Customer Reviews for

Prayers for Sale

Average Rating 4
( 631 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(289)

4 Star

(185)

3 Star

(91)

2 Star

(38)

1 Star

(28)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

29 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

WONDERFUL XMAS GIFT!

This Sandra Dallas novel encouraged me to buy another of her books. I love books that bring me a sense of peace, contentment and appreciation for my life as it it. At peace with appreciating what is and what is really important in life. Hennie, the main protagonist is a...
This Sandra Dallas novel encouraged me to buy another of her books. I love books that bring me a sense of peace, contentment and appreciation for my life as it it. At peace with appreciating what is and what is really important in life. Hennie, the main protagonist is a story teller in a mining town during the great depression. Quilting , seeming to be the center of activity between women of the day provides the time to become close in relationships and promotes enduring friendships. This is touching, heartwarming, cozy and real. I really enjoyed it.

posted by SHARON39 on January 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

A good book

I started reading it and it starts a bit slow but then it picks up later on.

posted by 1556339 on August 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 185 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2010

    A very sweet book

    This book was a very easy read and the story line was over all heart felt. It was fairly easy to visualize the character but the best decriptions were of the landscape. This book could inspire a visit to the high mountains deep in the winter season just to feel the thin chilling air. The main characters are generous in spirit and evoke a genuine kindness towards human kind despite their personal sufferings. Although it was not entirely what I had expected I am happy that I had the chance to read this book. I will absolutely pass this on to a friend.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Very enjoyable

    Read this while recuperating from ankle surgery. It was just what the dr.ordered! Easy to follow with a comforting and interesting story. I too, like historical fiction. This book is one you can recommend to anyone, nothing offensive or controversial, just a good novel.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2011

    unexpected

    the first time that i read this book i didn't expect to connect as deeply as i did, it is unexpected in the way that you start to review your beliefs and what you think is important. i have now read this book four times and shared it many times and it still touches me deeply

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2012

    If you enjoy reading books from a different era as I do this is

    If you enjoy reading books from a different era as I do this is a great read. I loved learning about the lives of the characters in the 1800's during the years of Colorado mining. I loved the strong female characters deplicted.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    Sweet story...

    A great read dealing with human kindness and forgiveness. The multigenerational gap between the two main characters add depth to the novel. I will be reading more of Ms. Dallas' books!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2011

    Great "period" book!

    Loved the book, the language and the period. It was so engaging to read about an area we love to visit as it was before it was a ski destination. Really hard to imagine the life back then but the author does a great job getting the reader into the time period. I am typically not much of a historical buff reader but I loved this book! Taking a break with some Baldacci and the most recent Camel Club book, then I plan to read Half Broke Horses by this author.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2011

    Not life-changing, but heartwarming

    I enjoyed the story. The relationship between the two main characters, Nit and Hennie is sweet and heartwarming. Having the story set in a depression-era gold camp gives it an added dimension that I hadn't seen in the past. While it brings a Steinbeck-ish tone to the story, it's not comparable to his classic tales of the time. Sandra Dallas gives the reader a multi-dimentional novel consisting of stories within a larger story frame, which is an enjoyable genre. For an evening read, it's good. I have no real complaints. On the other hand, it's not something I'll read again, though I will loan it to others.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2009

    Easy read. Unexpected outcomes

    I thought this book was a great read. It was enticingly simple, my meaning towards the characters and the way they lived, yet also unknowingly complicated. I was amazed at how elegantly the author wrote of trajadies, that her characters faced, with grace and eloquence. I would definately recommend this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    The Slave

    Puts on a shirt and underwear and gets on a skirt.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2014

    Beautiful story

    This is the first book I read by this author. Beautifully written in the dialect of that period of time. The main character Hennie is a warm and loving woman who befriends a young woman new to the town. There are stories within the main story. A good book to read on a cold snowy day. It will warm you up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2013

    Beautiful story.

    I felt so close to each of the women in this book. The love and carrying they had for each other and for family. Such hard times for people in the hills. For all Hennie had been through...she still had a golden heart for others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    highly recommend

    I enjoyed the book. The book had a wonderful message about caring and forgiving.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Classic Sandra Dallas

    This book made me laugh and cry and warmed my heart as do all Dallas's books. I love the character development, and the stories that are told. The geographic descriptions of the area in Colorado they live in, and the mining town challenges are clear. I didn't want the book to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    The orange cat with white paw

    She walks to cat tower and sits down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Reommend it highly

    I loved this book. It was so inspiring. I could not put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2013

    Anon

    Gteat book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2012

    Wounderful!

    I realy enjoyed this book, Hennie so caring for others!Great story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2012

    Sweet and tender

    The book is well written and a wonderful read. The characters have heart and grit, and you find yourself cheering for them as they overcome great sorrow. I really enjoyed the story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2012

    Good book

    It was a really good story. Kept me emtertained and an easy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    Ge

    Thnks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 185 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10