Customer Reviews for

Pray for Dawn (Dark Days Series #4)

Average Rating 4
( 98 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Review From My Urban Fantasies

Originally published on my blog, My Urban Fantasies. (myurbanfantasies.blogspot) Aurora is now free. Mira managed to close the doors before all the naturi escaped. After the battle Jabari leaves the broken and beaten Mira to burn in the sun. Mira has no desire to save h...
Originally published on my blog, My Urban Fantasies. (myurbanfantasies.blogspot) Aurora is now free. Mira managed to close the doors before all the naturi escaped. After the battle Jabari leaves the broken and beaten Mira to burn in the sun. Mira has no desire to save herself, even if she were able. Mira is tired of fighting and risking death. Danaus has no desire to leave Mira to her death. He picks Mira up and carries her to a cave to protect her from the sun. Danaus tell Mira that he is not up to killing her right now and needs a rain check. Mira then passes out holding Danaus' hand. Two months later Mira is at the Dark Room, depressed and missing Danaus, when James Parker shows up with a proposition from Ryan. Pray For Dawn is a little different. The entire novel is told from Danaus' point of view. We finally get a look inside of our brooding boy's head. Mira sees Danaus as this strong, unstoppable force of honor. Turns out that Danaus has this hard shell that he shows the world and a somewhat gooey center. Danaus is plagued with insecurities. We already know about the ones concerning the deal his mother made and of Danaus' fear of going to hell, but now we know why. We finally get to learn all the complicated reasons behind this and the reason of his hatred toward nightwalkers. While submerged in Danaus' pyche, we get to ride along as he deals with the feelings he has towards Mira. It's an interesting ride and well worth the wait. It's been three months since Dawnbreaker. Danaus has a rough time in Pray For Dawn. After Machu Picchu Danaus traveled, mostly in Europe, hunting the naturi and nightwalkers. While hunting Danaus tries to forget about Mira, but that plan quickly shatters when he's asked to go to Savannah to investigate a murder. I can not go into to much detail about this book. It's almost impossible to discuss a small plot point without giving a huge hint towards the major plot. The blurb on the back of the book (written above) is about as specific as one can get without giving to much away. One thing I can tell you is the end of Pray For Dawn has left me begging for the next book. I love the fact that Danaus is no longer portrayed as the cold hearted vampire killer. His words may still be cold, but now we know the reason behind them.

posted by MyUrbanFantasies on December 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

I have read the first three books and enjoyed them, this one not

I have read the first three books and enjoyed them, this one not so much. The story told from Danaus' perspective if very dry and flat. I am hoping the author swiches back to Mira's side of the story in future books...

posted by Blondeness032 on April 21, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 98 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted April 21, 2013

    I have read the first three books and enjoyed them, this one not

    I have read the first three books and enjoyed them, this one not so much. The story told from Danaus' perspective if very dry and flat. I am hoping the author swiches back to Mira's side of the story in future books...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Review From My Urban Fantasies

    Originally published on my blog, My Urban Fantasies. (myurbanfantasies.blogspot) Aurora is now free. Mira managed to close the doors before all the naturi escaped. After the battle Jabari leaves the broken and beaten Mira to burn in the sun. Mira has no desire to save herself, even if she were able. Mira is tired of fighting and risking death. Danaus has no desire to leave Mira to her death. He picks Mira up and carries her to a cave to protect her from the sun. Danaus tell Mira that he is not up to killing her right now and needs a rain check. Mira then passes out holding Danaus' hand. Two months later Mira is at the Dark Room, depressed and missing Danaus, when James Parker shows up with a proposition from Ryan. Pray For Dawn is a little different. The entire novel is told from Danaus' point of view. We finally get a look inside of our brooding boy's head. Mira sees Danaus as this strong, unstoppable force of honor. Turns out that Danaus has this hard shell that he shows the world and a somewhat gooey center. Danaus is plagued with insecurities. We already know about the ones concerning the deal his mother made and of Danaus' fear of going to hell, but now we know why. We finally get to learn all the complicated reasons behind this and the reason of his hatred toward nightwalkers. While submerged in Danaus' pyche, we get to ride along as he deals with the feelings he has towards Mira. It's an interesting ride and well worth the wait. It's been three months since Dawnbreaker. Danaus has a rough time in Pray For Dawn. After Machu Picchu Danaus traveled, mostly in Europe, hunting the naturi and nightwalkers. While hunting Danaus tries to forget about Mira, but that plan quickly shatters when he's asked to go to Savannah to investigate a murder. I can not go into to much detail about this book. It's almost impossible to discuss a small plot point without giving a huge hint towards the major plot. The blurb on the back of the book (written above) is about as specific as one can get without giving to much away. One thing I can tell you is the end of Pray For Dawn has left me begging for the next book. I love the fact that Danaus is no longer portrayed as the cold hearted vampire killer. His words may still be cold, but now we know the reason behind them.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2014

