BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Prayers for Bobby: A Mother's Coming to Terms with the Suicide of Her Gay Son

Average Rating 4.5
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    Prayers for bobby

    A touching and absolutely amazing book, i highly recommend it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2011

    Love equally

    I love this story i remminds people not to judge someone no matter what sex are race you should love them the way the are

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Moving, touching amazing

    This is a sad story but it is really worth the read for any parent who is struggling with their child being gay or with a sibling then you need to read this book. The gay thing is not all this book is about it is about a mother realizing that the love for a child goes farther than the surface but to the heart, this story is ultimately about a mothers love and sadly regret.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2007

    I'm Bobby

    Except for the suicide I am Bobby. He was born six months before me but our lives have run a parallel course. Fortunately, I have struggled to find meaning in all of it and am hopeful that my work in religious studies and philosophy will allow me to write a book that helps other gay people reconcile their faith with their sexuality. I wish I could meet and talk with Mary.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2006

    Sad but great

    This is an amazing book, and well written. It is extremely sad-I know I cried reading it-but as a lesbian from a conservative southern baptist family, I could relate and take strength from it. I think it would also be a good book for parents who discover their child is gay, and have religious problems with it--if they'll read it, it will show them a lot.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2005

    A must-read

    Prayers for Bobby details the struggle that Mary Griffith and her son Bobby endured as they tried to come to terms with his sexuality. This story brings to light the devastating consequences that can result from a parent's inability or refusal to accept their loved one's sexual orientation.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2005

    A GOOD STORY BUT SO SAD

    I think this book was so sad, but it was so good. It tells the story of a gay teenager who's family cant accept him because hes gay. And when they finally do accept him its too late.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2004

    Heart Wrenching & Moving, Prayers For Bobboy Captivates

    Being a gay male, I picked this book up at Temecula Barnes & Noble, looking for something with a gay theme. It was by sheer luck that I chose this book. It was beyond amazing. I actually think I cried while reading this book. It shows how much society, and family has an affect on homosexual youth. I would reccomend this book to anybody. It is awesome.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2000

    I know this family and they are amazing

    I stumbled across this book at the Barnes & Noble in San Mateo, and couldn't believe that this was about a family that I knew and grew up with. I have recently come out and live with my girlfriend. The story was heart wrenching, and I can't wait to pass this book onto my parents (who are nonetheless struggling with my announcement of being a lesbian). It was wonderful to read about the coming to terms spiritually, as this was a big struggle for me as well. Excellent book, and really well written.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    Beautiful.

    Every family needs this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2011

    Recommended!!

    I haven't read it yet, but have friends who highly recommended the book to me!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2010

    Sad, but Ultimately Uplifting Story

    I read this story with interest and felt an overwhelming sadness for Mary and for Bobby and for what could have been. I didn't exactly buy into the alternate, modernized explanation for the Lot story in the bible. However, though I am a Christian, I have always seen bible stories as just that--stories that have been told through the ages, that get a little (or a lot) twisted in the retelling over and over through thousands of years. I mean-really?--does anyone think an ENTIRE TOWN would be inhabited only by violent homosexuals? And is there anyone out there that isn't appalled by the idea of Lot, a supposedly just man, offering to toss his daughters to the wolves? The story, like many in the bible, is just not plausible. The bible was written by man--and who is to say what words were inspired by God and what were inspired by men who think they were inspired by God? As sad as the story was, it was also uplifting. I hope Mary's efforts to reach out to others will give her comfort that Bobby had not died in vain.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2009

    How Bobby left his mark, and how you should learn from it...

    As a young American and as a gay myself, I was inspired by the courage that Bobby held and the strength he developed through his life experiences and the obstacles that were thrown at him. It doesn't matter if you are straight, gay, black, white, short or tall, this book is one that you need to read to understand how the 'Fundamentals' of this American nation can go unobserved, or even forbidden. On the other hand this nation and it's people developed through struggle, it's just that it is now the time for the gay struggle... I hope you read this book not for its content, but for the story and the message Bobby and his family are sending to you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    Best book I've read in awhile

    And It truly is a keeper. The story, all of it, is just so heart-wrenching, yet heart warming at the same time. You go on a journey with a mother of a gay man who commits suicide, as she tries to find reconciliation, and eventually becomes a leading advocate for gay rights.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2004

    Excellent

    Words cannot discribe the pain Mary Griffith must have gone through, but this book does a good job conveying the message and the pride she must feel today at having had a gay son.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2003

    A book that changed the way I see myself. A must read for gay and even non-gay people

    I read this book when I was 20. And it was really amazing how I could relate myself to Bobby, Too bad he couldn't end up as I did -or I am doing for that matter- Reading this book was greatly helpful.If you are a gay man striving for self acceptance, you really should read and own this book.It will change the way you see yourself, and It will help you understand that you are not alone -and have never been- It should also be read by all those who see us -gay people- as evil and who portray us at the Gates of Hell. They should know better... and they should know how much words can hurt, so they might try to consider who is doing wrong... Anyways, no matter how good this bood will do. it will keep you reading for hours.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2