Customer Reviews for

The Prayers of Agnes Sparrow (Bright's Pond Series)

Average Rating 4
( 69 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

You'll laugh, cry, and be surprised!

"The Prayers of Agnes Sparrow" is one of those books that is just downright fun to read! It's a comedy and a tear-jerker all wrapped up into one. The eccentric characters are portrayed so vividly that you feel like you are right there in Bright's Pond with them! This bo...
"The Prayers of Agnes Sparrow" is one of those books that is just downright fun to read! It's a comedy and a tear-jerker all wrapped up into one. The eccentric characters are portrayed so vividly that you feel like you are right there in Bright's Pond with them! This book has a wonderful lesson in faith without being preachy. I highly recommend it to anyone who enjoys to laugh, cry and be surprised. I look forward to continuing with the Bright's Pond series.

posted by TarHeelGirl00 on March 31, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

A Cute Read

Interesting characters in a little town make you feel at home in this book. A light look at some tough things, even adult bullying! While not a gripping can't put the book down kind of book....it was enjoyable and I would recommend it for a summer read or a rainy day!

posted by WriterlyWannaBe on June 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 31, 2012

    You'll laugh, cry, and be surprised!

    "The Prayers of Agnes Sparrow" is one of those books that is just downright fun to read! It's a comedy and a tear-jerker all wrapped up into one. The eccentric characters are portrayed so vividly that you feel like you are right there in Bright's Pond with them! This book has a wonderful lesson in faith without being preachy. I highly recommend it to anyone who enjoys to laugh, cry and be surprised. I look forward to continuing with the Bright's Pond series.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2009

    A wonderful book...

    The Prayers of Agnes Sparrow by Joyce Magnin is a novel about a six hundred pound woman named Agnes. That right there got my attention. There's quirky characters, plot twists, and great writing. I've never been into Christian fiction, but Agnes doesn't fit the stereotype. It made me laugh out loud and feel for the characters. I loved this book and will be rereading it many times over.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2012

    A delightful, unique read

    The Prayers of Agnes Sparrow is one of the most unique books I have read in a very long time. It's the story of sisters Griselda and Agnes Sparrow. Older sister Agnes weighs 700 pounds and is the miracle worker of the town of Bright's Pond, whose every prayer for the town's residents is answered. Griselda is Agnes's caregiver. Their unique relationship and the zany residents of this small town in the Pennsylvania mountains make for a read that is humorous as well as touching. The writing was sprinkled with just the right amount of details -- not so much as to be overwhelming but enough to make me feel as though I had been to this town and I had met these wonderfully, zany characters over a piece of Full Moon pie at the Full Moon Cafe. The book does fall into the Christian fiction category, and while there is an obvious message in the story it is not at all "preachy. I would recommend this book to anyone who lives or has lived the small town life and wants to read a story about a town probably not much different from their own. A wonderful read and I look forward to reading the rest of the Bright's Pond series.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    A must read for book clubs!

    What a great author! Reminds me of Judy Blum. A touching story of relationships in a small rural town. The descriptive writing is fantastic. I will definitely be reading more from this author.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    Loved this series! Enjoyable reads.

    The whole Bright Pond Series is delightful! The stories are full of quirky characters and situations that shed an interesting light on the problems of life. You can't help but fall in love with the main characters and their quaint little town. Check them all out.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    The biggest prayer warrior ever!

    The Prayers of Agnes Sparrow was filled with an odd assortment of characters. It read like the town of Mayberry on LSD – but I liked it! The idea that a whole town would go to a 700 lb housebound woman to ask her to pray for them as though she had a direct link to God was funny and sad at the same time. When things go well, Agnes is a hero, but when things don't go so well, she is suddenly cast as the villain. Much as we treat God when things don't go the way we think they should. There are a few lessons to be learned along the way, but they are so coated in pie, M&Ms and laughter that they go down real smooth.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2013

    Kept me up late every night til it was done!

