Customer Reviews for

The Prayer of Jabez: Breaking Through to the Blessed Life

Average Rating 4.5
( 116 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(89)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Read it, love it,

This book is one of the interesting books, I ever read.

posted by Anonymous on December 7, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Like the Emperor's new Clothes

I was very disappointed with this book, especially after all the hype I've read. I agree with another reviewer that it's basically an empty promise; it's like cotton candy, which is mostly air. I hope I can unload my copies (I ordered one, and my mother gave me anothe...
I was very disappointed with this book, especially after all the hype I've read. I agree with another reviewer that it's basically an empty promise; it's like cotton candy, which is mostly air. I hope I can unload my copies (I ordered one, and my mother gave me another).

posted by Anonymous on November 16, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 116 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2003

    Eschew obfuscation: A reflection upon The Prayer of Jabez...

    I can only offer what has not been noted by by my fellow gentle readers of the choir. Any well written, engaging literature which brings hope to, or breeds change in one's spiritual life can not be a BAD thing, per se. In considering this book, I read not only the words upon the pages (relative to the ideals they portray), but the absence of most mention of traditional Judeo-Christian beliefs as I have come to know them in my own experience; and in the experiences of those I have come to know, as well. It is with some degree of regret that I feel the author has missed that thread of commonality that brings us to pray at first in our daily lives. One wonder's what may come from an obscure example taken from one verse found in the Old Testament. The commercialization of faith as a mean to our own ends, perverts the tenets of our core beliefs. I assume there exists no one template that can encompass the myriad settings of one's prayer life and the realistic expectation and recognition of the answer to one's prayer. One should only pray for that which is truely NEEDED for daily existence. In a nutshell, I have yet to see an improvement upon that which we know as THE LORD'S PRAYER, and this well intentioned attempt falls short of the mark, in my reading of same. I feel this zero sum approach to spirituality can only serve as an inferior and temporary substitute for the real thing. Faith does not come in hardcover and softback editions. It must come from within: The Prayer of Jabez may be one book you can do without. I pray, but once (pun intended), that I have informed as well as given context to your contemplation of whether this book has a prayer of finding a home on your bookshelf, or whether your 'daily bread' could be better spent on another title.

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2001

    Read it, love it,

    This book is one of the interesting books, I ever read.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2001

    Truly Blessed

    It took a while for me to read this book. I have gain a new and stronger spiritual committment to GOD!!! Everything is finally becoming peaceful in my life..... Truly blessed ( I have completed the workbook -- it is awesome)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2001

    Like the Emperor's new Clothes

    I was very disappointed with this book, especially after all the hype I've read. I agree with another reviewer that it's basically an empty promise; it's like cotton candy, which is mostly air. I hope I can unload my copies (I ordered one, and my mother gave me another).

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2001

    Your Time Is Now!

    This book takes you back to bible study and personal prayer and meditation--a great way to increase faith! It also shows that God is the same: yesterday, today, and forever. This is the time of Jubilee and Celebration so the Jabez study is right on time. Get it, use it, and be blessed. That is God's ultimate will for All of his children. Thanks, Bruce Wilkinson for a timely and vivid reminder of God's power to change our lives!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2002

    A blessing for your soul!

    I have prayed a LOT since I became a minister, but this book showed me the reason to pray. For 30 days I prayed this prayer for my life and the things that changed were absolutely awesome! Things I did not think would ever change turned completely around, bills were paid off, finanical blessings, spiritual uplift, I can not begin to tell you it all. Get this book...you will not want to miss it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2014

    Loved it and for it to be five stars, I need to read it again an

    Loved it and for it to be five stars, I need to read it again and apply liberally. The book challenged me to look for more opportunities to influence others for the kingdom of God. There are some amazing stories within it. The basic steps that Jabez prayed were already a part of my weekly confessions, but now I understand with added depth especially due to the concrete examples he gives. Quick and powerful read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2012

    An Old Testament man, named Jabez, is mentioned but briefly i




    An Old Testament man, named Jabez, is mentioned but briefly in a long listing of names in I Chronicles 4. But there is a pause at his name before the next name of a long lineage is mentioned, and that pause provides the reader with a small window into one man and the powerful prayer he prayed. It is this pause that Wilkerson's 'Prayer of Jabez' expounds upon.

    Jabez prayed a prayer that was so significant that the writer of I Chronicles recorded it. The prayer is a short and concise request to God. Comprising of four parts (to be blessed, for enlarged boundaries, for God's Hand to be with him, and to be kept from evil) it is also recorded in the passage that God answered Jabez's prayer. The prayer of Jabez is a treasure...a showcase flower among the flowers of a field.

    Wilkerson examines the four parts of the prayer and encourages the reader to make the prayer their own prayer, too. So far so good. But then Wilkerson provides a personal example of how praying Jabez's prayer brought about great results in his 'ministry'. Wilkerson and his youth group went on a 'mission's trip' to the beaches of Long Island. There they try to wins souls by performing 'gospel magic' and they claim an x number of souls for Christ for that day. Wilkerson's credibilty with me is gone. Nothing he says in the remainder of the book interests me.

