BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Precious (Push Movie Tie-in Edition)

Average Rating 4
( 83 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(39)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

what i like about this book is,.....

im only ten years old ive never read the book but ive seen the preveiws for this movie and want to read it and see it so badly this just touches my heart, and whoever reads it it could possibly change the way they think about some people im from delaware newark

posted by hiiiii on September 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

It was ok...

I bought this book, only cause my library did not carry it. It was a hard read at first trying to figure out a few of the words she was trying to say. It was very sad, but I feel the book could have been alot longer and told more of a story about all the characters...I ...
I bought this book, only cause my library did not carry it. It was a hard read at first trying to figure out a few of the words she was trying to say. It was very sad, but I feel the book could have been alot longer and told more of a story about all the characters...I really want to see the movie, and I hope it fills in the story line more. Borrow the book from a friend or check it out at the library. It was not worth the price I paid for it.

posted by 2231017 on November 18, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted September 13, 2009

    what i like about this book is,.....

    im only ten years old ive never read the book but ive seen the preveiws for this movie and want to read it and see it so badly this just touches my heart, and whoever reads it it could possibly change the way they think about some people im from delaware newark

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2009

    It was ok...

    I bought this book, only cause my library did not carry it. It was a hard read at first trying to figure out a few of the words she was trying to say. It was very sad, but I feel the book could have been alot longer and told more of a story about all the characters...I really want to see the movie, and I hope it fills in the story line more. Borrow the book from a friend or check it out at the library. It was not worth the price I paid for it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2010

    I LOVE THIS BOOK!!!

    I LOVE THIS BOOK. I CRIED READING IT. A MUST READ

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2010

    Precious by Sapphire MY REVIEW

    I find that this book is a great book to read. i think so because this book is about a young teen in high school who ends up having two kids with down syndrome. Her grammar isn't the best being that she's been in the same grade more than once before. she lives with her mother who abuses her. Precious' mother seems to believe that Precious has stolen her husband. Being that Precious actually got raped by her own father causing her to get pregnant. Later on Precious seems to get her act together after going to school and talking to a counselor. Eventually Precious' mom asks for Precious to forgive all the abuse and horrible treatment she has put her through. Although precious does not accept the apology she seemed to live her life pretty well with her kids being that she could take care of them. i think this book shows the harsh life that many teens around the world are probably going through and how in the end they pick themselves up and live life the correct way. hence, i think this is a great book for people to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Must Read

    This book had me crying for hours. You hear about people and their individual horrors but to read about it. The lack of education, the father abuse, the mother's abuse, the denial...etc its appalling. However, understanding and facing the realization that life is like this for people is important. This story being made public, being told is inspiring and brave.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2010

    Greatest Book Ever

    "Precious" By: Sapphire is one of the best books I ever read. It's a life changing story. It tells about the life of an illiterate sixteen year old named Precious Jones. She was raped by her father and beat by her mother. Precious had two kids by her father who later died of AIDs. After a while she meets a determined and radical teacher who teaches her to read and write. I really enjoyed this book because it is written as if precious is telling her story. This story could change the way that most teens live their lives. Many teens could be living the same life that precious lived. This story could show them that no matter what comes along, you can continue to live your life. Precious was picked on, beat, and raped. She finally found someone she could tell her story to, and a way she could express her feelings. She wrote poems and stories about her life. She learned very slowly but her teacher Ms. Rain was by her side every step of the way. This story taught me to be thankful for what I have because everyone does not have the things I have. Precious never had any friends until she started to attend school at the Higher Education Alternative/ Each One Teach One. She meets a lot of people who were going through the things similar to what she was going through. I would recommend others to read this book because it's life changing. I think we should read this book in school because it teaches may lessons.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2010

    Must Read

    When reading this book I was incrediablly sceptable at first due to the fragments and the storyline. But as soon as I started I was blown away at the strengh and endurence this character has and how she was able to remove herself from the worse situation possible. As the book goes on you begin to see the improvments she is making for herself and for her future, and you are in awe considering where she started. This is a book that is incrediably hard to read at times but well worth the conquest. It forces you to look inside yourself again and consider if you are selling your abilities short, and asking yourself how strong and willing your soul really is to survive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2010

    Precious, a strong story of a child´s survival.