    This book wasn't full of wild twist and turns (though there were a times I gasped out loud because I was so shocked at what just happened). Nevertheless, I could NOT put it down! Best read I've had in a very long time!!! As soon as I finished it, I went on my library's website to see if it was there for a Nookless friend of mine--I was that desperate to recommend it!




    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    Great read.

    This was a good book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2014

    Excellent book.

    This book was well written. You will be able

    Excellent book. <p> This book was well written. You will be able to relate to all the characters. You will smile, laugh, and cry. I recommend this book to everyone to read. You will really enjoy it - I did.</p>

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Wow!

    Totally NOT what I expected....it was much more!
    Without giving too much away, this is an awesome story of faith, trust and self definition.
    A great book club read or for personal reading, you will enjoy this story as it forces you to evaluate the strength of your faith.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2012

    I'm moving to...

    Bright's Pond! The characters come alive and you are there. A food is described and you are enjoying it. Not deep but not so fluffy, either. One does not need to be of faith to enjoy this read. I truly look forward to reading again in Bright's Pond!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Great book

    You will fall in love with the characters.it has a twist to it that has a happy ending.at the end of the book it tells where to go and get the reciepe for coras lemon squares.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2011

    Fun Loving Book - Great Read

    My mother in law let me borrow this book and book #2. I absolutely loved this book. It was fun, exciting and sad. It has some very interseting characters to say the least. They had me laughing. There are twists which make it more fun to read and figure out. The storyline is great. I'm on book #2. Charlotte Figg Takes Over Paradise and I can say so far it's just as great, I'll post a comment when I'm done. You won't be disappointed in these books. I can't wait to read book #3. Griselda Takes Flight, my mother in law is reading it and she said it's a Hoot. Keep up the good work. Hope there are more books from this author. Would absolutely read them. GretB.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2009

    Read this unique, captivating story!!

    Joyce Magnin has beautifully written a creative, engrossing tale of the two Sparrow sisters.600+ pound Agnes and her dutiful caregiver Griselda. Set in the small town of Bright's Pond, Pennsylvania, they live in the family's former funeral home. One day, Agnes simply concluded that going outside was just too difficult, so she confined herself to her bed and began praying for the townsfolk. When Agnes' prayers lead to some amazing miracles, the proud townspeople declare her a miracle worker. Against her wishes, they erect a new town sign, "Welcome to Bright's Pond - Home of Agnes Sparrow". When a shocking tragedy occurs, the story takes a surprising twist. As the story unfolds, several dark secrets are revealed.

    Ms. Magnin is a gifted storyteller. She has brilliantly created an engaging, intriguing storyline with a wonderful cast of compelling, endearing characters. Narrated through the voice of Griselda gives the story a unique perspective.that of a devoted caregiver. Also, Ms. Magnin's detailed, evocative writing superbly brings each scene to life and wonderfully captures the ambiance of life in a small town. In addition, this story is an insightful one, as there were many valuable lessons within. I thoroughly enjoyed this truly entertaining novel and I highly recommend it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2009

    Debut novels don't get any better

    The Prayers of Agnes Sparrow by Joyce Magnin is a masterful novel about the power of unconfessed sin. Griselda has devoted her life to taking care of her obese sister, Agnes. Agnes has devoted her life to taking care of the town of Bright's Pond. Her prayers have become so famous for bringing miracles in the small town that its residents are preparing to erect a sign outside city limits advertising it as the "Home of Agnes Sparrow." But Agnes has never wanted publicity, and no matter how hard she tries, they refuse to see the answered prayers as the work of God, but instead of as the acts of Agnes. When a new man moves to town looking for a miracle from Agnes, the town will be forever changed. Magnin has created in Bright's Pond a vibrant and fascinating small town. She never reverts to stereotypes, although there is plenty of quirkiness. Griselda's character is really the heart of the novel, and the character feels frustration, betrayal, outrage, and hope right along with her due to Magnin's wonderful portrayal. The story takes a distinctly unexpected turn giving it added depth and heart. Magnin is definitely a writer I have put on my must read list.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2