    Souls are not numbers, people are not numbers, the impact of one's ministry is not significant because of the numbers they bring in. The paradigm Wilkerson represents is incorrect. The prayer that Jabez prayed is not a formula one plugs in to get desired results. Wilkerson encourages the reader to prayer the prayer for 30 days and expect to see amazing reults...stroke the belly of the buddha and get what you want.

    From how i read that short passage in I Chronicles 4, Jabez prayed this pray only once, but what it showed was that his heart was desiring God's best and God's protection. Such was the man's character and his pilgrim walk. God answered his prayer because He saw his heart.

    For a better perspective into the prayer of Jabez, see Spurgeon's Sermon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2011

    Truly Amazing!!

    I came across this book and became so intrigued that I bought the study guide as well. I'm in wk 3 and God has truly been answering my prayers and giving me Blessings. This book teaches how to pray more fervently for self without feeling guilty, greedy or selfish. I am studying Prayer and continue to buy & collect these books to pass on to others. I hope to someday teach from it. Spiritual Knowledge opens the door to Spiritual Power & Belief.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2011

    don't bother

    When asked by his disciples, Jesus didn't bother with the prayer of Jabez. He told them how to pray that is prayer modeled after the heart of God, not more more for me.
    If you want to learn to pray, listen to Jesus not Jabez

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The true prayer that God want to hear from all of us.

    This book has changed my everyday outlook on life as a hole. It has inspired me to change my hole point of view and in doing so everything around me. If you can take an hour or so out of your day to read this im sure it will do the same for you. A most read and keep reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2003

    the beginning of a great adventure

    Are you ready for a great adventure? Are you tired of spinning your spiritual wheels? Are you ready to submit to God's will for your life? Then here is the place to start. The Prayer of Jabez is not about asking God for more material wealth. It is not about placing specific personal demands. It is about asking for God's maximum blessing in your life--whatever, wherever, whenever, and however He wants it to be. It is about using those blessings to become a person of influence for His glory. In a compact, friendly package, Bruce Wilkinson shows us how a simple prayer can - and will - help us become the person God wanted us to become. Here's the catch -- what God wants for our life and what we expect don't always match. Approach this book with a willing, submissive heart and you will experience miracles. This little prayer has transformed my life. In three years God took me from a no-name manufacturing manager to an internationally acclaimed author and speaker. Has it been uncomfortable? Yep. Has it been a roller coaster ride? You bet. Has it been worth it? Definitely! God didn't put you here to be ordinary. Isn't it time you took advantage of the blessings He has in store for you? It all starts with one little prayer... Larry Hehn, Author of Get the Prize: Nine Keys for a Life of Victory

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2003

    The Prayer of Jabez

    I had read this book before, but I seemed to have missed something. I picked up the book and read it again and the words just jumped off the pages at me, they were so powerful. I am praying this prayer and I am believing God for a few miracles in my life. I believe that with the Prayer and Jabez and the faith of a mustard seed, God will truely bless spiritually, physically, and mentally. This is a GREAT BOOK.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2003

    The Little Prayer Works

    My cousin introduced me to this little book and I really have seen a transformation in my life. I already had a personal relationship with God but this book has opened my eyes to a greater breakthrough. God was definitely with Mr. Wilkinson when he wrote this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2002

    THE FORGOTTEN FORMULA FOR SUCCESS

    WELL WRITTEN AND CONCISE INFORMATION FOR THE BELIEVER REGARDLESS OF HIS GROWTH STAGE. IF ONE SEEKS SUCCESS IN THE CHRISTIAN LIFE THIS BOOK IS A MUST AND IF THE CONTENT IF FOLLOWED DAILY THE RICHES OF HEAVEN WILL BECOME YOURS. IT MAKES A WONDERFUL GIFT FOR A GOOD FRIEND.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2002

    If you enjoyed The Prayer of Jabez, you will love THE PRAYER OF HANNAH

    I suggest you read THE PRAYER OF HANNAH by Kenn Gividen. It is an excellent compliment to The Prayer of Jabez

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2002

    This the first time ever, I have felt inspired.

    I finished the book in little over an hour. I will read it weekly and say the Prayer of Jebez at least daily. I'm sure to have the strength to follow through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2002

    A book full of hope.

    If you use the prayer and other points this book brings out you will truly be blessed. The author's writing makes it very easy to understand and apply. I was also reading 'Spiritual Quanta' at the same time I was reading this book. Both of them combined were very inspirational. Thank you for a great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2002

    Blessed Life

    This book covers a one sentence prayer that could change lives. This 4 sentence prayer is tucked away in the bible and was often passed by until recently when thousands of readers have believed in this and experienced the miracles it has to offer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2001

    Some wonderful points

    This book offers some wonderful points, but they need to be understood in context. I don't think the author of this book intended to imply a prosperity gospel. Rather, the point of this book seems to be that if you are willing to step out in faith and accomplish great things, acknowledging your desire through this prayer, that God will bless you for it. It's easy to assume from the examples (not the least of which is Jabez himself) that this is all about material blessing. But this book has inspired me and others in my community to pray in a more universal way as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 116 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6