Customer Reviews for

Prayer at Rumayla: A Novel of the Gulf War

Average Rating 4.5
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2002

    Powerful emotional impact

    If you are a Gulf War veteran, the impact of Prayer at Rumayla will be the shock of recognition. If you've never been to war, this book will help you begin to understand what war does to a person, and how difficult our Army, and our society make it for our young warriors to survive peace time. This is an important book, stunningly real, by one of the men who has been there.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2002

    Excellent Read!!!

    KUDOS to Charles Sheehan-Miles on a wonderful piece of work. Prayer At Rumayla was a trip I didn't expect to take, but was real glad I did. The journey was fast paced, with real-life scenarios that will undoubtedly make readers think quite differently about Operation Desert Storm, and the war's brutal after-effects! The varying problems that the author brought to light will serve as a great example for those who dare to leap into the mind and heart of a suffering veteran. As a Gulf War Vet---- I thank Charles for writing such a powerful work. CONGRATULATIONS!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2002

    Great Book, Get it and Read it!!

    Prayer at Rumayla is the first spell binding book I have read in a long time! It kept me totally intrigued from cover to cover. If you have ever been in the military and especially in the Army, you will find this book very enlightening. The author tells it like it is, and spares no details. I look forward to any more books that Charles Sheehan-Miles may write.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2002

    A highly recommended book!!

    This is a stunning and totally unpredictable book written in a style that keeps a reader engrossed from the start, with a shocking ending. I began reading it, and shortly found I was 180 pages into the story. The book is actually two very good stories in one, brilliantly written by the author to immediately wrench and hold your attention. A story of what happens when young soldiers are committed to battle, the inseparable bonding between all sharing the experience, how it differently affects those involved, and sometimes the aftermath. This partly fiction, partly non-fiction book tells what happened on the ground in Iraq from a tankers perspective, with all the antiseptic pushbutton video impressions of the Gulf War peeled away to reveal the brutality of warfare. I truly like a writing style in which the author provides enough detail to put oneself in the position of the main character, yet not so much as to become boring. I also thoroughly enjoyed how the character's thought process worked....going from one thought to the next that is so totally unexpected....and many times in a humorous direction. I highly recommend this very good book!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2002

    real stuff

    It isn't pretty, but it gives me what seems like a realistic view of what being in a war can do to men. It is a great story, showing the inner struggles of a man dealing with the difficulties of fighting in the Gulf war and returning home. nitty gritty stuff that I have never heard talked about before relating to war and what it is like. The book flows very easily, I looked forward to reading it every evening, and I couldn't wait to see how it would end.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    Great!

    Very well written, being inside a sodier' s head is very disturbing but over all an amazing story

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    Gut Wrenching, Raw Honesty, Excellent Read

    Unadulterated, raw reality. Pay close attention because THIS is what our country does to our soldiers on a daily basis. I really hope someone learns from this.

    This is what we drive our soldiers to. And it is SO wrong. They deserve better though they will never ask for it.

    They shouldn't have to.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2002

    An exciting book from front to back

    The intense flow of this book is amazing. The author's ability to keep the storyline moving in such a manner that one will not want to put this book down. Being a fellow Desert storm Vet., I was able to put myself on the battelfield with Chet Brown, as well as come back stateside with him. An excellent read for anyone that wants to get a true feeling of what a combat soldier experiences not only during war, but more importantly, after the war, and for the rest of his/her life. I highly recommend this book, and anxiously await more writtings from Charles Sheehan-Miles.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    Good read

    Great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    Must read

    This has given me a better understanding of what our soldiers go through. Not just at war but also servimg in the military.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1