    I bought this book after seeing the movie previews and decided I wanted to read the book first (I still have not seen the movie). It is easily a book that you will start and want to finish once you have picked it up. The characters and the drama of the story keep you thinking "how can this be?", you may keep reading thinking there has to be a happy ending coming up soon, but no...not the one you may need, this story has a hopeful ending... that is what makes it so real. This story is not candy coated and the language is strong, it may be hard for some to read, I work with children so stories about children get to me and I will admit the tears fell and there is still an image of a little pink dress I can´t get out of my mind. If any thing it is a story that shows that the human spirit is strong and the strong can still see the glass half full when others of us see it smashed and lying on the floor. Well worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2010

    Precious

    I was thrilled with the book. I saw the movie beforehand and read the book about a month ago. The book was more different than the movie in many ways. The book did not really go into the relationship between the social worker and Precious. Overall though, I was quite glad it did not because I got to see the work from the author's point of view and not the director's. It was refreshing to ALMOST not be able to recognize the same story given to us in two different ways.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2010

    mixed review

    I thought the book was good. I would never want to read it again. After I read it I felt very empty and violated inside for days. I understand why it has an open ending after reading other reviews, and it has a truth to it in the way it was written. But, I would not be able to stomach another read like it. I would not recommend this book to a friend, it really isn't for the faint-hearted.

    You wish that you could help out with others and put a stop to things like that!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2010

    Blunt book

    This book is a brutal look at a woman who overcame tremendous odds to improove her life. At times it is difficult to read this book but coninue on and it is worth the read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    Great Story

    There is a lot of swearing though so make sure you are prepared for it. But other wise its a great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Moving - as the character progresses so does her writing and views on life.

    As the main character starts the book, her writing needs some translation, as her education improves so do her insights and view of the world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    Tough read

    Each One Teach One is "the way home" so to speak. The Instructor was "brilliant" in this most unusual tale of Life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    Difficult but required read

    The writing style was so different from the usual. Characters brought a deep response. May I always remember how blessed my life is and the beauty of each individual in this world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2010

    Push By:Sapphire

    Push has very diverse charcters and each of them has an important role in Precious life. The protaginist Precious has indureed alot of physical, verbal, and metal abuse from her parents. Internally she has dealed with her low self-esteem and feeling unloved, this was her main conflict. Being abused by her mother and father gave her internal and external conflict. Ms.Rain and her fellow classmates at Each one-Teach one gave Precious hope and confidence.

    In my opinion I think that this book makes you think about what you have and to value it. This book is perfect for an teenager who has the maturity to endure the impact of her struggles. There wasn't a time where I was bored or uninterested with this book. I often questioned, What was Sapphire's inspiration? I personally think that this book was meant to represent the meaning of struggle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing book on self-discovering and self-improving.

    I finished this book in 2 days and LOVE it. Some things were too harsh to read (especially rape part), but it's life. I love the book from beginning to end: how she started out so down and beat up and eventually grew and improved A LOT. This is a great book and I definitely Recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This book was excellant. I was surprised by the 'rawness' of it. I found it disturbing and uplifting at the same time.

    One of the lessons to be learned from this book is that people are born into situations they have no control over and can loose hope because there is often no way out. It takes help from others who are in better situations. "No man is an island........" Because of the language and the brutal honesty of the story you may want to filter who you recommend it to but for me it was a keeper.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Dramatic and heart rendering story of the life of a teenager living in Harlem

    I heard so much of the buzz surrounding the movie and wanted to read the book before seeing it on the big screen. The story itself is depressing, heart rendering, optimistic and eye opening all at the same time. While it depresses me to know that events like this actually happen and that there are children such as Precious that slip through the system of our Child Protection Services. I couldn't help but love her and her optimism and hope for a better life for herself and her children. I wish the movie would have shared the stories of the other girls in her school like in the book, then viewers would have a better understanding that Precious wasn't an isolated incident in the failures of the system. I understand that the book is a fictional account, but there is some truth to all fiction. There is always some series of events that has sparked the idea in the writer's thought process and the rawness of these girl's stories is too real to think differently!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2010

    Awesome

    Painfully honest. Disturbing. A must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4