. I loved the author's ideas of how a modern girl would react to the customs and society of 1815. Callie's adventures were creative but felt realistic. I mean really, what would a modern girl do about corsets and the lack of indoor plumbing?

    I really enjoyed the interaction between Callie and Alex. Mandy Hubbard gives a perfect nod to Elizabeth and Mr. Darcy and their relationship was loads of fun to read.

    The thing I loved the most was that the story jumped right in! I get annoyed when books tell you in the synopsis that something will happen, but it takes pages and pages to even get there. Callie lands herself in 1815 by the second chapter -which means most of the story has a historical setting and the action starts from the beginning. I love that!! (Thank you, Ms. Hubbard!)

    This was an enjoyable, delightful read that readers of romance or historical fiction will enjoy. I can't wait to read more from this fabulous new author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Isn't this every Regency romance fan's fantasy?

    I have a confession to make: I used to daydream about time traveling back to Regency England, where I could pretend I was a young miss and find myself a really hot duke who fights with himself about whether or not to compromise my innocence. Oh yeah, I read those romances.

    So how excited was I to find Prada and Prejudice, this great YA novel that does exactly that -- sends its heroine into the past, where she meets a duke and gets mixed up in mistaken identity, arranged marriages, and odd etiquette.

    I really enjoyed the book, especially the awkwardness of the time period and the differences poor Callie doesn't understand between now and then. I did, though, kind of wish she was a Regency Romance fan. This is probably only because that's how I would have written it. But since I didn't write it, I like what Mandy Hubbard did.

    I spent a lot of the novel wondering how she was going to end it, but I wasn't disappointed. It's a perfect ending for this story. Romance and Austen fans should definitely read this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A gentle reverent nod to Pride and Prejudice

    When fifteen year old heroine Callie Montgomery purchases a pair of red Prada pumps with sky-high heels she thinks her life will change from high school geek to A-list fashionista in one smooth step. She's out to impress her savvy classmates while traveling on a school trip in London. Not only is Callie socially awkward, she is an admitted klutz. It only takes her three steps out of the Prada shop in her new shoes to trip and hit her head. When she wakes up, her surroundings have changed from city street, to country lane. She is taken in at Harksbury, a palatial country manor house where she is mistaken for an American cousin Rebecca Vaughn. Rebecca's first visit to England is highly anticipated by Emily Thornton-Hawke, who warmly greets the cousin she has never met with open arms, and in full Regency era attire. Thinking that British people are very odd, Callie asks to use the telephone, but only gets blank looks. She plays along with impersonating Cousin Rebecca and gradually begins to realize that somehow she has traveled back in time to 1815. Her twenty-first century manners and memory of Regency history hamper her ruse, especially with the arrogant but dishy Lord Alexander Thornton-Hawke, Duke of Harksbury. He thinks she is outspoken and ill-mannered; she thinks if he wasn't such a complete jerk, he'd be a great catch.

    A high-concept time travel fantasy, Mandy Hubbard's debut novel Prada and Prejudice reminds us how far we have evolved socially pitting twenty-first century personal freedoms against early nineteenth-century social stricture. Hubbard's first person writing style is direct and engaging. Her heroine Callie/Rebecca is endearingly insecure, struggling to find herself in a teenage world flooded with designer clothes and confusing priorities. She cleverly contrasts her heroine's modern sensibilities against the double standard for women in Regency times. Eventually, she is able to influence Alex to change his views on out of wedlock children, arranged marriages, and of course being an arrogant aristocrat, indirectly addresses issues like primogeniture and feminism without even knowing it. She is just being herself, outspoken and direct. In addition, being Rebecca changes Callie's perspective as she gradually realizes that by traveling thousands of miles to England, or back two hundred years into the past, she can not escape herself. Wherever you go there you are! Like Dorothy in The Wizard of Oz, her red shoes are not her ticket to happiness. It was there all along, waiting to be discovered, in herself.

    Light, bright, and sparkly, Prada and Prejudice has made a grand entrance into the emerging Young Adult fiction genre. It is not a Jane Austen sequel per se, but gently nods with reverence at Pride and Prejudice, presenting a hero and heroine whose relationship and characteristics readers will recognize from Austen's famous literary couple Elizabeth Bennet and Mr. Darcy. With Austen being the grandmother of chick-lit, we have seen this premise used many times before in modern novels; Bridget Jones' Diary, Confessions of a Jane Austen Addict and Twilight, and in the movies You've Got Mail and Lost in Austen to name a few. If Prada and Prejudice represents the next evolution is Austen inspired fiction geared for young readers (and those young at heart) we are on very good footing indeed. Well done. I recommend it highly for those in need of a quick escape, and a hearty laugh.

    Laurel Ann, Austenprose

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1