Customer Reviews for

Precise

Average Rating 3.5
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

My first reaction: Intervention! I want to take Kate away from


My first reaction: Intervention! I want to take Kate away from her mother and help her recreate herself and understand that she is a person, not an object of hate.
 
My second reaction: Medication or no, that woman is the spawn of satan. No really, she is. No child sho...

My first reaction: Intervention! I want to take Kate away from her mother and help her recreate herself and understand that she is a person, not an object of hate.
 
My second reaction: Medication or no, that woman is the spawn of satan. No really, she is. No child should ever be treated the way Kate’s mother treats her. No twenty-two year old should have to put up with such degradation. I wanted to be mad at Kate, tell her she’s an adult and that her mother should no longer have any control over her, but that’s impossible when the woman stalks her own daughter/daughter’s family. And then I wonder what’s wrong with her father? Why isn’t he stepping in? But such is life that we cannot always know the answers or secrets to ones heart. 

The one foundation Kate has is Paul, her childhood sweetheart who she marries. It’s unimaginable what or where Kate would be without him. He’s definitely a remarkable hero.

This paragraph melted my heart: (When Kate confronts her mother and her mother can't even tell her she loves her!)

*As I’m about to suggest we leave, there’s a tug on my overalls. A cute kid in a soccer shirt and a mushroom cut lump of hair, says, “Don’t worry. I love you, Miss.”*

As I finished the novella and continued to read the excerpt to the second part “Pulling Me Under” which appears to be a novel and not a novella, my heart is already in turmoil for Kate. I see her foundation crumbling and I’m truly afraid for her and Ella. To the point that I MUST know where the rest of her story goes and hope there is a rainbow shining for Kate and Ella. 

This is a story where you want to hug all of the Kate’s in the world and let them know not everything is evil, to give positive reinforcement and encouragement. 

I’ll ponder Kate’s outcome until “Pulling Me Under” is available. 

Do I recommend Precise? An author who can create such emotions and tug at your heartstrings, as Ms. Berto has, absolutely has my recommendation. 

posted by Ham4you on January 13, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

This is a prequel, no conclusion, about 60 pages, preview of next book at end

This free short is about 60 pages. It is a prequel. There is no conclusion. It was well edited. It jumps all over, skipping important parts of the story. For instance, the main character is newly pregnant, then the next chapter, has the baby crawling, in a new home. It ...
This free short is about 60 pages. It is a prequel. There is no conclusion. It was well edited. It jumps all over, skipping important parts of the story. For instance, the main character is newly pregnant, then the next chapter, has the baby crawling, in a new home. It is about child abuse. There is insanity, mild cursing and some violence. This book will not be what you are expecting. It is very good, but this review is about the prequel, not the actual book. There is a plug for the full book at the end. The book costs $3.99. I bought it. If I were the person reading this review, I would purchase the book and skip this prequel. The book reminds me a bit of the series,"Dave." I would have rated this higher, if it had been the complete book.

AD

posted by Anonymous on December 10, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 13, 2013

    My first reaction: Intervention! I want to take Kate away from


    My first reaction: Intervention! I want to take Kate away from her mother and help her recreate herself and understand that she is a person, not an object of hate.
     
    My second reaction: Medication or no, that woman is the spawn of satan. No really, she is. No child should ever be treated the way Kate’s mother treats her. No twenty-two year old should have to put up with such degradation. I wanted to be mad at Kate, tell her she’s an adult and that her mother should no longer have any control over her, but that’s impossible when the woman stalks her own daughter/daughter’s family. And then I wonder what’s wrong with her father? Why isn’t he stepping in? But such is life that we cannot always know the answers or secrets to ones heart. 

    The one foundation Kate has is Paul, her childhood sweetheart who she marries. It’s unimaginable what or where Kate would be without him. He’s definitely a remarkable hero.

    This paragraph melted my heart: (When Kate confronts her mother and her mother can't even tell her she loves her!)

    *As I’m about to suggest we leave, there’s a tug on my overalls. A cute kid in a soccer shirt and a mushroom cut lump of hair, says, “Don’t worry. I love you, Miss.”*

    As I finished the novella and continued to read the excerpt to the second part “Pulling Me Under” which appears to be a novel and not a novella, my heart is already in turmoil for Kate. I see her foundation crumbling and I’m truly afraid for her and Ella. To the point that I MUST know where the rest of her story goes and hope there is a rainbow shining for Kate and Ella. 

    This is a story where you want to hug all of the Kate’s in the world and let them know not everything is evil, to give positive reinforcement and encouragement. 

    I’ll ponder Kate’s outcome until “Pulling Me Under” is available. 

