Customer Reviews for

Prague Winter: A Personal Story of Remembrance and War, 1937-1948

Average Rating 4
( 54 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Still reading, but enjoying it so much.

This book is written in the most beautiful voice that I want to start by saying that first. The insights she shares about the behind-the-scenes drama that is the beginning of World War one are intimate and are documented with pictures throughout. To see this event fro...
This book is written in the most beautiful voice that I want to start by saying that first. The insights she shares about the behind-the-scenes drama that is the beginning of World War one are intimate and are documented with pictures throughout. To see this event from a Czechoslavian perspective is enriching my understanding and assumptions about the war and the people who lived during this terrible time. It is a very, very good book.

posted by keepssecrt on May 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Highly recommended

A great book for those that like to read about personal history. Written very well and could not put it down.

posted by CharliCG on May 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted May 20, 2012

    Still reading, but enjoying it so much.

    This book is written in the most beautiful voice that I want to start by saying that first. The insights she shares about the behind-the-scenes drama that is the beginning of World War one are intimate and are documented with pictures throughout. To see this event from a Czechoslavian perspective is enriching my understanding and assumptions about the war and the people who lived during this terrible time. It is a very, very good book.

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2012

    Highly recommended

    A great book for those that like to read about personal history. Written very well and could not put it down.

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2012

    Great read

    A wonderful book by Madeleine Albright. It held my attention throughout the whole story. Such an intelligent woman. I learned so much about Czechoslovakia then & now. I thought I knew everything there was to know about WWII but I surely missed the boat on that one.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2012

    Wonderfully Written History and Personal Story

    This book is a well written recollection of Czech history from a very personal perspective. Although Ms. Albright's life is intertwined in the book, she very masterfully keeps the context broader.

    Her observations and commentary as a well respected stateswoman provide just the right amount of opinion that cause readers to question how decisions are made and what really may the affect choices and actions of each of us.

    Really enjoyed this book, and highly recommend this for anyone who wants to understand the personal experience of Europeans in the WWII era.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great book. Only 98 more pages to go and I started it six days a

    Great book. Only 98 more pages to go and I started it six days ago. The history is from a different perspective than most Americans are used to reading. It is accessible and approachable for almost anyone.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2012

    No text submitted

    No text submitted

    3 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    Outstanding read

    This book is a wonderful read. It gives a beautifully clear and focused insight into the period of pre and post war years in Czechoslovakia, along with outstanding recall of the years during WWII. Lessons we must never forget.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    Madeleine Albright writes an easy to read well researched accoun

    Madeleine Albright writes an easy to read well researched account of the events in Europe leading up to WWII and its aftermath. However, if you are expecting a story predominately about her family you will be disappointed. The book is more history than her story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    A book worth reading. I wanted to write the author and thank he

    A book worth reading. I wanted to write the author and thank her for sharing her family story- it helped me understand the region and how history shaped it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Prague Win­ter: A Per­sonal Story of Remem­brance and War, 1937¿

    Prague Win­ter: A Per­sonal Story of Remem­brance and War, 1937–1948 by Madeleine Albright is a non-fiction book in which the author talks about the years men­tioned from her per­spec­tive. Some­what per­sonal, adven­tur­ous and mov­ing, this mem­oir takes the reader on a Euro­pean his­tory les­son which is not often told.

    "There is not deeper cause for despair than mali­cious hope (Hitler proved that), and few traits more valu­able than sad­ness and anger at suf­fer­ing. The dis­tinc­tion that mat­ters is not whether a story con­cludes hap­pily but whether there is at its core an affir­ma­tion that life has mean­ing. That is why this book of remem­brance and war will end in hope."

