Customer Reviews for

Prayer for the Dying

Average Rating 4.5
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2008

    Very talented writer!

    This book was amazingly well written! It actually had a consistent mood that was present throughout. It was both historically interesting and haunting at the same time. I will not forget it for along time.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2007

    Fantastic!!

    I'm really at a loss for words. It is a powerful, well written book. His writing style is far above any author of his time. The story line is simple, but fantastic at the same time. I couldn't put this book down.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2006

    The best of the dark

    O'Nan has captured the sight, taste, smell and feel of death and human waste in this book. Admittedly, it was the first of his books that I read, but it has remained my very favorite. The use of perspective matched with the ability to paint such detailed pictures with so few words is simply awe-inspiring.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2005

    Exciting and Dark

    As a fan of Onan for years I was truly shocked by the new direction that he took with this book. Amazing. It is not often that one finds a book with such deep themes, and effective metaphors that is also a page turner. The themes and action are so closely entwined that it is the best of both worlds. AND WHAT THEMES! The feeling of death oozes from every line in the book. The only other novels I can think of to accomplish this are Camus (The Plague) and Thomas Mann(Death in Venice). If you are wondering whether or not to order the book then please consider the last time you heard of a book getting compared to the great authors as freely and commonly as this one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2000

    Like a runaway freight train

    Reading a book as powerful and concise as this, one is left to wonder why, with 5 previous books under his belt and only 38 years of age, the author is relatively unknown. This book leaves me scrambling to catch up on the rest of Mr. O'Nan's work. There are no easy answers for the protagonist Jacob Hansen, rendering him a character one cant help but feel empathetic towards. A most engaging story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2000

    Excellent book, highly recommended to everyone!

    It is not always my rule for rating books, but definitely when a book is a quick read, it deserves high praise from me. I must echo my fellow reviewers by saying this book was tragic and deeply moving to say the least. I would recommend this book to anyone including those that had it in their top ten list of horror books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2007

    Unforgettable

    I often pass this on to friends or colleagues...as a rite to perspective. It will certainly move you, and leave you haunted for some time to come.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2010

    'Hauntingly' well written

    I read this book for a literature class I took in 2001. I was amazed by it then and I am still haunted by it today at times. A spectacular example of how an author can keep a reader in the dark - when the reader believes something is true, but that is not the case at all!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Not what I was expecting

    My husband & I saw this advertised in a horror magazine so I expected it to be a bit more "in your face" kind of horror. It started slow but I figured the pace would pick but it never really did. It's very even keel. The review I read compared Stewart O'Nan to Stephen King - my all time favorite writer. It was less "Carrie" or even "Misery" and more "The Girl Who Loved Tom Gordon." It's a keeper and I expect to want to read it again in a year or so.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Wow! An incrediably well written book that will move you!

    There are not many modern authors that can write with such art and style. The story line is very moving and draws you in instantly. This is a must read and should be on school reading lists! Words can not capture how wonderful this book is!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2005

    Absolutely Stunning!

    This has turned out to be my favorite book of all time. Quite by accident, I picked up 'Wisconsin Death Trip' by Michael Lesy, the same night that I finished ' A Prayer for the Dying'. I nearly fell off my sofa. Trust me....the combination of the two books will leave you reeling!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1