    Do I recommend Precise? An author who can create such emotions and tug at your heartstrings, as Ms. Berto has, absolutely has my recommendation. 

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2013

    I should preface this review by saying one thing: I am not a fan

    I should preface this review by saying one thing: I am not a fan of a poorly done prequel. I absolutely hate it when a book feels unresolved, when you're all 'Okay, now I need the next one as I have no sense of completeness.' (Fifty Shades, anyone?)
    PRECISE does not do this. It is very much a complete story in it's own right, delving into the world of mental illness. This novelette gives a no holds barred look at three people suffering from mental and emotional disturbance as Kates, her mother and husband, Paul, all battle with their family dynamic.
    The pace of the book feels quick, but well suited to the novelette format. The character development and emotional pull is strong, sucking you in from the first word to the last, and the dialogue is gripping and believable. Overall, this was an enjoyable and easy read that I would recommend to those who like drama and contemporary pieces.
    PRECISE is a great debut from Rebecca Berto and I can't wait for PULLING ME UNDER, the 'main event.' Just as a prequel should be.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2013

    Precise and Powerful. Wow. Talk about a strong debut. I was pul

    Precise and Powerful.

    Wow. Talk about a strong debut. I was pulled in from the first page and found myself deeply engrossed in the story. Kates is a fascinating character. She lets the reader know in such a matter-of-fact way about her mother despising her, and yet she doesn't come off as a victim - simply a realist. This is the only reality she's ever known. The tension in the scenes where Kates and her mother interact was off the charts, and her mother's cold cruelty was almost palpable. The cover is PERFECT, by the way.

    Despite the heavy subject matter, this short read is not all doom and gloom. Kates is fortunate to have found unconditional love in her husband and her daughter, and there are some very sweet moments with them, even if many of these scenes are rather bittersweet. In particular, the scene where they're dressing up in costume was as sad as it was sweet. For me, it was incredibly poignant.

    The writing was beautiful - both stylistically and grammatically. I look forward to reading the next book in the series. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2013

    Precise is one of those books that you can't stop yourself from

    Precise is one of those books that you can't stop yourself from finishing. You don't only read it, you devour it. It is a story that holds your attention from start to finish.

    The best way to describe Precise? It is the story of Katie Anselin, who has carried fear and grief inside her for her entire life. Why? Because her mentally ill mother, Rochelle, blames her for the death of her siblings. In a horrible way, Rochelle makes Katie the scapegoat and punching bag for all of the things she can't deal with. When Katie gets pregnant all hell breaks loose, and she must finally try to find the strength that she has never had before. Before it is too late...Precise is a short, powerful, fast-paced read that you will not forget.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    From the first page of this novelette, I was hooked. Rebecca Ber

    From the first page of this novelette, I was hooked. Rebecca Berto is a master storyteller that is able to weave her plot and characters into your mind in such a way that they leave a lasting impression.

    We are introduced to Katie Anselin in this novelette (affectionately called Kates by her nearest and dearest) and immediately the reader wants to follow her journey with her husband Paul, their daughter Ella and her mother who suffers badly from mental health problems.

    The reader finds themselves exclaiming at Kates, who continally listens to her mother, who makes Kates feel like she is to blame for the death of her siblings, who were either stillborn or miscarried. We follow the family through the ups and downs of family life, with scenarios that will tug on your heart strings. I can't put into words how much you need to read this book!

    This novelette includes a small extract from 'Pulling Me Under', the next book in the series, where again from the first page, the reader is left aching to read more. I can't wait for 'Pulling Me Under' to come out, so I can continue to follow Kate's journey. I read so many books and have come across so many writers, and it's not very often that an author can make me become so invested in a character, and Rebecca Berto has done this, and then some. She definitely has a bright future ahead for her books, and I will be first in line to read 'Pulling Me Under'. I would give this more stars if I could.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    Mental illness is never pretty, and Precise does not gloss over

    Mental illness is never pretty, and Precise does not gloss over it. The story moves along slowly as it draws out scenes that depict the toxic attitude that a mother has on her only child.

    The author skillfully makes the reader feel disjointed by the stream of consciousness style and the episodic nature of the chapters. She takes common scenarios, a Scrabble game, a trip to the park, and imbues horror elements into it with the stalking mother.

    Kate tries to resolve her issues, but as in parental abuse cases, the parent's power is too strong. The father is ineffective in reining in his wife, and everyone else is perplexed because her mother seems so calm on the surface. Yet she undermines Kate's spirit so much I'm not sure Kate can ever break free. I don't expect her problems to be solved in such a short novella. That would have been a cheap way out.

    This story was not meant to be enjoyed, but meant to make you think. Kudos to Rebecca Berto on a successful debut.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1