    Eh

    This story was bland at best. Denaus has no personality so it's brutal to tead from his point of view. He' rather jouvenile in his mindset though he is 1,800 years old and that just seems laughable itself. What an ignorant neanderthal.

    "I pick things up and put them down."

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Time to hear from Danaus

    Book 4 is from Danuas point of view which i liked because we found out he's not such a jerk and it was better than the first three books but still i'm not in love with the characters and in all honesty i only read all 5 books because i had bought them all together, otherwise after reading the first two books i wouldn't have gave them another shot. Jocelynn Drake writes her characters with a fierce attitude and not much else. The whole series is about saving the nighwalker race from the nuturi but Jocelynn has wrote the characters so heartless and corrupt that as a reader, you don't care whether their species is saved or not. In these books vampires are ruthless killers who enjoy tormenting not only humans but fellow vampires, whats to love? The connection between danaus and mira is weak and doesn't capture your attention at all, overall these books are all over the place and just plain annoying. I read a lot and i recommend a lot of books to friends but i seriously would not recommend this to my friends.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2013

    Na

    Not as good but still worth the readto continue the story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    Could Not Put it Down

    I could not put it down and when I did it made me think about it even more so I read this book in three days and I really thought that the storyline was superb and the story was really amazing definatly worth it if you like kind of thrillwrs but with a mix of fantasy in it a very great novel, very enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2013

    Better and better!

    This series gets more exciting from book to book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    Lace

    Smiles sheepishly running my hands through yiur hair as I feel your tounge

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    Drake

    Hello

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    Shanda

    Hey

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Buy me

    Page turner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2010

    Couldnt Put it Down!!!

    I definitely enjoyed the 4th book in the Dark Days Series...this time Jocelynn changed the series up a bit and wrote the story from Danuas's point of view. Having that different take on the events that occurred helped build his character. I loved the book and have just started the 5th. This is the first review I have ever written, I highly suggest everyone read this book! I couldnt put it down :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2010

    Series continues to deliver

    Each book in this series has been a great stand alone story as well a wonderful continuation of the saga, I rarely recommend books, but these are well worth an afternoon, entertainment at it's finest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2010

    Disappointed.

    I read the first, second, third and this one because I want to know what is going on with the two characters. This is thru Danuas POV,I was irritated that the author kept repeating herself thru out the whole book, how strong powerful is Mira, how he doesn't trust Ryan, the author would use the same lines within two sentences. LOTS of repeats! that's too bad because I really like the two characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    fabulous urban fantasy

    Daneus the millennium old vampire Hunter struggles with his feelings for the seven century old Nighwalker vampire Mira. Logically and instinctively she is his natural enemy yet his soul feels taken by her as neither can go for the final kill as she feels the same internal war.

    Having returned from Spain to investigate the murder of a girl in Mira's turn, Savannah, Daneus is confronted by three werewolves led by Nicolai. The Naturi has returned with the same mission as before to annihilate all races on the earth. The vampires and lycan must unite against a strong common enemy who just killed that girl as a calling card. As Mira is losing her grip on sanity and Daneus fears the Bori who possess half his soul and want the rest as a portal to this plane, the beleaguered pair teams up to try to save the planet without allowing the humans to know they exist or are in peril.

    The fourth Dark Days urban fantasy (see Dawnbreaker, Dayhunter and Nightwalker) is a fabulous entry as all hell is breaking out in Georgia and elsewhere. Fast-paced throughout, readers will enjoy the switch from Mira's viewpoint in the previous entries to Daneus' perspective as the action never slows down and sets up the next book in Drake's dramatic darkening, Wait For Dusk.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 98 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5