Customer Reviews for

Precious and Fragile Things

Average Rating 4
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Another hit for Megan Hart

Very different for Megan Hart...But another winner! It's definitely not a romance..but it has a lot of feeling. Really makes you think.

posted by sunfire114 on February 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

It's not Romance...

This book stuck with me for several days after I read it, and not in a good way. I did not like the ending and I will tell you why without giving the book away too much. I have read a couple other Megan Hart books and have enjoyed them very much. This book is very dif...
This book stuck with me for several days after I read it, and not in a good way. I did not like the ending and I will tell you why without giving the book away too much. I have read a couple other Megan Hart books and have enjoyed them very much. This book is very different from her other books and while I have to give her props for attempting to try a new approach, it just fell flat in the end. In Precious and Fragile Things, both characters (there are only two in the book) have come to a metaphoric crossroads and are in need of a truly great redemption in order to proceed with their lives with any sort of dignity. Despite different back grounds, culture, and history Todd and Gilly have been thrust together in a situation that neither one wants and must share a common ground. Both have the ability to heal each other deep wounds if only they could look beyond their current predicament. The set up is ideal for a great romance, but instead Hart heaps on the tragedies almost to the point of being cliché. I do like the way she takes time to get to know her characters and you really wish they would have a happy ending despite their stupidity. But in the end I feel neither Todd nor Gilly took responsibility for any of their actions. Overall it was not a horrible read and I think I will give Megan Hart another try. You will have that "empty" feeling after reading this book so you will definitely need to read something light and happy next.

posted by Ryoga on January 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    It's not Romance...

    This book stuck with me for several days after I read it, and not in a good way. I did not like the ending and I will tell you why without giving the book away too much. I have read a couple other Megan Hart books and have enjoyed them very much. This book is very different from her other books and while I have to give her props for attempting to try a new approach, it just fell flat in the end. In Precious and Fragile Things, both characters (there are only two in the book) have come to a metaphoric crossroads and are in need of a truly great redemption in order to proceed with their lives with any sort of dignity. Despite different back grounds, culture, and history Todd and Gilly have been thrust together in a situation that neither one wants and must share a common ground. Both have the ability to heal each other deep wounds if only they could look beyond their current predicament. The set up is ideal for a great romance, but instead Hart heaps on the tragedies almost to the point of being cliché. I do like the way she takes time to get to know her characters and you really wish they would have a happy ending despite their stupidity. But in the end I feel neither Todd nor Gilly took responsibility for any of their actions. Overall it was not a horrible read and I think I will give Megan Hart another try. You will have that "empty" feeling after reading this book so you will definitely need to read something light and happy next.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2014

    Lorde is not Lord. A quote from Ciarra.

    ThEsE ArE tHe CiTiEs
    YoU'lL nEvEr SeE oN sCrEeN
    NoT vErY pReTtY bUt We SuRe KnOw HoW tO rUn ThInGs
    LiViNg In ThE rUiNs
    Of ThE pAlAcE wItHiN mY dReAmS…
    These
    Are
    Those
    Ruins.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    Good

    I really enjoyed this book. It was a bit different than some of her other books. Excellent casual read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    Engrossing story but hated the ending.

    Why, in a story that deals with maternal, unconditional love, would there be such a heartless ending? The entire story built such compassion and empathy for the antagonist that the ending is sad and unfulfilling.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2011

    Wow!

    The language is a bit rough but I literally could not put this down. I loved the way it ended!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2011

    Another hit for Megan Hart

    Very different for Megan Hart...But another winner! It's definitely not a romance..but it has a lot of feeling. Really makes you think.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This is a well written thriller

    Todd Blauch carjacks Gilly Soloman's vehicle with her inside. He takes his kidnapped victim to a remote snow-bound mountain. There they are trapped for months by the wintry weather conditions that make it impossible to leave while her family prays for her safe return.

    Over time, Todd and Gilly forge an odd relationship beyond guard and prisoner. He tells her he just wanted her truck not her. However, he also admits he cannot free her because he fears she will turn him over to the cops. He refuses to return to prison. When she has a rare chance to escape, she hesitates not out of safety but out of the bond she formed with Todd.

    This is an odd well written thriller that will remind readers of the 2005 Georgia courtroom murders with what went down after the killings between the hostage and the killer. Gilly and Todd are fascinating protagonists who forge a bond during the captivity as they get to know one another's concerns especially once the snow melts. Although the late introduction of the tragic past feels unnecessary while slowing an intriguing character driven duet, fans who appreciate a strong look at what truly are Precious and Fragile Things like life will want to read Megan Hart's dark suspense.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    Anonymous

    I have read 5 books by M. Hart. I have enjoyed them all! This
    one included. But, I must admit I was troubled by the ending. I felt the manner in which Gilly did what she did to escape was horribly cruel concidering Todds terrible childhood reguarding his mother. Knowing that, I would still read it. Haven't each of us as mothers secretly dreamed of being "taken" away? An Interesting and compeling read to say the least.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    Disapointment

    This was my least favorite megan hart book because the ending was so disapointing. It was not as insightful as some of her other books. The many references to Gilly's mother and Gilly's dreams didn't really tie into the resolution. Gilly's character wasn't as developed as much as Todd's or as sympathetic. I was rooting for Todd more than Gilly.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    WOW!!!!! EYE OPENING!!!!!!! WOW!!!! THIS WAS MY FIRST BOOK

    WOW!!!!! EYE OPENING!!!!!!!



    WOW!!!! THIS WAS MY FIRST BOOK BY HART, AND IT WILL NOT BE MY LAST. HART TAKES US ON ROLLERCOAST OF A RIDE WITH PRECIOUS AND FRAGILE THINGS. WHEN GILLY IS CARJACKED BY TODD, THE FIRST THING SHE IS CONCERNED ABOUT IS GETTING HER TWO CHILDREN TO SAFETY. AFTER GILLY IS ABLE TO ACCOMPLISH THAT SHE SETTLES IN FOR AN ENCOUNTER SHE WILL NOT SOON FORGET. DURING THE THREE MONTHS THAT GILLY IS BEING HELD AGAINST HER WILL, SHE AND TODD DISCOVER EACH OTHERS SECRETS. TODD IS DEALING WITH DEEP ROOTED FAMILY ISSUES AND GILLY IS DEALING WITH NOT BEING APPRECIATED BY HER HUSBAND, AND FEELING BURNT OUT FROM MOTHERHOOD. THIS BOOK DIGS DEEP AND THEN THROWS A FEW SURPRISES IN FOR GOOD MEASURE. THIS BOOK WILL HAVE YOU ON THE EDGE OF YOUR SEAT TRYING TO FOLLOW THIS MOUSE AND CAT CHASE. I HIGHLY HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT. ENJOY.........

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2