Customer Reviews for

Prairie Rose

Average Rating 4
( 171 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(82)

4 Star

(52)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Loved the characters, some of the plots are predictable, good clean story makes a good gift.

a good read a little on the predictable side, A christain book, not full of scripture but good moral advice

posted by lindasLS on May 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

great story

I loved the characters and the whole plot behind the story. This type of genre is my favorite to read and this is one of the best i have read so far. If you like historical romance lanced in with Christian beliefs, then this is the bok you need to read. Really it is a t...
I loved the characters and the whole plot behind the story. This type of genre is my favorite to read and this is one of the best i have read so far. If you like historical romance lanced in with Christian beliefs, then this is the bok you need to read. Really it is a truely great story.

posted by 10328596 on October 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 82 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted October 17, 2011

    Filled with Hope!

    I was delighted with this first book in Catherine Palmer's series, A Town Called Hope! I enjoyed the unexpected plot twists along with the somewhat predictable ones! I loved the clarity of the characters as they worked their way through finding their own faith and hope! I appreciated that Ms. Pamer completed this story line with a happy ending, all the while setting up the next book with great anticipation! I look forward to learning more about A Town Called Hope and how God continues to show up!! Well Done, Easy Read, Highly Recommended!!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2011

    A Wonderfully Sweet Story

    A young girl leaves Kansas City in search of a family and a place to call home. The characters are lovable and the prairie is a setting to fall in love with. This story is filled with courage and faith in God's ability to help us through life's most difficult times and shows the strength found in families.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2011

    Don't miss out on this series!

    If you want to read an inspirational story with a lot of heart - you simply must read this book...and it's followers - Prairie Storm and Prairie Fire. LOVED these stories!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2011

    The Ending is the Best...

    Sure, the book is a little predictable. But it's so, so good. You take the lead character right into your heart. The ending is the best part, but not because you're glad it's over. The conclusion is so satisfying, and I was so excited that there were two more books in the series waiting for me!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2011

    Great read

    Easy read, couldn't put it down. Loved the characters! I am going to read the sequel now!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2011

    Very good! Worth every cent.

    This is a well-written, Christian romance that is exactly what you are looking for if you have some time on your hands and want a feel-good story that you may take a few lessons from. It's SO much better than the sex-fluff that pervades through 99% of romance titles.
    It's not heavy in scripture, like the other review mentioned, but God is very present in the book through Rosie. I thought it was very powerful overall. I grew up on a farm in South Dakota and found Rosie's character to be very similar to my mother's, and I couldn't help but find her inspiring and extremely likable.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2011

    "Pure" Love

    I love to read these type of romance novels. Yes, I admit, that sometimes I like the steamy romances, but I just love these Christian novels where people actually wait for each other. AND, it's an actual romance. What a breath of fresh air. I will be looking for other novels by this author.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    Very entertaining

    Catherine Palmer creates such great characters that it's nice to have them around for more than one book. Prairie Rose is book one--it was hard not to rush through to the end. I read it slowly to savor it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2011

    Good Book

    Great Story

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2011

    Good free read

    This book was a free book. I think over two hundred pages.
    I enjoyed the book so well I bought the next book Prairie Fire.
    It continued with another character. It is a story of hardship
    and family and romance. The characters in the book are christian so the love story has no sex. Other reveiws of books have mentioned if the book is christian or not is why I mention it although it matters neither to me as long as the book has a good story. Hope you enjoy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2011

    Highly recommend

    I really enjoyed this book, a lot of history of the settling the prairie of the United States. All of the joy of life on a prairie plus the hardships of that life. The ingenuity of the settlers and how hard they were willing to work to achieve success.
    Great book for those who love some romance and history.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2011

    Great Read!

    The author captures you from the beginning! What a wonderful story if faith, live and pioneer fortitude!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2011

    Excellent!

    This was an exciting story of faith and the struggles of the pioneers!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2011

    Highly Recommend

    This book caught me from the get-go and was one of those hard to put down until you got to the end and then didn't want it to end! I love Catherine Palmer books, but this one is the top of the list!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2011

    Inspiring!

    I really enjoyed reading the book. I enjoyed all of the characters, but most especially; Rose, Seth and Seth's son Chipper. This would make a great Hallmark Movie. In reading the book, I found it to be (for me) somewhat thought provoking. The way the character Rose explained her relationship with God. I thought the tone of the book was good in that it is indeed Christian based, but not preachy. I could relate to both the views of Rose and also, that of how Seth felt in the beginning about how he felt regarding God. I would recommend this book. Catherine Palmer, great book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2011

    LOVED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I LOVED reading Prairie Rose!!! I couldn't put it down!!! I read it in one day it IS SO GOOD!!!! It is a MUST READ!! :D :D :D :D

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2011

    highly recommended

    Loved this book.It made me laugh,cry,and look at how hard things were in there day. I couldn't put it down !

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2014

    Enjoyable

    Really enjoyed the story of faith

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2014

    Good

    Good read be glad tonread othernboks by this author

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    good clean book

    I did enjoy Prairie Rose, it was a good clean read. The only thing that slightly bothered me was the main characters trying to decide on their feelings for each other throughout most of the book. But I would recommend it to a friend and will read more from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 82 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5