    My grand­fa­ther was born in Bratislava, a city in Czecho­slo­va­kia. He wasn’t very talk­a­tive, my grand­fa­ther, and would answer ques­tions very spar­ingly and it is a shame that I did not ask that many. He passed away many years ago and I would have loved to tour his birth city with him. That is if he was will­ing to do so, he man­aged to escape the Nazi occu­pa­tion as a teenager but never saw his par­ents or sis­ter again who were mur­dered in the con­cen­tra­tion camps (his brother became a par­ti­san and they reunited after the war).

    That is one of the many rea­sons I wanted to read this book, I wanted to learn more about his­tory which I didn’t even know I was curi­ous about. How­ever, the more I read the book the more I real­ized that I have heard the names of Czech lead­ers and states­man even though I did not know exactly what their con­tri­bu­tions were.

    Prague Win­ter by Madeleine Albright was a book which sur­prised me from start to fin­ish. At first I thought I was pick­ing up a mem­oir by the famed Sec­re­tary of State about her child­hood, but what I got was a first-class les­son in his­tory before, dur­ing and after World War II from per­spec­tive seen thor­ough Czecho­slo­va­kian eyes.

    As a daugh­ter of Josef Kör­bel, a Czecho­slo­va­kian diplo­mat, Mrs. Albright has a unique life­time per­spec­tive of the country’s sit­u­a­tion and blends her per­sonal insights into the polit­i­cal dynam­ics which shaped Euro­pean and Amer­i­can poli­cies dur­ing those tur­bu­lent years. The author’s fas­ci­nat­ing nar­ra­tive and per­spec­tive drew me into the book from the first sev­eral pages and engrossed me until the last page.

    This book should be on the read­ing list of every State Depart­ment employee. The lessons which Ms. Albright brings to the fore­front can save us from the same traps that gave rise to the Nazis and also the com­mu­nists at the end of the war. The book also high­lights indi­vid­ual achieve­ments, where sim­ple peo­ple rise to the occa­sion in small, mean­ing­ful ways which don’t make it to the his­tory books (Jews cre­at­ing a com­mu­nity in a ghetto, Lon­don­ers’ band­ing together dur­ing the bomb­ing, as well as indi­vid­ual diplo­matic achieve­ments for democ­racy) but are inspir­ing and meaningful.

    The book includes pic­tures from the Kör­bel fam­ily col­lec­tion of peo­ple and events, the writ­ing is amaz­ing and even the foot­notes are superb. Ms. Albright’s grasp of polit­i­cal mea­sures, his­tor­i­cal events and artic­u­late nar­ra­tive makes this book a grip­ping read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    Can't read on Nook Apps

    While I could read the sample on my IPAD Nook app after I bought the book I found it to be incompatible. This is also tru on a Windows Nook app. I should have been warned.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    This was a great book. I visited Prague for 2 days in 2010 while

    This was a great book. I visited Prague for 2 days in 2010 while on a whirlwind tour of Europe. It is a beautiful city and I only
    wish I had read this book prior to my visit because it would have given me more insight into the history and culture of Czechoslovakia.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2012

    Interesting as well as educational

    This was history and the facts of life then presented in an open, honest and interesting way. Glad I read it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    This was a great read and my book club's choice. This gives a v

    This was a great read and my book club's choice. This gives a very good history of Europe in the first half of the 20th century. I loved the pictures. This really brought the characters to life. A significant piece of work for Ms. Albright.


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2013

    Highly recommended, you must reat this book.

    For some time I as traing to buy this book, I live in Mexico and coudnt find it. Right now Im reading it and is a great history of this lady and all the terrible this her family went trought.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    I had the unique experience of reading this book while on a trip

    I had the unique experience of reading this book while on a trip to Prague and East Germany. It is indeed an exceptional book...well written, keenly observant, and deeply personal. I learned far more than I expected about the contributions of many Czech democrats as well as the heart-rending stories of those who did not survive and the cruel exploits of the betrayers of democracy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    Very nicely written and accessible even for teen readers. Personal connections to a modern figure made many passages more impactful: reflections on what one might have done under such circumstances begs us all consider tough choices & reflect.

    Well done!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3