BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Prayers for Rain (Patrick Kenzie and Angela Gennaro Series #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 125 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(64)

4 Star

(42)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 126 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2007

    Taut plot and tight prose

    This novel was fast paced action from page one. The thesis of the book is unique and the author executes his theme to perfection. I loved the dialog and with the humor proved an interesting turn in this type of novel . The plot twists are realistic and not contrived. Read this one you won't go wrong.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2004

    Outstanding, State of the art and Thrilling!

    After deciding that 'Mystic River' was just okay and then moving on to 'Shutter Island' which I proclaimed the best book of this past year and a masterpiece, I didn't think I'd like 'Prayer's For Rain' as much...but I did! This book is yet another masterpiece in that of itself but in a different kind of way than 'Shudder'. The character's bounce off the page and slap you in your face and seem so real that it's hard to put down. They drive this story and they in return sell the storyline. And the storyline is magnificent and enjoyable from start to finish. I found no flaws in this novel at all, except at the end when I didn't want it to be over. Lehane is brilliant and this book is the epitome of excellence. Read this book, love it, cherish it, talk about it. 'Prayer's For Rain' is in a class of it's own.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Prayers for the Rain

    I won't really spoil much of this plot, which was excellent. This book was great. Lehane is on the best crime novelists, his writing style is great, he writes good dialogue, and I feel like I know the characters. Read this if you like crime novels.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2009

    Another winner with captivating characters.

    Dennis Lehane is one of my top three favorite authors. He cannot produce books fast enough for my reading pleasure. Once again, he has created characters that grab hold of your emotions and twist them around, not quite knowing if you are feeling compassion for the good guys or bad. I was unable to put the book down and read for many hours at a time...not boring and the use of first-person writing provides so much more details and feelings of the characters true emotions. This book is highly recommended.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Twists and turns

    Love this book. This is exactly the psycho- thriller I was looking for. Intelligently written and woven together with all the creativity of an edge-of-your-seat mental puzzle!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2011

    Keep 'em coming...

    My first experience with a Dennis Lehane novel was with Shutter Island. That book ruined my for other books. I just couldn't find anything to match up to it for a while. When I found this series I was happy as a clam. I picked up the series in the middle and will be going back to start from the beginning. Great pacing, great characters, great action...great book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2010

    Great Characters

    Long after I forget what this book was about, I will still remember Patrick, Angie and Bubba. A riveting suspense story throughout, it is nevertheless the characterizations of the main characters including some truly evil and sinister bad guys that make this novel work. When I picked this up from the library, I did so on the basis of my enjoyment of his other more popular novels--Mystic River and Shutter Island. I was not aware that this was part of a crime series set of novels and so read this one out of order, but that didn't create a problem. I'll be looking for more in this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2008

    He's the best...

    I've now read every book Dennis Lehane has written and they have all been outstanding. Easily my favorite author. I have been amazed by every one of his books. This book is no different. Loved it. Let's hope it won't be too long for him to come out with another novel....

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2007

    Another great Lehane book

    Awesome!! I read Gone Baby Gone first, and thought that was good. Prayers is soooo much better, almost as good as Shutter Island. Love Patrick Kenzie. Knowing that Casey Affleck will play him the movie 'Gone Baby Gone' makes it even better!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2004

    Something Written While Listening To Fast And Pacey Rock N Roll In A Motel

    An enemy equipped with vast power and bottomless resources confronts Kenzie, his old partner Angie and their lovable but monstrous Bubba in this quick paced novel. Driven by guilt because he had not returned a client¿s call for help , Kenzie set about making things right by investigating the causes that led to Karen Nichol¿s suicide. An array of events were discovered, events that could not have been pulled off by nature but was intrinsically planned to drive her to her death. Eventually she lost her will to live and suicide seemed her best resort. Our three stooges then find themselves in a mêlée for their sanity and their lives as they discover layer after layer of treachery and ruse masking the killer and his plots, a killer who prefers to drive his victims to their deaths than the actus reus of physical murder. With swift velocity, charitable portions of suspense and intrigue, and a plot with more twists than a bag of pretzels,(can get rather confusing at certain points_ Lehane provides all the element of a catchy thriller. However, I found the dialogues between the protagonists too `¿concocted¿¿ and `trying too hard to be witty¿. Not natural. But the touch of romance for toughie Bubba added a nice spice. And the ending held a little twist that keeps you wondering. A worthwhile read, if you may.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2000

    Lehane=GREAT!

    Each time time Lehane writes a new book it is better than the one that came before it -- and keep in mind his first book, A Drink Before The War was VERY GOOD. Prayers For Rain is a book that you won't be able to put down once you start it. In typical Lehane fashion, the plot grabs your attention from page one and never lets up; and the main characters, Patrick and Angie, come across as so real you feel that you are one of their friends (or at least would like to be one). And let's not forget Bubba -- and I don't mean Clinton. Bubba is definitely one of my favorite bad/good guys in fiction, and is someone I'd want on my side if I was ever in major trouble. In Prayers For Rain Lehane provides insights into Bubba's character like never before. Don't miss this book!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2014

    Traning ground

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    Highly Recommend

    The good guys breaking laws to get rid of the scum of the Earth and also save their own lives. I love the main characters am glad humor was thrown in here and there to keep the book from being all about darkness.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2013

    Phenominal

    I love this series so much i definitely recommnd this entire series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2012

    highly recommend

    I love the way this author writes and gives descriptions. He keeps it realistic and believable without going overboard anywhere. Really enjoyable reading.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    A great read. Highly recommend all of the Lehane Kenzie & Gennaro Series.

    I have now read all of the Patrick Kenzie and Agnela Gennaro series by Lehane and anxiously await the next release. Lehane does a wonderful job of engaging the reading with humor, action and a human interest sub plot woven into each novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    Decent

    Not his best but not bad at all.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2011

    Highly recommended

    #5 in the Kenzie, Gennaro series by Dennis Lehane. If you have read one then you know you can't get enough off them! This is my thrid time reading them :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2011

    My first Lehane but not my last

    Love the characters. This fast paced story ran the gamit of drama, a little romance, and a lot of action. On to the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2011

    great book

    Love the way he writes, Love all the characters!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 126 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7